We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in good position”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in good position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Polite and attentive staff who upgraded us to a suite on arrival. Very pleasant room with large bathroom with loo and a second loo and washbasin. Bowl of fruit and bottled water in the room plus a free welcome drink at the bar. The breakfast was one of the best we have had at any hotel.
Easy walking distance from Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain etc and plenty of restaurants around.
A hotel that we would happily recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,161
    542
    76
    20
    2
See reviews for
473
1,711
100
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Barocco in November 2013 and had a wonderful experience. It was a quite a lovely boutique hotel and centrally located for our stay in Rome. The room was attractive, however with 4 pieces of luggage (on our way to a long cruise) it was a little harder to maneuver around. The breakfast was outstanding, the personnel were very helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed the bar before we went out to dinner or when we returned for a nightcap. We would recommend this hotel to others who will be staying in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyTerry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We read the reviews and decided to start and end our trip to Italy in Rome at the Barocco. However after starting our vacation at this hotel we decided to end it at the Bernini, which was just across the Piazza. To say the Barocco is small is an understatement. To say it is comfortable is an exaggeration. The bed was lumpy and hard and the pillows were awful. They linen was scratchy. Our King Bed room was big enough for the King Bed and that's all. It was dark and my husband and I were tripping over each other trying to get our luggage open or walk around the bed or use the tiny rest room. We avoided being in the room for any reason other than to go to sleep. The room was very expensive for what it was. When we walked across the piazza and saw the beautiful Bernini we went in to check it out and when I saw the price was the same I knew that's were we would stay when we returned to Rome.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francocaruso, Direttore generale at Barocco Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for placing your review and expressing your opinion which, nevertheless, leaves me very puzzled.

It is true that some rooms are small (subject matter which I have touched on numerous times in my previous management responses), however I am very surprised you found the beds to be uncomfortable. Our beds and breakfast are the two main features which distinguish our hotel from others and are very much appreciated by all guests.

We have special mattresses and expensive crisp high quality linens so I cannot understand how they could be lumpy and scratchy. I value your opinion but cannot understand the clear contradiction with the facts and, consequently, the opinion of other guests. Just read through all the other comments to see what others say.

I find it, therefore, difficult to draw any learning experience from your comment which can in no way aid me towards any potential improvements. All I can say is that I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy what we have to offer.

Franco Caruso
General Manager
Hotel Barocco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Loved this hotel! There's a reason why it's #6 on TripAdvisor... We booked the Junior suite Light and Sight for our honeymoon and it was great! They surprised us with a bottle of champagne and couldn't be more helpful with everything!! Would for sure stay at this hotel again and most likely stay in the same room. That balcony was perfect (nice and big sized, not your typical Europe balcony). Great central location, and fantastic breakfast! STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: No one above or around you in the Junior Suite Light and Bright. on the 4 1/2 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stahn_ye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel offered a beautiful room with cherry wood finishes, a very comfortable bed, and a generous and delicious breakfast. That said, the best part of the hotel is the staff - they were unfailingly helpful with directions, securing museum tickets, and assisting us in getting the most out of our time in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nycitigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great location, wonderful accommodations, beautiful hotel, superb hospitality and welcoming staff at all times. Next time in Rome, we will definitely stay at Hotel Barocco again. I have been to Rome five times and this was my best hotel experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex (apartment style rooms with lots of space). We loved it! It felt like we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergioandMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband, teenage son and I just returned from a 5-night stay.

Staff - What continues to stand out in my mind is the amazing staff - they were pleasant, courteous, helpful, quick to smile, and always professional. Thank you!!

Room - We stayed in a junior suite overlooking Piazza Barberini, which was clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. The beds were also very comfortable. Our room was on a low floor overlooking the busy piazza, which made opening the window at night problematic. Fortunately, we always travel with ear plugs. The double windows when closed though did an amazing job in filtering out the noise.

Location - The hotel is centrally located, and within walking distance to many major sights. There is a Metro station and Taxi stand about a 1 minute walk away. The Metro system was easy enough to use (We purchased a Roma Pass online.). There are many eateries nearby, a lot of them filled with tourists, but understandable since we were there during the holidays.

Breakfast - I could not believe the variety that was offered to us each morning. In addition to 3-4 cereals, 4 yogurt flavors, 3-4 types of pastries, fresh baked loaf of bread, 6 jams, 5-6 types of rolls, fresh and canned fruits, 3-4 types of salami, 3 types of cheese, grilled eggplant, artichokes, 3 juices, you can get made-to-order eggs! Again the staff was amazing!

General - While this hotel is small (boutique hotel), it is very comfortable and cozy. There is no lobby or fitness room. We didn't need a fitness room in Rome, because we knew we would do a lot walking. One evening we sat in the bar room, which was very nice. The fruit basket, fresh flowers, bottled water upon arrival, complimentary drink at the bar, along with the evening turn-down service were thoughtful touches.

Restaurants - Tullio was close to the hotel and on the expensive side, but the food was delicious, especially the grilled steak and fish. We did "take away" one evening at Pizzeria Marco, also close to the hotel. The pasta and bread were really good, and the pizza was ok. I really wanted to try Colline Emiliane, but they were closed for the holidays. Our favorite restaurant turned out to be Edy, which is about a 7-minute walk past the Spanish Steps. Order their Tortellini in Brodo, which they're known for. Also, they have a selection of roasted meats (beef, suckling pig, lamb), which are served with roasted potatoes - yum!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, as it met all of my requirements to have an overall great vacation. The crowds in and around the sights due to the holidays were outside of my comfort zone, however, so I will make a point to return at an off-peak time.

Thank you Barocco Hotel for your services and hospitality!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank bcm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing