We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff makes the difference”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Staff makes the difference”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel's secret is its staff. Front desk was always helpful and efficient; breakfast crew super fast and friendly; housekeeping invisible (no knock-knock "Housekeeping"), yet the room was always clean and tidy when we returned. Extras: a happy cappuccino for my husband on the morning of his birthday, and a selection of sweets in our room that night. More sweets on our last night, with a handwritten note. INYT and other papers available.
I could mention some quibbling things about the room, the worst being the erratic heating. We had to sleep with the window open in early February. But the great location, super staff and fill-you-up-til-lunchtime breakfast make this hotel a winner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,214
    555
    77
    20
    2
See reviews for
485
1,757
103
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had a double room in the annex and it was more than big enough for one person but maybe a little on the small side for two people. The bathroom however was large. The hotel is situated in a quiet side street to Piazza Barberini. I had a room facing the street but it was nice and quiet at night. Comfortable bed, clean and very good service. Everyone I met in the reception spoke excellent English. Good breakfast and a cosy little bar. It is a short distance from most attractions, you have great shopping in this area and a metro station across the street. I would also recommend the museum in Palazzo Barberini.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sissel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We loved our business stay in this hotel. The staff were amazing, every time we returned we felt so welcome! The breakfast was brilliant,
The room was impeccable and one of the cleanest we've stayed in. The rooms are well decorated and cosy, but with plenty of room. The bathrooms are lovely and feel very modern yet tasteful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elena-travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Barocco Hotel for 4 nights and could not have been happier.. It's close to everything- The Spanish Steps, great restaurants, shopping, etc. The staff was wonderfull, making restaurant reservations, arranging taxi to the Vatican tour when there was a last minute rail strike and providing us with umbrellas when it rained. The room was spectacular, housekeeping was great, and the fancy dessert l and bottle of Presceco left for us on our last night was a class act. We would not hesitate to choose this hotel recommend the Barocco .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claimsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We with my mother were at Rome on weekend 24 - 26 of January 2014. We reserved beforehand the room and service of limousine. We would like to express our gratitude to you for your service and your attention. We pleasured from the first minute of arrival - limousine offer till last minute when we leaved your hospitable hotel. We can say that sensed as at home. We would like to note that for breakfasts there were many testy dishes.
As summary:
nice location - near many of sights
excellent warm reception
excellent service - for breakfasts, for bar, for room

Next time we will return to hotel Barocco to your comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlasta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights from a Friday to Sunday in January with my fiancee and another couple! The staff cannot do enough for you, they arranged taxi transfers for us and anything we requested they were more than happy to accomodate our needs. When we got there we were treated to an upgraded room - thanks chaps!!! Always friendly with a welcome smile and chat when coming home from a day of sightseeing.

The location is great on a busy piazza opposit a few quite bars, cash machine and the tour buses which take you everywhere. We didnt take the metro but that's close too. Great tip: buy a open top bus to get around, may take a little longer to get places but so much cheaper than getting a taxi everywhere. 5/10 minute walk to the Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps where there are some great restaurants. If you want a quite relaxed drink, when you come out of the hotel onto the piazza, turn left up the road with the hill and there are some great quiet bars.

The facilities at the hotel were great, very comfy bed, great shower with all the bells and whistles you would want slippers, robes, fruit and minibar. Make sure you have breakfast there, the choice is great for a smaller hotel. We were full for hours!! And the place was immaculate everywhere.

We went to a few of the sites but 3 days isn't enough to see everything, you have to go to the vatican, colloseum and Trevi fountain at the very least. There are some very nice small italian restaurants around the Trevi fountain area!

When we go Rome again, I would book here without a doubt! Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room facing the piazza is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmfhewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Arrived back last night from an amazing weekend in Rome. We found the hotel through Trip Advisor and couldn't have wished for a better hotel for our trip. The central location was ideal, we were just a a couple of minutes walk from the Spanish Steps and .the Trevi Fountain. There's a large selection of restaurants just metres from it. The rooms are beautifully decorated, we went for a standard room, which had all you needed and was truly charming but next time I'd opt for a more spacious one. The staff were exceptional, so helpful. We travelled with another couple and all of us were so impressed with this hotel. It doesn't have spa or pool facilities but when there's so much to enjoy in Rome you won't need them. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinHappyOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing