We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and location.”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here 4 nights for our 3rd wedding anniversary . Nice and clean with friendly helpful staff and great location in the center of Rome. Right next to the metro but also a big taxi rank and the stops for the hop on/hop off tourist buses. The room was a bit small but its an ancient city. You`d never get big american sized rooms unless you spent a lot of money indeed.
Breakfasts are free and they have a nice, cold buffet out for you each morning and hot food available on request. Also every day is a special local breakfast dish. from potatoes with herbs to the spicy meatball !
Rather than give you a door card you get a big key fob that you give back when your out. This should mean that they know when you are out and can clean the room then. however we did get the maid walk in on us twice so maybe that doesn`t work so well. Also with just the one key my wife needed waking up from her nap when i came back from strolling about on my own. But this is a minor thing. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitzofchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,963)
There are newer reviews for Barocco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,286 - 1,292 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

I took my 15 year-old daughter to Rome for a special mother-daughter treat, and we had a delightful stay at the Hotel Barocco. Clean and beautiful room, great location, delicious complimentary breakfast, and extremely helpful front desk staff all contributed to making this the perfect choice for a hotel in Rome. We stayed in the "annex," and although at first blush the room seemed a bit small, it turned out to be just fine for our needs. To my delight, although very near the Piazza Barberini our room in the Barocco was much quieter than the hotel where I had stayed in during an earlier visit to Rome. We booked a tour to Pompeii through the front desk staff, and when they realized that we would be leaving in the morning before breakfast was served, they sent up a tray with a continental breakfast the night before the tour so that we would have something to eat. Really thoughtful! There are also some good restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, and lots of shopping (great for a girls' trip). I highly recommend the Hotel Barocco.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotti2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

WOW! This was the most amazing vacation and Barroco superb Hotel was a great part of it.
The staff - They were so kind and assist us on everything, including restaurants, where to travel and the most important were to make the marriage proposal. They even left us a lovely greeting in the room afterwards.
The location - Centeral, you walk easily to almost all attractions, and you have 10meters to the subway in case you need it.
The room - Nice and clean.

On the next time we will travel to Rome, definitely we will be back to Barocco!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShlomiAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Barocco for our honeymoon in Rome for 4 nights. When we arrived (after 24 hours of travel due to our flights being cancelled/rescheduled) the staff at Barocco were wonderful. They upgraded our room to a suite and let held on to our bags until the room was ready (we arrived around 10am before check in time). So we grabbed a quick lunch, and then relaxed in their lounge area while we waited for our room to be ready.

Once our room was ready our bags were brought up for us and we crashed in the comfortable bed. The suite was perfect - and the bathroom was spacious and updated. We loved that we could open our bedroom/bathroom windows and just relax with the noise from the streets below. Not the best view (we were facing the alley) but we did get the smell of freshly baked bread from the nearby restaurants every morning.

The location was fantastic as well. Off the Piazza Barberini, 5 mins from both Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. We also walked to the Colosseum one day for a tour and that only took about 25 minutes. And the cab ride to Vatican City was only about 10 mins.

The staff was super welcoming and helpful. They gave us a complimentary bottle of Proseco, fruit and cookies, along with a nice note thanking us for choosing their hotel. And the breakfast? AMAZING! We made sure to eat breakfast at the hotel every morning because it was so delicious - and free! Fruit, eggs, cheese, pastries, meats, juices, and fresh bread were just a few of the things included.

We really felt relaxed and at home at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Rome. If we make it back to Rome in the future we would stay at Hotel Barocco again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter and i visited Rome to celebrate her 13th birthday. We stayed in a family suite overlooking the Triton Fountain (king bed, large futon, two baths). The room was fitting of a historic city like Rome. The hotel is centrally located and we could easily walk to many historic sites. For those who don't want to walk everywhere, the Metro is within 100 meters of the hotel (the hotel sells Metro tickets). The breakfast was outstanding and the hotel even delivered yogurt and pastries our last night as we had to head to the airport before breakfast was ready. The hotel Chef made an awesome birthday cake for my daugher complete with candles and a birthday wish written in Italian. The staff were friendly, always smiling and very attentive. I couldn't be happier with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The most outstanding thing about the hotel was the staff. Professional as well as warm and very helpful. They suggested good restaurants with serious critiques, helped us with several major travel problems, and were there when we needed them but were not hovering. The hotel itself is very lovely. The location is great for visiting Rome. And it offers a serious challenge to other hotels, offering what is one of the most delicious breakfasts we have ever experienced. It has become a very strong favorite of ours.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at a family suite at the Barocco, which had plenty of space and comfort for the two of us. While Piazza Barberini (which our room faced) is noisy, we thought this was bearable with the windows closed; and the metro station right there is a big plus. The main negative in this hotel were the curtains, almost sheer, which let in too much of the light from the piazza, to the point of interfering with our sleep. In our room, they also blocked the flow of air from the AC system. Bottom line: bring your shades, open the curtains, and enjoy a cool night's sleep in this hotel's very comfortable beds. Also, if you want more quiet, avoid rooms with a "city view", which means facing the noise of Piazza Barberini.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,800 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,224 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,591 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £143 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing