We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to commend it, but misses one or two things ...”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Lots to commend it, but misses one or two things ...”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is in good location close to the Spanish Steps and many other attractions. The red metro line is just around the corner.

Our room was a spacious Deluxe Double facing into the courtyard and it was fairly quiet if not a little dark as there were buildings directly outside both windows. The sound does travel in the corridors which may be due, in part, to the marble floors. Our ‘next door neighbours’ were quite noisy at times. The bed was large, and very comfortable with plenty of pillows.

There was fruit in our room when we arrived, which was a nice touch, and a turn down service is offered. We were left some nice biscuits and a hand written note on our last night.

We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but were advised this was not allowed in Italy. We were offered complimentary tea/coffee which didn't materialise for some reason. The website states the Deluxe Double rooms have ‘Bottled water, complimentary’. As this wasn't in our room on arrival, we asked for some at Reception. One member of staff assured us they would sort it out, but an older gentleman (possibly a manager) said bottled water was chargeable. We advised the website clearly stated bottled water was complimentary in the double deluxe rooms. He rather grudgingly said that he would sort it out, but didn't!

The range of food offered at breakfast is good with a variety of cereals, breads, cheese, eggs cooked to order, fruit and so forth. A hot dish is also provided every morning. There was usually a selection of cakes.

Some staff were extremely helpful, one or two seemed rather arrogant.

Overall, we liked the hotel and would probably return at some point, although we might look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BugLet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,259
    563
    79
    20
    2
See reviews for
505
1,786
104
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Hotel is centrally located near most of the major things to see in Rome. It is a short walk to the Spanish Steps. Overall the location of the hotel was very good. The hotel service and staff rate as excellent. The rooms are very nice- though more compact than US hotels- bu this is standard in Europe. The hotel provides a basket of fruit on your arrival and the staff is very helpful. The hotel serves breakfast in the morning and it was very nice. Hotel staf go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and were helpful in advising us to book tours to avoid lines and they were spot on with their advice. Nice restaurants are very close and it is a relatively quick walk to the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain. My wife and I stayed here for four days and had a good opportunity to evaluate the Hotel and it was very nice. When I go back to Rome I would definitely stay here. I booked the Hotel based on trip advisor and the ratings did not disapoint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfg305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Barocco. The concergiege was very helpful before we arrived with information, reservations and tickets. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived. The rooms were clean, beautifully appointed, and comfortable. My husband and I had a lovely view of the square and Bernini fountain. There was a delicious dish of fruit one day, an Easter bread another day (lovely presentation), and a bottle of Prosecco with a note for my husband on his birthday! We enjoyed toasting in one of the hotels living rooms with our older children at the end of the day. The breakfast was excellent. The menu offers a selection of eggs, and the buffet was filled with fresh and dried fruits, meats, fish, vegetables, pastries...all fresh and bountiful. Everyone at the hotel is professional and courteous, without being pretentious. This is a lovely hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and loved it.
Best customer service
Amazing breakfast buffet
Sweet fruit bowl on arrival and lovely handwritten note and biscuits the night before we left

Would definitely come back :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhaurin de la Torre, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Barocco Hotel was just perfect. The location was excellent with bars and restaurants very close by. The staff could not have been more helpful. The restaurants they recommended were all excellent and not too expensive.
The room was cosy with a four poster bed but the bathroom was a great size with a bath.
Breakfast was plentiful with a very good choice.
It really was a fabulous hotel and somewhere we would return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighfheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a wonderful stay! I found this hidden gem on expedia and it was better than I could've ever hoped for. The staff was beyond welcoming and courteous. Tey helped point out everything on maps for me (I was traveling alone) and I felt better knowing where I was going. You are within walking distance of the beautiful Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. Very central, safe neighborhood. Lots to see. The continental breakfast was something to rave about- I'm still having dreams of those pastries and they have a little bar should you need a Bellini. The rooms all have sky TV so you can watch tv in English and all the staff speaks English. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. This is the only way to go!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superbeth226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel was excellent for touring Rome, we were able to walk or catch the Metro everywhere. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was amazing. The only small negative was the size of the bedroom but we did have a very comfortable king size bed and the bathroom was a good size. I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unforgettable2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,738 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,181 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing