We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very friendly helpful people”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very friendly helpful people”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a lovely, charming hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The decor is beautiful. The location is perfect for the main attractions. The only possible downside is that there is no restaurant on site - although there are plenty in the vicinity. I was there with my young son who got quite tired by the evening so it would have been easier if we hadn't had to go out to eat. Nevertheless, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,230
    556
    78
    20
    2
See reviews for
492
1,765
103
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just returned back from a two-week trip to Italy and were pleasantly surprised with our first visit to the Barocco Hotel. Prior to leaving, we had been in touch with the concierge who was TREMENDOUSLY responsive and helpful in providing information on private tours of the city, as well as restaurant reservations and airport pick-up (do this, as the Rome airport is a bit of a madhouse!) so, when we arrived, everything was taken care of and went smoothly. Note that we upgraded our room to a Suite prior to our trip as well (for a minimal charge - do inquire about this ahead of your trip, as it's worth the upgrade!) and had requested a quiet corner suite, which they were able to accommodate (Suite 29 - very nice and, although it overlooked the busy Piazza Barberini, it was not noisy at all!). During our stay, two days at the front of our trip and our last day in Italy, the front desk staff were both friendly and knowledgeable and provided a lot of assistance in getting around the city, especially on foot since the hotel was so centrally located and most things were within walking distance. All in all, this was an exceptional hotel and we would definitely choose to stay there again on our next visit to Rome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wildrice777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Really good position...VERY sincere staff...what a breakfast - best we had in Italy!

Unfortunately no driveway so our driver had to park around corner and we had to lug our bags there when leaving

Beautiful rooms...very tasteful

We will return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChateauBil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

First the hotel is a hidden gem.
Rooms are well appointed with good views and outstanding sound proofing. Our room looks right down on the plaza and busses. When I close the windows there is complete silence.

During our stay we had problems with the rental car and next hotel. The front desk helped us with problems that had nothing to do with the hotel. They also arranged dinners and transportation for us.

Five star hotels abound in Rome. But the service we received was exceptional and above and beyond. I hope the hotel appreciates it's fantastic staff because we do. Thanks Florintina and the front desk staff! You made our tenth anniversary exceptional.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Could not have asked for a better location to see the sights. Walking distance to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, many restaurants and on the Piazza Barberini. Short cab ride to St Peters Basilica and the Colosseum. The hotel was as we expected and our room was comfortable and very clean; flowers and fresh fruit were nice touches in the room. The staff were always pleasant and very helpful . I would definitely stay here again on a future trip to Rome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn_508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The rooms are spacious, but don't waste any space. There isn't all the empty space that we are accustomed to in the US. It has everything you want, and the location is fantastic. It was also quiet, which was important to us.The staff were all very nice and helpful, and directed us to some great restaurants.

Room Tip: We wanted it quiet, without street sounds, so we requested an inside room. We didn't hear any ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arley, AL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Could not have asked for a better location to see the sights. Being right on the Piazza Barberini, there was a metro stop and a taxi queue that made it easy to get to any of the sights not accessible by foot in a reasonable time. As for the hotel, we were very happy with our room that had a very comfortable bed and a very large bath. The staff could not have been more helpful and went to an extra effort to recommend and obtain dinner reservations at excellent restaurants. The breakfast buffet was very expansive in the choices of food and help us get energized for the day. I would not hestitate to recommend the hotel to our friends or to book at our next return to Rome

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rushandjoannstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,675 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4,141 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
3,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing