We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing service”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amazing service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed more. We had room 35 overlooking the Bernini Fountain..but thanks to shutters and double sets of windows, our room was absolutely quiet and dark. Excellent breakfast with eggs made to order. Location was right next to a Metro stop and convenient to most sights in town. We had several complicated requests while we stayed their and the front desk staff was amazing! We would absolutely recommend this as a fabulous place to stay in Rome!

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter, rooms overlooking the plaza are well soundproofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorjifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,187
    544
    76
    20
    2
See reviews for
479
1,731
100
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Starting with the location, this hotel is 5 stars. It is within walking distance of almost every attraction in Rome. Although the Vatican and Colisseum/Forum/Palantine are about a 45 minute walk, there is a metro stop 1 minute from the hotel. It took 10 minutes to get to the Vatican, and about 12 to get to the Colisseum area.
The rooms are elegant, comfortable & immaculate & the bathrooms are luxurious. Amazingly, the windows all are double glazed, so there is NO street noise, even though we were on the 2nd floor facing the piazza.
Breakfast is served as though you are dining in a 5 star restaurant - and the food is plentiful in choices and quality. In addition, you can order many additional things from the kitchen.
Most impressive of all is the outstanding service and courteous nature of everyone on the hotel staff. It is critical to the hotel manager. Guests have the opportunity to enter comments in a large book located in the lobby regarding their stay. Every day the manager reads through them. The day before we left the hotel put a bottle of wine with a thank you card. We also had a bowl of fruit in the room from day 1.

Room Tip: We stayed in a jr. suite so there was a lot of room by Rome standards. My sister-in-law had a regul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location for us /we had two nice adjoining rooms one overlooking the fountain/no noise problems, excellent breakfast/and very friendly & helpful staff who made us feel welcome - would thoroughly recommend .

Room Tip: Request a room with a fountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had an incredibly quiet room in the heart of a busy, loud city. The hotel is just off a major street, away from the all the traffic. The room was very new and modern. The staff went out of their way to help us with dinner reservations and taxis. It takes less one minute to get a cab at this hotel as there is a taxi line a block away.

Breakfast was excellent. We have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from Rome having spent 5 wonderful nights at the Hotel Barocco. I had been planning a surprise trip to mark my husbands 50th birthday and had organised this some months ago after researching many hotels before deciding on the Barocco. I felt I already knew the staff as I had been (regularly!) emailing asking various questions. Each time my questions/requests were dealt with, always with a prompt courteous and detailed response. I requested a car to pick us up (worth the money) and the driver was very pleasant, even giving us a mini tour on the way to the hotel! On arrival we were greeted with smiles and led to our (amazing suite of Light & Sight). It was spacious, bright and clean. A balcony area overlooking theTriton fountain was the icing on the cake. The hotel also provided a bottle of prossecco and a card to 'mark' my husbands birthday! We absolutely loved Rome. The sights, food and the weather and the hotel is in a superb position/location central to be able to walk to most of the sites. The Metro is just around the corner and we used this to visit The Vatican (again after seeking advice from the hotel) The weather was gorgeous and after each days sightseeing we could relax in the most comfortable bed! (I slept better than I have in a long time). Each morning the delicious (such a choice too) breakfast set us up for the day, once again served by smiley polite staff. (Thank you Maurice!) We can't wait to return to Rome and hopefully to this wonderful hotel. Thank you for helping to make such a special trip a truly memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jicky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked three nights at this hotel.

We decided to walk to the hotel from the station and it was about 15 mins. We arrived and I couldn't see the hotel front clearly. The pharmacy across the road pointed it out and it didn't look great from the front. We touched the buzzer at the front and it turned out the door was an emergency exit which was a little embarrassing.

We went inside and it was very smart and the check in was simple. The people were pleasant and helpful.

The bedroom was small with high ceilings and on the side of the hotel. The bathroom was big and clean with both a shower and bath. The bed was too soft for my other half who has a temperamental back. There wasn't any noise except the occasional siren.

The breakfast was a bit hit and miss. The first morning the service wasn't fantastic and I asked for toast and got one slice of blackened toast. The next two mornings were better.

This was a good hotel in all but given how much you pay I thought it was very expensive given the facilities available.

The location couldn't have been better and we walked round to most of the main attractions. Don't book tickets through the hotel as we got lots of better deals from buying from the actual bus tours etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essexkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just back from a four day stay with family at Hotel Barocco. The three deluxe rooms we had were all comfortable and luxurious - although one was a little small.

The exceptional feature of the hotel is the service. Every member of staff we met was charming and helpful. Restaurant and taxi reservations etc were done quickly with a smile and 3 recommended restaurants were all good.

The breakfast service was exceptional for a small hotel with an excellent choice of good quality items - and hot options like eggs and bacon quickly cooked to order.

When leaving some hotels, you climb into your taxi with a sigh of relief. With others, you look over your shoulder and think "I hope I can come back one day". Hotel Barocco is definitely one of the latter.

Room Tip: Room 42 was a little small and dark - but compensated with a small outside terrace area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bladude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,540 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing