We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very comfortable and great location”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The hotel is perfectly placed in a beautiful part of the city, within walking distance of most of the sights,. The room was great, clean and comfortable, bathroom with bath, shower and bidet. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choice and the staff were helpful and very friendly, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilbet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,407 - 2,413 of 3,037 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2009

Planned to walk everywhere so needed a fairly central location. Barocca was ideal - within easy walking distance (even for pensioners like us) of all the major sites (and much more). The short distance to Trevi Fountain made for a lovely stroll each evening.
Everything about the hotel suited us - including the wide choice breakfast
Rome great - particularly the architectural gems around almost every corner when walking off the beaten track. One disappoinment - the overcharging by most restaurants. Always know the price before ordering - 10 euros for complimentary (?) bread is a little over the top!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Spent a week in Rome in late April - did all the tourist stuff from the Barocco as our base of operations. Every detail exceeded expectations. Staff was top-rate, professional and eager to serve. We upgraded from our base suite to balcony suite for twenty Euros/night - a great bargain, especially since we were "paying" for base room with American Express points. Good restaurants in vicinity and an excellent location just off Via Vittorio Veneto.

This hotel is comprised of two adjoining buildings - has been expanded and upgraded recently - cleanliness and staff attention to detail were more than could have hoped for.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoSchwank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This was my second time to Rome and I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Via Veneto, Via Conditti, the metro. There are many great restaurants steps from the hotel. The hotel is tucked down a small side street right off of Piazza Barberini and is very quiet. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. Our room was very generous especially by European standards. The breakfast buffet was filled with eggs, bacon, meats, cheeses, yogurt, pastries, etc. Great value, great hotel, nothing bad to speak of.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel was in a great location for a short break in Rome. It was easy to transfer from the airport by train and metro and then after that it was possible to walk to all the main attractions. The staff were all very friendly and our room on the 1st floor of the hotel was clean, spacious and very quiet. The selection at breakfast was very nice and the bar was a lovely place to sit for a quiet drink after a long day of sight seeing. The hotel does not have its own restaurant and the recommended restaurants were quite pricey, but there are plenty of good restaurants not far from the hotel - look out for Gusto Pizzeria which is located not far from the Spanish steps. This is not a luxury hotel, but it offers a great location and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

This hotel was really well located - once we had made our initial trip from the airport to the hotel, we literally walked everywhere else - until it was time to make the trip back to the airport. The hotel is really close to the metro (though we didn't use it). Staff on the front desk were very helpful, and spoke excellent English. While there is a lift in the hotel, there are quite a few internal steps/stairs, I wouldn't recommend it for older people.
Our room was clean and we had plenty of space, nice large bathroom. The only issue was that the bathroom had a really bad smell - it was ok when we arrived but got progressively worse - the plumbing is not the best. The wireless internet didn't work in the room, but worked in the business centre in the lobby - bit annoying. We were in room 41, to the back of the hotel, not a good view but nice and quite. Breakfast was very good - plenty of food and very good coffee. Overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed in this hotel, in the annex , which is just next door, for 5 nights. The rooms were lovely and had large bathrooms with whirlpool baths which were terrific after a hard day of walking. Breakfast was extensive and included hot and cold food, fruit and cakes! The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and efficient. They booked our visit to the Borghese Gallery ( a must) and sorted out minor problems immediately. It is really well placed for walking to the Centro Storico or for transport connections being next to the metro and having a taxi rank opposite. Good restaurants with reasonable prices in walking distance towards the Trevi Fountain. Try the Vineria Chianti near the Trevi Fountain - great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerkshireSazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,271 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,400 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#30 of 1,271 in Rome
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £120 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Tastefully refurbished in 2017 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing