We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and NO Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Ranked #534 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and although we were aware refurbishment works were in progress when we booked, we were surprised at how intrusive they were. We stayed in a Superior Room at the rear of the hotel and although it had a balcony, this was unusable due to the Builder's using it as a storage area for tools, materials and demolished blocks from the floor above. We couldn't keep the balcony doors open at any time due to dust and dirt and also had to keep the curtains closed all the time as Builders were walking around on the scaffolding immediately outside. The outside temperature was 32 degrees but the a/c just couldn't cope and even after leaving it at minimum for over 24 hours the temperature in the room was still far too high to sleep comfortably. We complained to Reception but the hotel did not improve it and said it was working as well as it could. Another major issue was that there was no restaurant and this was far from clear on their website and as the hotel is in a quiet area it was difficult to find a decent restaurant within reasonable walking distance as we did not want to have to use our car. Breakfast was only average for a chain hotel.

Room Tip: We would suggest anyone not to use this hotel until the refurbishment works have been completed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeW3750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Besides our awfully garnished room, construction works were ongoing along its outside perimeter and throughout our stay; jigger noises starting at 8am!

I did complain at the reception desk and asked to speak to the manager who was not available at the time. Although the lady at the reception was very polite, it seems that she did not pass no my request.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Do not go by pics of this Hotel. Outside work going on all day ..all week. Very noisy as at Sept 2013.Food at snack bar is FROZEN and microwaved. No drinks served after 22.30 pm. Waiter advised us to go to supermarket for drinks and eat out. Old woman but absurdly dressed as a young one parades around all day. Think she is management but who knows. Some rooms are smelly and defo not 4star. More like 2star.

Room Tip: If not happy hold out for upgrade. We did. Room on ground floor smelled and was in need of BIG updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazza56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel I stayed at in Rome was beautiful for being a Best Western. It was affordable for the location and not far from the downtown area. It was worth it for being in Rome. If anyone I know is traveling to Rome I would recommend this hotel. And it's not hard to travel anywhere from this location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanAmadiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here during a family holiday. The hotel is located near the Villa Borghese and all the embassies are within walking distance. Walking into the city centre is about 20-25 minutes. The hotel is located next to a large park and walking into the city centre is enjoyable as you can make a journey out of it..The rooms were a bit small, bathroom was large with a good shower. The decor was outdated, but they are in the middle of some renovation, so this maybe updated. The breakfast is from 7-11am and is buffet with eggs, toast, cereals, fruits, yogurts etc...basics. The staff on the front desk are helpful...if you ask the questions. The hotel wifi is slow and there is a internet station free to use in the hotel.
Traveling into the city is a 5-10 minute bus ride on the no. 52 or 926 to the Vatican or the no. 19 tram to the Vatican..all only 3 min walk from hotel.
There are only a few restaurants near the hotel as it is mainly in a residential area, and as the hotel only does breakfast, I would recommend eating before returning for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It's located on a dead end street which was lifeless; the bus stop was within a brisk walking distance. The rooms were dark, cold with no hot water; absolutely outdated. It was noisy outside due to construction. Breakfast was another disappointment, the hotel made me avoid all hotels under the Best Western chain.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porschia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Good location, near train station and restaurants. Hotel was cleaned but very noisy. Breakfast was very good. Air condition was good for summer. Staffs were o.k. Some is nice, some is not. Helpful if you need to arrange for tours.

Room Tip: Non smoking and stay far from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOINAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#376 of 1,271 in Rome
719 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#195 of 1,271 in Rome
783 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#136 of 1,271 in Rome
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#171 of 1,271 in Rome
929 reviews
Tiburtino
Best Western Blu Hotel Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Rivoli

Address: Via Torquato Taramelli 7, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Rivoli 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing