We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The "Best"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Ranked #527 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Hotel appeared to have been recently renovated with some renovations still going on. The location of the hotel is definitely "off the beaten path." (a little too far off the path for me and my husband). There is nothing really to do or see in the immediate area. The staff was not very engaging or suggestive of sites to see or the transportation to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHRYN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Kathryn,

Thank you very much for your feed back.
We are very sorry that our staff didn't suggest you some routes in the neighborhood . Parioli area is quiet and residential but also full of historical attractions (Galleria Borghese, Galleria d'Arte Moderna, Museo MaXi and Museo Etrusco), cultural event (Auditorium Parco della Musica) and shopping itinerary.
Roman people consider our area exclusive, peaceful and fashionable.
Anyways, we do hope that aside from the problem with the location, you did enjoy your stay.

We suggest you to get back to us as soon as you can, we promise you a wonderful experience.

Best regards.
Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Really disappointed had a triple room to find scaffolding covering the balcony and black bags full of rubbish. Air con didn't work no alternative offered and be aware of a tax of 3 euro per head per day that no one tells you about. Then when you try to get someone to listen when you get back nobody wants to know least of all hotel direct who I booked it through what ever happened to after sales care?it doesn't exist!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I've been there only for one night. It is in a nice area of Rome (Pairioli) very quiet and safe. The hotel is clean and tidy but pretty old. Rooms are comfortable and silent but my room was not large for a king size bedroom and the furnitures were a bit naïf. Service is good.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Rinaldo965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When you walk in to the hotel it looks like it was last redecorated during the end of the Roman Empire, it looks tatty and cheap. The lift was tiny and you could only get one suitcase in at a time but nothing could prepare you for the room.

Although the room was clean enough it was very aged, with fabric on the walls it looked dated. There was dust on the lamps and walls as well, it just looked tired. There was the bonus of a balcony but because the hotel was being renovated, all you could hear was drilling. The thing that made the room unbearable was the bathroom, it just looked dirty. The shower head holder was broken and you couldn't really get a decent shower as a result. The bath looked like it had not been cleaned since their last visitors. You couldn't believe that this was a four star hotel.

The bed was two singles joined together and it was was not to the standard you'd expect in the UK. When we went for breakfast in the morning the buffet layout was very disappointing but it wasn't just us that thought this, everyone who came down to breakfast seemed to have the same reaction. During our stay it was uncanny, every day you could see who the newcomers were, they would take a look and you could see that they weren't sure it wasn't a joke. Scrambled eggs looked gross, with under cooked bacon, and to top it off at one point they were offering green beans for breakfast, which not only looked overlooked but was soggy and unappealing. Not a single offer for coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear L Sukhvinder,

Thank you for letting us know your opinion regarding your summer stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Since your stay in august, we had great improvements to our breakfast buffet: every morning our staff prepare home-baked cakes and muffins and we have our home made jam. Also the layout has changed so we do hope that you could come to visit us again very soon.

If I can provide any other information, please don't hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,

Valentina
Customer service
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel itself was clean and comfortable. Room was on the small side but certainly adequate. The shower was tucked into a corner of the bathroom and you had to be very careful when moving that you didn’t move the lever causing your water to get hotter/colder. Although the room looked like it could open to a balcony, there was some construction going and the doorway was blocked.

Reception staff was welcoming, and spoke good English. Breakfast at the hotel was decent. Nice courtyard at the front of the hotel, we enjoyed sitting there in the evening.

Parking at hotel limited and full when we arrived. But staff was able to direct us to a public parking garage just 2 blocks away where we were able to park for 18EUR a day.

WiFi was free. The signal was weak but given patience it worked ok in the lobby the first night, but impossible to keep a connection the second night. Both nights it was impossible to use in our room.

Providing you are healthy and energetic, it is within walking distance of all the major sites in central Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO719_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Except for the ongoing renovations to the hotel, which rendered my balcony unusable, it is not a bad little hotel. It is on a cul-de-sac. My cab had no difficulty dropping me at the door. Staff were pleasant and helpful. I arrived on a Sunday night and the small restaurant wasn't open. However the young man behind the bar made me a sandwich as well as another patron at no charge. The Cianti was fine and reasonable. My room was a little dark, but largely due to the scaffolding outside. The area is a suburban area so it is a bit of a walk to a variety of restaurants in the neighbourhood. I had plenty of hot water, the room was clean as was the bed. TV didn't work well but I was tired after walking around Rome for the 3 days I stayed there. Elevator is a typically European small so if you have more than one standard suitcase each be prepared for a couple of trips or have your bags sent up the room for a small tip. The hotel is near the Borghese Gardens and if you are a walker or jogger it is a great place to be. If you want to be in the heart of Rome then you may want to give this a miss. I am a travel agent and used to a variety of hotels around the world. There are a lot of hotels cheaper and more expensive than the Rivoli and far more central but if you like to walk, like less hustle bustle it is not a bad place to hang your hat. Especially after the renovations.

Room Tip: I found my room, corner on the 1st floor handy as I could avoid the tiny elevator,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for one nite. While booking the hotel conveniently failed to tell us it was under construction. So there was a strange odour in the room. The airconditioner did not work, but they gave us two fans. The best person to deal with there is their Manager Marco was very helpful, otherwise the Buffett room staff was very nasty, and the nite manager was also not helpful. Give it a miss as the location is very bad.

Room Tip: Would it advise anyone to stay here, as the rooms r very small, with no airconditioner, and very far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Rita K,

Thank you for giving us your opinion regarding your recent stay at our property.

We would like to apologize for not meeting your satisfaction but we work very hard for improving our standards. That's the reason why we are redecorating our external facade but this kind of work does not affect the quality of the stay of our guests.

Our conditioning system work properly and I am very sorry to hear from you that in your room did not. We are going to investigate about this issue.

Concerning the area, we are located in Parioli 200 metres from Villa Borghese and 1 kilometre from Spanish steps. I find it very difficult to understand how we can be considered far from the centre if you look at a map of Rome!

I am sure that if you would have been longer than one night you could enjoy surely the warm welcome that our hotel offers to its guests!

Sincerely,

Valentina
Customer service
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#1,110 of 1,271 in Rome
175 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#145 of 1,271 in Rome
1,554 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Regent Rome
Hotel Regent Rome
#1,033 of 1,271 in Rome
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Degli Aranci
Hotel Degli Aranci
#342 of 1,271 in Rome
697 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#203 of 1,271 in Rome
732 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Rivoli

Address: Via Torquato Taramelli 7, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Rivoli 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing