We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Beaten Path but Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Ranked #516 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path but Good”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We made a last minute reservation through Booking.com. as we didn't want to pay a king's ransom for staying in Rome. We stayed a week over Easter. The staff was friendly and the front desk people speak english very well. Piazza di Popolo is about 20 min by bus or tram. They gave us a map and marked the routes. The residential neighborhood is quiet and safe. They are busy with renovations but we only slept there so the noise was not an issue.
The rooms are adequate and clean. Every day we had fresh towels. Laundry service expensive but good. The shower stalls are small. Be warned.
The only complaint I have is that although the breakfast are free its really not too good. I cannot eat cake everyday and the coffee undrinkable. You won't starve but still.
It was not too expensive, clean and we can't really complain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    160
    99
    61
    28
See reviews for
69
188
13
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel says Center of Rome. There is a definition of Rome Centro and IT IS NOT IN THE CENTER! Construction blocked all our views. There was mold in the rooms to which my mother was allergic. When she told them and asked for another room, they said no and were very rude as she was having trouble breathing. We had to leave right away for her health. They refused to let Priceline refund the room (and we had paid for two rooms for 5 nights each). It was not only an awful experience, but one affected our trip and caused us to spend much time talking with Priceline, our credit card company, Best Western - who should be ashamed to lend their name to this place. I suggest you stay away and find some place else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brandonvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Brandovj,

We are very concerned about your review, especially because you wrote it after so many months.
We remember you and your family very well because it is uncommon for us to deal with so many difficulites in few hours with just a family. We remember the breath problems that your mother had. We remember that we suggested to visit an other room (a just redecorated one without the carpet that was probably causing your mother's breath problems) but you refused to see it.

You tried to convince us to refund you for the amount paid to Priceline, forgetting that there is a specific policy when you buy a flight ticket or a room stay in a hotel. There are some fares or rates that you can buy on Internet websites that allow you to save money but they have many restrictions and you cannot cancel or change your stay in any case. We tried to explain you this policy but you were unmovable on your decision. We also remember that in order to be refunded you threatened the reception staff telling them that you would have written a bad review. You contacted Priceline and Best Western that confirmed you that our policy was fair, clear and correct.

Still, we are located in Parioli area that it's considered a really fine and elegant area of the city very close to the proper city centre, as you can see if you open a map of Rome. So, I actually do not understand why you are speaking about "false advertising" or "poor location". Likely you did not read up about our property at the time you made the reservation.

Finally we are very sorry about your experience but we are pretty sure that if you would have accepted the new room, you and your family could enjoy five relaxing days at our property.

Anyway, we wish you all the best and hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

First - the hotel is located way off the city's touristic center. So if you are in Rome for travel - maybe you should look for something more closer to the main city's attractions. No restaurants close by, and the closet supermarket is a solid 10 minutes walk. Though the neighborhood is quiet and very nice.
We booked a triple room for myself and my 2 kids (9 & 6). The room we got was suffocating and much too small . The double bed was more of a single+ and the additional bed was much smaller. No closet space whatsoever and the 2 shelves in the closet were broken or missing..
No room to place the luggage . The balcony was under construction and it actually was unsafe to open the windows.
There were no toiletries in the bathroom , only a soap container glued to the wall. It's suitable for a motel or a hostel , not for a 4 star hotel.
The whole room could use some more fresh air.
Some positive points as well - The public areas at the hotel are very esthetic . The lobby and the corridors are nicely decorated.
The staff and service were beyond reproach!
The breakfast buffet was quite satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirael2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Hotel appeared to have been recently renovated with some renovations still going on. The location of the hotel is definitely "off the beaten path." (a little too far off the path for me and my husband). There is nothing really to do or see in the immediate area. The staff was not very engaging or suggestive of sites to see or the transportation to get anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHRYN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Kathryn,

Thank you very much for your feed back.
We are very sorry that our staff didn't suggest you some routes in the neighborhood . Parioli area is quiet and residential but also full of historical attractions (Galleria Borghese, Galleria d'Arte Moderna, Museo MaXi and Museo Etrusco), cultural event (Auditorium Parco della Musica) and shopping itinerary.
Roman people consider our area exclusive, peaceful and fashionable.
Anyways, we do hope that aside from the problem with the location, you did enjoy your stay.

We suggest you to get back to us as soon as you can, we promise you a wonderful experience.

Best regards.
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Really disappointed had a triple room to find scaffolding covering the balcony and black bags full of rubbish. Air con didn't work no alternative offered and be aware of a tax of 3 euro per head per day that no one tells you about. Then when you try to get someone to listen when you get back nobody wants to know least of all hotel direct who I booked it through what ever happened to after sales care?it doesn't exist!!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I've been there only for one night. It is in a nice area of Rome (Pairioli) very quiet and safe. The hotel is clean and tidy but pretty old. Rooms are comfortable and silent but my room was not large for a king size bedroom and the furnitures were a bit naïf. Service is good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinaldo965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When you walk in to the hotel it looks like it was last redecorated during the end of the Roman Empire, it looks tatty and cheap. The lift was tiny and you could only get one suitcase in at a time but nothing could prepare you for the room.

Although the room was clean enough it was very aged, with fabric on the walls it looked dated. There was dust on the lamps and walls as well, it just looked tired. There was the bonus of a balcony but because the hotel was being renovated, all you could hear was drilling. The thing that made the room unbearable was the bathroom, it just looked dirty. The shower head holder was broken and you couldn't really get a decent shower as a result. The bath looked like it had not been cleaned since their last visitors. You couldn't believe that this was a four star hotel.

The bed was two singles joined together and it was was not to the standard you'd expect in the UK. When we went for breakfast in the morning the buffet layout was very disappointing but it wasn't just us that thought this, everyone who came down to breakfast seemed to have the same reaction. During our stay it was uncanny, every day you could see who the newcomers were, they would take a look and you could see that they weren't sure it wasn't a joke. Scrambled eggs looked gross, with under cooked bacon, and to top it off at one point they were offering green beans for breakfast, which not only looked overlooked but was soggy and unappealing. Not a single offer for coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhvinder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear L Sukhvinder,

Thank you for letting us know your opinion regarding your summer stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Since your stay in august, we had great improvements to our breakfast buffet: every morning our staff prepare home-baked cakes and muffins and we have our home made jam. Also the layout has changed so we do hope that you could come to visit us again very soon.

If I can provide any other information, please don't hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,

Valentina
Customer service
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#274 of 1,256 in Rome
649 reviews
Tiburtino
Best Western Blu Hotel Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Parioli
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#1,073 of 1,256 in Rome
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Rivoli

Property: Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Address: Via Taramelli 7, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#260 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Rivoli 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing