We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uh.... air-con?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Ranked #547 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 17 June 2014

How this hotel has garnered a 4-star rating is questionable indeed, as the only thing we could see contributing to that accolade were the décor and the professionalism of the reception, however professional as they may be, failing to resolve a customer issue is still failing to resolve a customer issue.

To give context, we arrived in Rome in the first week of June, having visited Ravello and Amalfi for a friend’s wedding. Yes, we knew Rome would be scorching and humid when we got there, which was why we chose a hotel that offered air conditioning, such as the Best Western Hotel Rivoli. We had prepared for long days of trudging around grandiose landmarks, piazzas and riversides, safe in the knowledge we could come home to our hotel and kick the air-con up to an arctic climate that we would be most happy with.

Unfortunately the Best Western does not offer air-con. Yes, the websites say they do, and yes, they have a big white unit with a wall-control box, but this is not air-con. Air-con regulates the atmosphere and temperature of a room. This great big white excuse blew out a puff of cool air so weakly that it got about 3 inches from the vent and dissipated. Meaning we had no escape from Rome’s heat for entire stay, save for jumping into Bulgari or Hugo Boss for a blatant 10 minute window shop, red-faced and damp-backed and obviously not about to buy anything!

We immediately raised the issue of the AC unit upon arrival, knowing full well we couldn’t handle three sweaty, sleepless nights. Not to mention trying to get ready for evenings out. The reception promptly sent up some fella to tinker with the dials and the unit. The result? No change. We gave it a day then asked the morning receptionist, as we were leaving for the day, to look at it as it appeared to be broken. 6 hours later when we returned we asked how they’d gotten on. The receptionist replied “It’s fixed.” They’re idea of fixing? Opening the balcony doors….! To add context, on this day it was over 35 degrees outside.

At this point we gave up on trying to resolve the situation. I ducked into a couple of other rooms I saw being changed by the maid to see if their air-con was any better but all the units were the same and all the room temperatures the same too. We weren’t going to get anywhere so we ended up grinning and bearing it. Which, for my girlfriend was difficult as she has medical reasons for needing to regulate her temperature, not over-heat, etc. The best we can do is advise other folk who have similar susceptibilities to the heat to avoid Hotel Rivoli. Otherwise it’ll be a loooong trip!

The Pros;
- Grandiose décor in the communal areas. Very much looks the part.
- Staff conduct themselves in a professional manner at all times.
- Room had a nice balcony, albeit not one we wanted to use given the room was nothing we could use to cool down in after.
- Comfy bed.

The Cons;
- The pitiful excuse for air-con, as stated above.
- The bathroom stank of sewage and worse. Constantly.
- Shower wouldn’t pick a temperature, often shifting from cold to piping hot. When you’re trying to cool down after a long day’s walking the last thing you want is a hot shower!
- The breakfast consisted of mostly stale bread, croissants, etc. and sweaty meats. Only thing we ate was the boxed cereals and the scrambled eggs. If we’d had to pay for it we would’ve complained.
- The concierge called us a cab one night, who turned out to be your standard crooked cabbie who takes you the ultra-long way round (we’d been in Rome two days and knew the routes, as we had walked them, well) for what could have been a quick journey. Not sure if this is the hotel’s preferred taxi company but worth noting here I think.

Room Tip: As hot as Rome gets, the aircon on offer simply isn't good enough. Sauna!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Rivoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and on arrival the inside looked very ornate and dated, however, once you enter the room and ignore its decoration style, it was a very nice and clean hotel. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and excellent shower. The location suited us as we liked the quiet residential area about a 25 minute walk into central Rome or 15 minute bus ride. It has some great local restaurants a short walk away were the locals go. The service was average and there was some building works but they didn't impact on us. Breakfast was basic and not worth paying anything additional for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We made a last minute reservation through Booking.com. as we didn't want to pay a king's ransom for staying in Rome. We stayed a week over Easter. The staff was friendly and the front desk people speak english very well. Piazza di Popolo is about 20 min by bus or tram. They gave us a map and marked the routes. The residential neighborhood is quiet and safe. They are busy with renovations but we only slept there so the noise was not an issue.
The rooms are adequate and clean. Every day we had fresh towels. Laundry service expensive but good. The shower stalls are small. Be warned.
The only complaint I have is that although the breakfast are free its really not too good. I cannot eat cake everyday and the coffee undrinkable. You won't starve but still.
It was not too expensive, clean and we can't really complain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel says Center of Rome. There is a definition of Rome Centro and IT IS NOT IN THE CENTER! Construction blocked all our views. There was mold in the rooms to which my mother was allergic. When she told them and asked for another room, they said no and were very rude as she was having trouble breathing. We had to leave right away for her health. They refused to let Priceline refund the room (and we had paid for two rooms for 5 nights each). It was not only an awful experience, but one affected our trip and caused us to spend much time talking with Priceline, our credit card company, Best Western - who should be ashamed to lend their name to this place. I suggest you stay away and find some place else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brandonvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Brandovj,

We are very concerned about your review, especially because you wrote it after so many months.
We remember you and your family very well because it is uncommon for us to deal with so many difficulites in few hours with just a family. We remember the breath problems that your mother had. We remember that we suggested to visit an other room (a just redecorated one without the carpet that was probably causing your mother's breath problems) but you refused to see it.

You tried to convince us to refund you for the amount paid to Priceline, forgetting that there is a specific policy when you buy a flight ticket or a room stay in a hotel. There are some fares or rates that you can buy on Internet websites that allow you to save money but they have many restrictions and you cannot cancel or change your stay in any case. We tried to explain you this policy but you were unmovable on your decision. We also remember that in order to be refunded you threatened the reception staff telling them that you would have written a bad review. You contacted Priceline and Best Western that confirmed you that our policy was fair, clear and correct.

Still, we are located in Parioli area that it's considered a really fine and elegant area of the city very close to the proper city centre, as you can see if you open a map of Rome. So, I actually do not understand why you are speaking about "false advertising" or "poor location". Likely you did not read up about our property at the time you made the reservation.

Finally we are very sorry about your experience but we are pretty sure that if you would have accepted the new room, you and your family could enjoy five relaxing days at our property.

Anyway, we wish you all the best and hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

First - the hotel is located way off the city's touristic center. So if you are in Rome for travel - maybe you should look for something more closer to the main city's attractions. No restaurants close by, and the closet supermarket is a solid 10 minutes walk. Though the neighborhood is quiet and very nice.
We booked a triple room for myself and my 2 kids (9 & 6). The room we got was suffocating and much too small . The double bed was more of a single+ and the additional bed was much smaller. No closet space whatsoever and the 2 shelves in the closet were broken or missing..
No room to place the luggage . The balcony was under construction and it actually was unsafe to open the windows.
There were no toiletries in the bathroom , only a soap container glued to the wall. It's suitable for a motel or a hostel , not for a 4 star hotel.
The whole room could use some more fresh air.
Some positive points as well - The public areas at the hotel are very esthetic . The lobby and the corridors are nicely decorated.
The staff and service were beyond reproach!
The breakfast buffet was quite satisfying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirael2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Hotel appeared to have been recently renovated with some renovations still going on. The location of the hotel is definitely "off the beaten path." (a little too far off the path for me and my husband). There is nothing really to do or see in the immediate area. The staff was not very engaging or suggestive of sites to see or the transportation to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHRYN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina o, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Kathryn,

Thank you very much for your feed back.
We are very sorry that our staff didn't suggest you some routes in the neighborhood . Parioli area is quiet and residential but also full of historical attractions (Galleria Borghese, Galleria d'Arte Moderna, Museo MaXi and Museo Etrusco), cultural event (Auditorium Parco della Musica) and shopping itinerary.
Roman people consider our area exclusive, peaceful and fashionable.
Anyways, we do hope that aside from the problem with the location, you did enjoy your stay.

We suggest you to get back to us as soon as you can, we promise you a wonderful experience.

Best regards.
Valentina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Really disappointed had a triple room to find scaffolding covering the balcony and black bags full of rubbish. Air con didn't work no alternative offered and be aware of a tax of 3 euro per head per day that no one tells you about. Then when you try to get someone to listen when you get back nobody wants to know least of all hotel direct who I booked it through what ever happened to after sales care?it doesn't exist!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Tiburtino
Best Western Blu Hotel Roma
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel Artdeco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#199 of 1,267 in Rome
692 reviews
Parioli
Polo Hotel
Polo Hotel
#1,090 of 1,267 in Rome
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Rivoli

Address: Via Taramelli 7, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#268 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £63 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Rivoli 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing