We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
19
87
52
27
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
87
52
27
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus and metrohotel runsnice hotelpick pocketsthe hotel staffvery pleasant stayquiet areamini barreceptionistsights
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Despite it being on the outskirts of Rome and a little out of the way (about an hours travel to get to Rome's center), we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Aurora Garden Hotel - a wonderful choice.
The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff really friendly and helpful and public transport close and easily accepssible. Breakfast was satisfactory.
One thing - bring a map. The hotel was nearly impossible to find in the beginning. Also, for easy travel around Rome, we'd recommend buying the BTI 3 day tourist ticket for 11 euros.
Otherwise, we'd definitely recommend this hotel.
Knowing that we'd have greatly appreciated this information on our first day, I'm providing the following:

Directions to the Aurora Garden Hotel from Fiumicino Airport using public transport:
Take the FR1 train to Tiburtina F.S. (8 euros for a one way adult's ticket).
Then take the Metro B line to either Ponte Mammolo or Rebibbia.
Catch bus 344 or 343 to Via Nicola Maria Nicolai (Via Nicolai).
Walk up Via Nicolai and take the third left then first right. The hotel is on the right.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeyaBeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This hotel is really far from Rome's city centre, you have to get a bus and then a train to get to all the main attractions which meant we had less time visiting the attractions as we spent an hour getting into the city centre and after enjoying a lovely meal in the city we then had to get a train and a bus back to the hotel. As for the hotel, it is in the middle of nowhere! We came out the airport expecting to be able to get a shuttle or train to the hotel, we ended up having to pay 65 euros for a taxi as the hotel is so far out no shuttles go there!!! There are no restaurants or bars near the hotel, it's in the middle of a housing area! And the room was awful, really dark and dirty and the bath had cracks and holes from where the shower head continuously fell into the bath, which had just been filled with pollyfiller!! The staff were miserable and unhelpful and the breakfast was ok, well the pastries were, the bread was hard and my boyfriend had the hard boiled eggs and they were off!! Overall a poor hotel in an awful location!! I would definetly not recommend or go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mizzlucozade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

the hotel is far away from the city but for us that wasn't a problem in 40-60 min you can arrive to the colosseum , the hotel was generaly o.k. not a 3 star more lake 1 or 2 star but it was clean quaiet and it had a big bed . the brefkast was o.k. for italy but the second day at the hotel something horrible happend : my boyfriend and I were haveing breafkast when a craizy old women camed to our table and started screaming , the woman was verrrrrrrrryyyyyyy craizy she strated saing that we took to much food and that she had do a lot of work to bring food to the place where they served breafkast , she was ridiquless and absurd she was veryyyyyyyyyyyyy old and scary and what she was seing wasn"t true . the holl moment was very embaresing and she was very rude , after se screamed she stood next to us to wach if we take any other food , it was awful she is the reason that I would never go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alymba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Folks at the airport laughed at us when we told them where we were staying. "Too far out of the city". So my nephew and I were skeptical. But when we did arrive to the Aurora Garden we were very happy. The hotel staff was helpful and always smiling. It was just a couple of minutes walk to the bus. We loved being in a quiet residential neighborhood after being so busy all day. Also, Daniele and Alex recommended a couple of great places to eat that were in the area and close to walk to. We had an awesome time in Rome and would stay at the Aurora Garden again. Shar and Brian

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This is a great hotel for anyone wishing to visit Rome on a budget. Yes, it is quite a way out of the city but we were very pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to get to and from the centre of Rome. Just a few minutes walk from the hotel is a little tobacco shop that sells bus tickets. You can buy a one day, three day or week long ticket. The three day one is 12 euro's. (you have to buy your tickets first then validate them in a machine on the bus) The bus stop is just another couple of minutes walk back to the main road. Bus No: 337 stops there around every 20 min and will take you to a little bus terminal in around 8/10 min. From there catch the No: 60 bus. This will take you right into the centre of Rome in around 40 min. On your return, just catch the same buses. We found there are plenty of well signposted bus stops in the city centre where you can catch the No: 60.
As for the hotel itself; clean, comfortable rooms, nice bathrooms and very helpful staff. Our only grumble would be about the breakfast's served up in the basement dining room - they were dreadful to say the least! However, would we stay there again? Yes, absolutely!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews