We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Typical European Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel
Ranked #896 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Typical European Hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Typical old building turned into a hotel. The rooms are all different sizes and shapes. 1 bed, 2 bed, 3 bed options. Some have bathtubs, others just tiny stand-up showers. The wi-fi comes in and out. There's a Best Western next door that said they had wi-fi too. Don't forget What's App is a free texting service on your iPhone! Skye too I think? Otherwise in Rome, go to a tabacco shop and buy 2 hours of phone service for like $5. VERY CHEAP SMART Phone option to use! Good location. There's an Irish pub around the block, a restaurant across the street. I'm pretty sure the breakfast offered is typical for everyone and not just my tour group of 50 staying there. It had a tv inside and hair dryer. There's a market 3 blocks away which was cool to tour. It's about 15 minutes from all the site in Rome. Personally, I think everything can be seen in Rome in 3 full days and then you've done it all unless you want to immerse yourself. Lombardo's near the Spanish steps has GREAT pizza margarite and homemade tiramisu! Spanish steps is near Rome's version of Rodeo Drive shopping. The hotel is 7 floors with about 6-8 rooms per floor. TINY elevator. Easier to use steps so use a backpack or be able to cart up and down 7 floors. Elevator takes forever. Friendly staff. You leave your key at the front desk every time you leave so the maid knows when to come clean. The beds are tiny and the pillows are FLAT! I slept on my travel pillow cuz I'm a spoiled American. I went in February so I suggest wearing long underwear under clothes. My friends were freezing and didn't! So heat/air wasn't a problem that I know of. The walls are THIN! I wore earplugs. There were 2 plugs per room but GET AN AMERICAN ADAPTOR AND CONVERTER and then I added one of those additional 3 plug options so I charged 3 things at once per outlet. I got my adaptor at Target for $29.99. But the convertor and adapter options are important so you don't blow a fuse which may effect the whole hotel!! Plenty of things around the hotel. Good enough location. Everything seems to be on the same streets, but you'll want to bus it to touristy stuff or taxi. Not walk. I'd totally hire a guide or at least buy the radio headsets in the locations so you get "more" information on the tours. After awhile it's just statue, ruins, art over and over. But if you get the background, WOW! Mass at Vatican is every hour, but it's very loud and touristy. 6 months in advance you can get tickets to tour the catacombs under the Vatican. DO THAT! I'm sad I didn't. There's only one Vatican souvinir store that blesses EVERYTHING you buy so buy a rosary there. They range from 7 euros to hundreds! I bought several for friends. They even delivered it to the hotel!? Buy candy at the market near the hotel if you need to bring lots home. It's hard to find large quantities like you'll find in the market in any touristy shop. There is some in the airport but it's more expensive. Wi-fi is only available in the lobby and it was colder in the lobby. There is one computer available to the public you can use for internet. Don't forget to see The Vatican tour, Mouth of Truth statue, Caesar's last stand, and the Castel San Angelo is only really interesting for the amazing view at the top! Spanish steps is worth climbing to take a pic from the top too.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor (so you don't have to go up and down stairs and wi-fi sort of works on 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terithedramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    53
    31
    20
    18
See reviews for
21
35
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The location was okay. There is a coffee shop on the same street with wifi but it doesnt open at the crack of dawn like Americans are used to - although it does have amazing coffee. Well, but about this hotel...it was okay. clean, safe, the best part is the rooftop terrace where you can take your breakfast (also nothing to write home about). The worst part was trying to find the LITERALLY one square foot in the hotel lobby that received an internet signal. But, hello, you're in ROME. Go explore.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Not a luxury hotel, but quiet and clean 3 stars hotel with good service and good location if you visit Rome by bus. Very polite staff, they helped us with public transport, shops and restaurants (no restaurant in the hotel, there is only breakfast room). Beautiful city, in Italy you have great food everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank harry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed with a group of my students at the hotel Carlo Magno. The rooms were comfortable although fairly simple. The neighborhood was nice and there were many low cost eating options nearby. Transportation to the center of town was quick and convenient. Buses run right from the hotel to Termini station. The staff at the hotel was great and very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is lovely with great views over Rome and the breakfast was plentiful and very good. Wifi was unreliable but there are plenty of places in the neighborhood with free and good wifi. I like this hotel. I would gladly return.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with balconies. They are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying out. The hotel was just a short walk from Nomintana station, where we easily caught the train to Fiumicino airport. The train takes about 1 hour to get the airport but but it is a very economic solution (about 2 Euros per person).
Carlo Magno is good hotel, not very close to the monuments but well connected by public transportation. The room was clean, the pillows were soft and the Italian-style breakfast was good. Naturally this hotel is not comparable to great luxury hotels in Rome, but it is still a comfortable accommodation. Fortunately reception is open at night, so we could get mineral water and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. Good stay overall.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Good hotel with nice room, good breakfast and very polite staff, but not close to the center of the city. I recommend this hotel who travels by car and wants to have good conveniences for the reasonable price. If you use public transport you’ll spend about 20 minutes to reach the main monuments but you’ll save at least 20 euros every day.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank harry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I used the Carlomagno Hotel in the past , and booked a single , but that was just too small even for 1 , so this time I booked a double , and that is just right . The price is outstanding for the quality of the hotel ; the location of the hotel is just right although subway is not at hand . As well the surrounding area helps with a good and very fresh fish restaurant just in front (Grazia Deledda) and numerous other take away pizzerias and food providers in the neighbourhood . The Ice Cream shop "GORI" just at the other side of Piazza Sempione is worth the walk after dinner ! Their Chocolate Ice Creams selection is an absolute score ! All was working well in the room , although the TV set was small and outdated . Air conditioning was very efficient , but breakfast could be improved a little , at least with a basket of fresh fruit .
I am sure that I will return to this hotel both for business as a single traveller , and as a tourist with my family .

Room Tip: if you are single always ask for double which is about the same price . My room was just in front lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cremonesiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Claudia B&B
#697 of 1,256 in Rome
29 reviews
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
#235 of 1,256 in Rome
439 reviews
Hotel La Pergola
#621 of 1,256 in Rome
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunrise Hotel
#1,026 of 1,256 in Rome
358 reviews
San Lorenzo
Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel
Ateneo Garden Palace Hotel
#460 of 1,256 in Rome
237 reviews
Hotel Aniene
#770 of 1,256 in Rome
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel

Property: Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel
Address: Via di Sacco Pastore 13, 00141 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #896 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Carlo Magno located in Rome on the tree-lined via Nomentana and recently restored, is both comfortable and elegant. The property is well connected to the city centre and to main railway and underground station Termini, by different bus lines. It is also at only 200 metres from the Roma-Nomentano station where trains to and from the Fiumicino airport stop every 15 minutes. Within the hotel there are a bar, a lounge, a breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Carlo Magno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Carlo Magno Rome
Hotel Albergo Carlo Magno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing