We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #369 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for six nights because our travelling agency found it and booked it for us. At first, we were placed in the wrong room, but within an hour the reception realized the error and relocated it. The mistake is understandable at a time where they are so busy during the year. We stayed in a room with two twin beds. The staff cleaned it every day, made our beds, and changed our towels. It took a little while to figure out how to use the hot and cold knobs in the shower, but that was the least of our worries. The only "negative" thing was that the AC only worked when we were in the room with the card. This might be that we didn't stay in a room that was a little more money wise. On the day before we left, we asked the reception desk to have a taxi pick us up at 4:30 AM and the hotel did just as promised. A great thing is that the hotel provides free Wi-fi and does not require any password. The Internet connection worked very well. The BEST part was the amazing location. Via Nazionale is a street filled with stores. There is a McDonalds and a Burger King for those who are not fond of Italian cuisine. We were walking distance of the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, and the Pantheon. Also, there is a water fountain at the end of the block, which we took advantage of and saved a lot of money. Overall, we had a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fonsecac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Mr. 'fonsecac',


First of all thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We are really pleased to read that you stay met you expectations and that you had an enoyable vacation. I am happy to hear that receotion has immediately change the room, we are sorry for the mistake. We are sorry for the AC running only if you are in the room. This is done for energy saving and to avoid that the AC is kept on the whole day while nobody is in the room. Thank yuo again for all the nice compliments regarding our service. We hope to host you sometime again soon and to have You and your family as our kind Guests, in the meantime I send you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    382
    207
    60
    48
See reviews for
214
482
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We chose thie Giolli for it's geographical location and sensible rates purely as a base for a 3 day sight-seeing trip. Thanks largely to the charm of the place and the attitude of the staff, the Giolli really added to our overall experience. I will not hesitate in returning to the Giolli as and when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caballo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Mrs. 'Caballo67',

Thank you very much for Your positive review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your comments on our central location and the helpful attitude of our staff. This is what makes us satisfied and pushes us to offer more to our client. We hope to have You again as our kind Guest in the near future, in the meantime I send You

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacoor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel has a great location. We only had some problem with the AC and also no peephole (but I think this is common in EU hotels). Do not be surprised if you need to pay additional EUR 2 per person per night before you leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertsarile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Mrs. 'Albertsarile',


Thank you very much for your kind review. Location is one of our biggest strengths being only a foot away from all the main sightseeing points! Peepholes (as you mentioned) are only common in the private buildings/ apartments but not in hotels. This is because we monitor and make sure that the people entering the corridors are all Guests of the Hotel, so there is no need of peepholes. The 2 euro per day per person is the City Tax which is active since a couple of years in all Touristic establishments in Rome (b&b, hotels, ). We really hope to have you as our Guests again! In the meantime I send You

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

super little hotel with everthing you need for a short break in Rome. Superb reception staff - couldn't have been more helpful in providing maps/directions/restaurant recommendations and even printed our boarding cards for us so we could still do on line check in when time to leave.
Enough choice at breakfast to set you up for the morning. Room fine, air con so not stuffy and hot all night and had a fridge so you could keep drinks cool. Really well located - we walked to all the sights and didn't use any public transport and some super restaurants nearby ( try Dodo). English news chanel on the TV so had something to listen to first thing in the moring.
If you wanted to be picky - the space in the bathroom was tight - they have inset the sink into a marble surround taking up more room when getting to the shower than they needed to. Shower gel sachets & soap provided but not as smart looking as the ones they use in the publicity photos.
Would happily return to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Client 'Greyhorses',

Thank you so much for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate your positive comments on our staff! they all thank you!
We always love to help our clients in discovering our beautiful Rome and make them try the best places there are.

We are sorry if you needed more space in the bathroom, next time you come and visit us we will make sure to assign you one of the rooms which have bigger and more spacious bathrooms. For the soap amenities we are actually changing them: new ones are coming, they will be 'made in italy' bio-extra olive oil soaps, lotion, conditioner, tooth brush set etc. Excuse us if you didn't find them as good as you expected.

Thank you once again for liking our breakfast and location, it is really satisfying for us to hear such pleasent comments which push us to improve even more.

We really hope to have you as our kind Guests sometime again soon, in the meantime I send you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

we were there for a week for a conference at the university of Sapienza. We were 3 professors in one single and a double room.

I didn't like it at all, and I liked all the hotels I've been to so far! And I travel... this should mean something!
1- first, we arrived at 12 and the check-in was at 15 pm. they didn't help us in any way, we had to walk the streets for 3 hours. It was a good thing we were in Rome, though.
2- the rooms are very small, not what they say on the website! Really!
3 - the "VIEW" is into a small, horrible interior court. For one of the rooms (the single room), the view was a.... WALL at 1 m away from the window! Imagine wakeing up to that everyday!
4- also, in the single room, you enter, jump into the bed and stare to a small size tv... that's all you can do.
5 and the WORSE thing ever: the hotel is SHACKING all night long! Try sitting at the desktop and you'll find yourself moving around with the chair as if you are in the middle of an earthquake! Sometimes, you move with the bed, too. i guess variation is good...

I don't know why the hotel is shaking... might be the metro, might be the tiny elevator. Nobody told us!

the positive things:
1- good location, still too expansive -145 euros for a single/night! and 150 for a double....
2- they clean the room
3- the bathroom has a normal size.

ah, and the staff speaks poor English and they are rude.
that's all!

Room Tip: They are all the same... maybe a double room is more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anamaria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Mrs. Anamaria,

First of all thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, even if not totally positive we always take care of reading every single review in order to improve in what we can do better and to explain or clarify on our side what we feel is partially or not entirely correct.

We are really surprised by your title " Not what they advertise on booking". Every photo or description inserted in Booking.com cannot be false simply because before being published it has to be approved by our Booking.com referent who has previously visited the hotel and rooms and knows exactly what we have and what we don't have.

Having said this we are really sorry if you didn't find us meeting your expectations but I can assure you that every travel agent who comes and visit us is positively surprised when they compare us to other three-star Hotels in Rome. This does not mean that we don't need improvement: we are always happy to take criticism and to improve but sometimes there is a bit of exaggeration which we don't feel is entirely fair. I will try to clarify, on our side, the points you made:

The first thing that is written in all websites is that check-in is at 3 pm. This means that as soon as you enter the Hotel we register you with your passport at any time but to get in the room you have to wait until 3 pm. This is not because we are mean and we want to make our clients wait but because if the check-out is at 11 the cleaner needs time to prepeare the room for the next client. Cleannliness is one of our biggest strengths also because we take care in making as clean and impeccable as possible all rooms. We have also have one person in cherge that checks every room after it has been cleaned and before assigning it to the client. Having said this sometimes it happens that rooms which were free from the day before are being assigned as soon as the clients comes! or if the cleaner starts cleaning the first room of the day, that room will be the first one to be immediately assigned. This is to say that as soon as the rooms are clean and ready we assign them! but we have to have an established time (3 pm) to assure that at that time ALL rooms will be ready. When the client has to wait for the room we explain to them where they are by giving them a map, give suggestion of what to visit and most importantly they can store the luggage and either stay in our lounge room or go for a walk.
Regarding the rooms: we have different kinds of room, standard and superior. The superior ones are more spacious and offer more but it is up to the client which size of room to get since photos of these rooms are public on the website. Nevertheless the standard rooms are of a size approved by the National body of Tourism. The room that was assigned you had a balcony facing the interior court and was one of our standard single rooms. We are very sorry that you did not like the room if told at reception we usually make a change of the room straight away if the client is not happy.

We thank you that the location, the clean room (worth the little wait for check-in) and the spacious bathroom have been of your satisfaction. We have to make a little correction on the price you mention: 100-110 is the maximum rate in high season. It could never be 145! never! I assure you. Regarding the staff: All staff speak good and fluent english, as it would be impossible to be a concierge in Rome and not know the first international language. It is the first time that we hear our staff 'being rood' to a client. What we are always recognized of, is to always have a smile on our face to make the client's stay as pleasant as possible. We always try to be as helpful as we can with all sorts of needs that the client has from advising routes, reccomend restaurants, giving directions, checking-in flights online etc.. all this is paid off with the client feeling a bit more at home. We are very sorry that you did not find this in our Hotel. We hope that you can come back so that we can make you change opinion!

Looking forward to have You as our kind guest again, in the meantime I send You

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel which provided us with a spacious room. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful front desk gentleman. Lots of stairs but we had way more stairs at other hotels in Italy. Small elevator but grateful that there was one. Our room was very bright (lots of lights) and clean. The air conditioning worked great which was needed with the 37 degree weather. Nice lounge area and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcmj43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear 'Tcmj43',

First of all thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy that your stay has been a pleasant one and it is really satisfying to hear that our staff, the cleanliness, our breakfast and the AC met your expectations! It is such comments that strive us to always improve more and to dedicate ourselves to make our guest's holiday, hopefully, unforgettable. We really hope to host you again soon, in the meantime I send you

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough, england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Myself and my girlfriend arrived via a pure booked taxi from fiumicino airport. The signs for the hotel are easy to spot. On entering the building we found that the reception was on the first floor (not ground level), we opted for the lift/elevator as we had heavy bags. The lift by the way was very cosy to say the least. Only just big enough for us both and our cases. Check-in was easy and the reception guy spoke good English. Off we went to our room on the fourth floor (room 416). Key card entry. Wardrobe on the left. Bathroom to the right. Further in the room the there was a big double bed to the right and a couple of chairs and a desk on the left. It wasn't a massive room but it was bigger than the other hotel rooms I've stayed in whilst in rome previously. Best thing about the room was the bed, very comfy. There is a fridge in the room too. (Empty, good for storing water for a cold drink when you get back from seeing the sites). It is best to buy a few bottles of water from the vendors doted about the city but then just top them up from the FREE drinking fountains around the city. Good way to save money.
The hotel offers free wi-fi. We had no problems with the Internet during our stay. No passwords needed.
The bathroom was compact but ok and everything looked clean. However when we got showered on the morning we found that the temperature of the water was going hot and cold every 30 seconds or so. Unless you got the temperature lever millimetre perfect the water would be really hot or refreshingly cold :-) that said though, everything else was fine in the room. The television was working fine but the only channel that was in English was the bbc news. I didn't find this a problem as I was there to see rome and not the italian tv. The air conditioning worked fine but wasn't very powerfull. The same key card used to enter the room is the one needed to put into the socket next to the door to ensure the lights and aircon work. If the aircon was left on all night the room would be lovely and cool in the morning but not when you get back from site seeing on the night as you would have the key with you and therefore no power to the room.
There wasn't any noise from the rooms either side of us but we could hear people walking past the room on a night. Our room did not face out onto the main street which I'm glad as there seems to be an ambulance or police car going past every half hour at least.
The breakfast was nice but basic. Breads, pastries, cold meats, cheese and yoghurts. Plus the tea and coffee. Breakfast room is on the small side but we never felt cramped at all. The waitress staff on a morning were lovely. Air conditioning worked fine. Not too powerfull though. The key card that lets you into the room also has to be inserted to the socket just next to the door to enable all the electrics in the room.
So..... On to site seeing....... the hotel is fairly central. The colosseum is about 15-20mins walk away. Spanish steps maybe 20mins. Pantheon/piazza navona is about 30mins walk away. The Vatican and castel sant'angelo is a bit of a trek at about 45mins to an hours walk away. Everyone gets hung up about how far away the sites are when walking but let me just say........ Rome is a fantastic place and there is loads of little streets where you can find all sorts of little treats on the way to the sites. I've been to rome three times now and I don't see a need to use the hop on hop off buses. I think you get a better feel for a city when walking through it. Plus from other reviews I've read the public transport can be a bit dodgy with pick pockets.
On a night the hotel closes the main door at 23:00. To gain entry you need to push the door bell. The one problem with this is that there were three doorbells to choose from. I'm still unsure which bell worked. Once you are allowed in....... The door opens automatically and closes of its own accord.
Just outside the hotel is via nazionale. It's a very long street. Luckily there are lots of restaurants bars and refreshment areas like the gorgeous ice cream shops. There is also loads of clothes shops to keep the girls happy. Although all the designer shops are at the street at the bottom on the Spanish steps.
Overall I would say 8/10. Due to the shower problem and the breakfast being a little basic. The staff were great. I would stay here again but I think it will be a while until I go back to rome again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyodp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,261 in Rome
953 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#282 of 1,261 in Rome
792 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#212 of 1,261 in Rome
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Hiberia
Hotel Hiberia
#191 of 1,261 in Rome
1,050 reviews
Hotel Fenix
#370 of 1,261 in Rome
423 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#226 of 1,261 in Rome
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing