We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Pool
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (1,080)
    Filter reviews
    1,080 results
    Traveller rating
    336
    409
    217
    67
    51
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    336
    409
    217
    67
    51
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgreat locationtrevi fountainwalking distancehampastriesfirst floortwin roomfontana di trevihard boiled eggscentral locationtrain stationbread rollsair concontinental breakfasttaxi standstandard roommajor attractions
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    273 - 278 of 1,080 reviews
    Reviewed 4 September 2013

    Very nice price for excellent accomodattions! Great service and very nice breakfast! The room and bathroom were very confortable, the personal was very kind too!! I would came back here for my next trip without hesitate!

    • Stayed: September 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Ruben C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 September 2013

    This 6 night stay at the Giolli was a complete surprise for me, arranged by my husband to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. As he had wanted it to remain a total surprise, he hadn't booked anything beforehand, so our booking was made on the Internet 2 days before our arrival on 18 August. We therefore did no prior research on the hotel and read no reviews about it, choosing it purely for the good value for money that seemed to be offered for 80 Euros a night.

    We actually arrived one night early due to problems with travel arrangements and although we arrived after midnight, the staff were very helpful and accommodated us in a room with single beds which was all they had available. We then changed to our double room the next day.

    Due to tiredness my husband had left his bag containing his whole life (men!) on the Airport Shuttlebus and the hotel reception staff were so helpful, going as far as ringing the company for us and we eventually managed to retrieve it successfully with all of its contents intact.

    We stayed in room 128 and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel. The room was a fairly decent size and we faced into the inner courtyard.

    In our opinion breakfast was delicious - a great choice of pastries, breads, cheese, ham, peaches, yoghurts, juices etc. Stamps can be bought at reception and they will also post your cards for you.

    Location is excellent for sightseeing - we walked for miles and miles. The Termini station is only a 12-15 min walk away and from here it is so easy to use the underground system to get to the sights that are a bit further away, like the Vatican.

    We also had to extend our stay for another night due to return travel problems and again this was no problem for the staff. The staff were very helpful, courteous, friendly and accommodating. I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but I feel that these days, people are very quick to criticise and share negative comments and I would like to share our very positive experience. Would not hesitate to stay there again, well done Hotel Giolli and thank you.

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank VikingGeordieGirl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

    The pictures of this hotel make it appear better than it is. Our room was quite small but tidy and the bathroom was nice. The problem is that the water...in our room.. went hot-cold every few seconds, taking a shower was difficult. Our tub drained very slowly and one day not at all. The desk clerk was not very helpful during the day, but night clerk was very pleasant and sent us to a very nice restaurant near by. Maybe other rooms are better? There was no access to any terrace, and our twin room was nothing like any of the photos. I will tell my travel agent to clarify this in the future. Disappointed

    • Stayed: August 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Cindy Z
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

    Dear Cindy,


    Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

    We are sorry that our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry for the hot and cold problem. I remember this issue that was immediately solved with the plumber coming and fixing the problem. However, we have different rooms the standard and superior rooms. Usually (unless specified) agencies buy the standard rooms. The standard rooms, by the way, are always of standard size approved by the National body of Tourism. We are sorry that maybe you wanted a superior room but you had to specify it in the reservation as it has a different price and offers different services. If you go in our website you will find all room types also the one that was assigned to you. We could never put only superior rooms in the website as all clients would probably expect those rooms. Please visit the website and check, we also have photos of standard single rooms. We are really sorry that you did not like your stay, if said at reception we could have satisfied you in someway.

    We hope to have you again as our kind Guest so that we can have another chance and maybe make you change opinion!

    Best regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2013

    My friend and I stayed at this hotel for six nights because our travelling agency found it and booked it for us. At first, we were placed in the wrong room, but within an hour the reception realized the error and relocated it. The mistake is understandable at a time where they are so busy during the year. We stayed in a room with two twin beds. The staff cleaned it every day, made our beds, and changed our towels. It took a little while to figure out how to use the hot and cold knobs in the shower, but that was the least of our worries. The only "negative" thing was that the AC only worked when we were in the room with the card. This might be that we didn't stay in a room that was a little more money wise. On the day before we left, we asked the reception desk to have a taxi pick us up at 4:30 AM and the hotel did just as promised. A great thing is that the hotel provides free Wi-fi and does not require any password. The Internet connection worked very well. The BEST part was the amazing location. Via Nazionale is a street filled with stores. There is a McDonalds and a Burger King for those who are not fond of Italian cuisine. We were walking distance of the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, and the Pantheon. Also, there is a water fountain at the end of the block, which we took advantage of and saved a lot of money. Overall, we had a great experience!

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Cristina F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

    Dear Mr. 'fonsecac',


    First of all thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

    We are really pleased to read that you stay met you expectations and that you had an enoyable vacation. I am happy to hear that receotion has immediately change the room, we are sorry for the mistake. We are sorry for the AC running only if you are in the room. This is done for energy saving and to avoid that the AC is kept on the whole day while nobody is in the room. Thank yuo again for all the nice compliments regarding our service. We hope to host you sometime again soon and to have You and your family as our kind Guests, in the meantime I send you

    Best regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2013

    We chose thie Giolli for it's geographical location and sensible rates purely as a base for a 3 day sight-seeing trip. Thanks largely to the charm of the place and the attitude of the staff, the Giolli really added to our overall experience. I will not hesitate in returning to the Giolli as and when we return to Rome.

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank caballo67
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    HotelGiolliRoma, Direttore at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

    Dear Mrs. 'Caballo67',

    Thank you very much for Your positive review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your comments on our central location and the helpful attitude of our staff. This is what makes us satisfied and pushes us to offer more to our client. We hope to have You again as our kind Guest in the near future, in the meantime I send You

    Kind regards

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews