We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly small hotel centrally situated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #369 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly small hotel centrally situated.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the Hotel Giolli for five nights in early September. Situated on the Via Nazionale it is within easy walking distance of many of the must-see sights of Rome.
The hotel is spotless and every member of staff are friendly and helpful. On our first night Stefano recommended a lovely restaurant just two streets away. Don't be afraid to ask for advice. Carlos is also very informative when looking for advice regarding eating out and travelling around the city. Beds are comfortable, a/c welcome on hot days and the bathroom is large with lots of hot water.Breakfast is very continental but adequate. I would have liked fresh orange juice.
The coloseum is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk down Via Serpentini, I would advise going in the early morning when queues are shorter and it is cooler.
The Trevi fountain is only a fifteen minute walk away. We used the Metro ( at the top of Via Nazionale) to get to both the Spanish Steps and the Vatican City. Very easy and cheap at 1.50 euros each.
We did a day trip to Florence (wonderful!) by train from Tribertina station. Tiring but well worth it.Book in advance with ItaloTren. It takes around 80minutes (at speeds of 250km/hr) to get to Florence. The station is only five minnutes walk from the centre. Cost of the return trip was around 80 euros.

Room Tip: Via Nazionale is very busy so ask for a room away from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grangefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    382
    207
    60
    48
See reviews for
214
482
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 2 days before our holiday in Siena and 2 days after. The Hotel Giolli is a well placed hotel within easy reach of most of the popular sites and the main railway station.
The staff in reception are very pleasant and helpful. Our rooms were very clean and provided everything we needed. However the air conditioning was very noisy but was necessary as the room was very hot.
Breakfast was good and there was a good selection of cold food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfiew05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Giolli hotel at the beginning of September and right from the beginning of my stay received great service from all members of staff in this brilliantly located hotel.

Was able to check-in a couple of hours early and was then given a map by the man on reception (Carlos I believe) who kindly explained how and where to find all of the historical treasures that the city has to offer. Republica metro station is at the top of Via Nazionale (around 10 minutes walk) whilst the Colosseum and Trevi fountain are both a 15 minute from the Giolli's front doors.

I stayed in a standard single room, which was perfectly adequate for my requirements and provided a perfect base for my two nights in Rome. A comfortable bed, very efficient A/C and a fridge! Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean.

The breakfast filled me up for a morning of sightseeing and included a selection of pastries, breads, cereals, yoghurts etc

Overall the Giolli hotel represents good value for money due to its location, excellent staff and cleanliness. Would recommend to a friend and if I returned to Rome on a similar budget, wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoncru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice price for excellent accomodattions! Great service and very nice breakfast! The room and bathroom were very confortable, the personal was very kind too!! I would came back here for my next trip without hesitate!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This 6 night stay at the Giolli was a complete surprise for me, arranged by my husband to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. As he had wanted it to remain a total surprise, he hadn't booked anything beforehand, so our booking was made on the Internet 2 days before our arrival on 18 August. We therefore did no prior research on the hotel and read no reviews about it, choosing it purely for the good value for money that seemed to be offered for 80 Euros a night.

We actually arrived one night early due to problems with travel arrangements and although we arrived after midnight, the staff were very helpful and accommodated us in a room with single beds which was all they had available. We then changed to our double room the next day.

Due to tiredness my husband had left his bag containing his whole life (men!) on the Airport Shuttlebus and the hotel reception staff were so helpful, going as far as ringing the company for us and we eventually managed to retrieve it successfully with all of its contents intact.

We stayed in room 128 and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel. The room was a fairly decent size and we faced into the inner courtyard.

In our opinion breakfast was delicious - a great choice of pastries, breads, cheese, ham, peaches, yoghurts, juices etc. Stamps can be bought at reception and they will also post your cards for you.

Location is excellent for sightseeing - we walked for miles and miles. The Termini station is only a 12-15 min walk away and from here it is so easy to use the underground system to get to the sights that are a bit further away, like the Vatican.

We also had to extend our stay for another night due to return travel problems and again this was no problem for the staff. The staff were very helpful, courteous, friendly and accommodating. I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but I feel that these days, people are very quick to criticise and share negative comments and I would like to share our very positive experience. Would not hesitate to stay there again, well done Hotel Giolli and thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VikingGeordieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The pictures of this hotel make it appear better than it is. Our room was quite small but tidy and the bathroom was nice. The problem is that the water...in our room.. went hot-cold every few seconds, taking a shower was difficult. Our tub drained very slowly and one day not at all. The desk clerk was not very helpful during the day, but night clerk was very pleasant and sent us to a very nice restaurant near by. Maybe other rooms are better? There was no access to any terrace, and our twin room was nothing like any of the photos. I will tell my travel agent to clarify this in the future. Disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Cindy,


Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry that our Hotel did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry for the hot and cold problem. I remember this issue that was immediately solved with the plumber coming and fixing the problem. However, we have different rooms the standard and superior rooms. Usually (unless specified) agencies buy the standard rooms. The standard rooms, by the way, are always of standard size approved by the National body of Tourism. We are sorry that maybe you wanted a superior room but you had to specify it in the reservation as it has a different price and offers different services. If you go in our website you will find all room types also the one that was assigned to you. We could never put only superior rooms in the website as all clients would probably expect those rooms. Please visit the website and check, we also have photos of standard single rooms. We are really sorry that you did not like your stay, if said at reception we could have satisfied you in someway.

We hope to have you again as our kind Guest so that we can have another chance and maybe make you change opinion!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for six nights because our travelling agency found it and booked it for us. At first, we were placed in the wrong room, but within an hour the reception realized the error and relocated it. The mistake is understandable at a time where they are so busy during the year. We stayed in a room with two twin beds. The staff cleaned it every day, made our beds, and changed our towels. It took a little while to figure out how to use the hot and cold knobs in the shower, but that was the least of our worries. The only "negative" thing was that the AC only worked when we were in the room with the card. This might be that we didn't stay in a room that was a little more money wise. On the day before we left, we asked the reception desk to have a taxi pick us up at 4:30 AM and the hotel did just as promised. A great thing is that the hotel provides free Wi-fi and does not require any password. The Internet connection worked very well. The BEST part was the amazing location. Via Nazionale is a street filled with stores. There is a McDonalds and a Burger King for those who are not fond of Italian cuisine. We were walking distance of the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, and the Pantheon. Also, there is a water fountain at the end of the block, which we took advantage of and saved a lot of money. Overall, we had a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fonsecac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Mr. 'fonsecac',


First of all thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We are really pleased to read that you stay met you expectations and that you had an enoyable vacation. I am happy to hear that receotion has immediately change the room, we are sorry for the mistake. We are sorry for the AC running only if you are in the room. This is done for energy saving and to avoid that the AC is kept on the whole day while nobody is in the room. Thank yuo again for all the nice compliments regarding our service. We hope to host you sometime again soon and to have You and your family as our kind Guests, in the meantime I send you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,261 in Rome
953 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#282 of 1,261 in Rome
792 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#212 of 1,261 in Rome
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Hiberia
Hotel Hiberia
#191 of 1,261 in Rome
1,051 reviews
Hotel Fenix
#370 of 1,261 in Rome
423 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#226 of 1,261 in Rome
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing