We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic service, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #345 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic service, average rooms”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The standouts were Carlos, the Hotel manager whose service was excellent and his advice and assistance first rate. The location is excellent. The better standard rooms are quite large but the standard rooms are small. The Hotel is due for some maintenance in some areas but overall we were happy with our experience. Rooms 202 and 220 were used by us for 2 nights and 1 night respectively, they face the street and have some street noise but the size makes up for that. Without Carlos we would have had a less enjoyable experience, thank you Carlos (if you find my jumper let me know). Regards, Wayne and Cathy

Room Tip: See comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Wayne and Cathy,

thank you so much for your nice review!

Carlos says hi to you, he has a very pleasant memory of you.

We really hope to see you again in Rome and in our Hotel Giolli to give us a chance in making your stay even more unforgettable.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    375
    199
    59
    41
See reviews for
207
469
46
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently spent three nights in Rome at the the Hotel Giolli and we can honestly say the receptionist Carlos was fantastic. He advised us on the best local restaurants which were perfect. We also received a complimentary drink on the strength of Carlos's recommendation.(bucks fizz/lemon-cello type)
Carlos also booked us a Taxi for the airport and the driver even came and collected the luggage (48 euro). It is often reported that the taxi drivers can rip you off but we found that if you ask for the price first (quanto) they would stick to it and would often just point to the meter.
The hotel is not too far from the Trevi Fountain, (walking) however the Vatican and the colloseum are a bit further away. The rooms at the hotel are a reasonable size and are spotless. The only down side is there is no tea/coffee making facilities. There are spare sockets though if you took a travel kettle. Wifi reception is free and the signal good. A good hotel in a great location, would we return YES.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mr. Martin,
Thank you so much for your positive review!
We are really happy to hear that your stay has been a pleasant one.
Carlos sends you his regards and hopes to see you again here in Rome.
Our aim is to make our Guests feel at home and it is a huge responsibility to take care of one's vacation. We are very satisfied when we hear such nice comments. Next time ask for the boiler, we do provide it but on request!
We really do hope to host you again in the future :-) , in the meantime we send you

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The televison was small and they said they have satellite but we could only find one English Channel that was cnn news. They should put coffee pots and clocks in room. The view from our room was a fire escape and very noisy due to construction going on. There was no printed card in room for information or how to use the phone or if there was a charge for local calls. We had no air conditioning and could find nothing to regulate the room . The bed was hard and uncomfortable. The WiFi was excellent and the breakfast was fine with a coffee bar that was excellent. The location is great with bus and taxi stand across the street and you could walk to most anything.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel was located in a good central location. It allowed easy access to Trajan's column, Colliseum, Form, Trevi Fountain.

Most of the rooms look in to the centre "courtyard" which is just a dark central space. My bed was comfortable. The room was only a little bigger than the bed.

The bathroom looked clean. Shower gel not great. Hot water was lacking on one day and the bathroom smelled of drains.

This was a central base which was OK for me on my own but I wouldn't come back with my family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Central location to everything! 10-15 minute walk to the Colosseum. Excellent service! Carlo the attendant became family during our stay.He recommended the best eateries and provided us with maps for each destination.Continental breakfast had a nice variety. Excellent market right next door! Truly enjoyed our stay. Home away from home even all the way from Mississippi and Texas!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breemhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very small room with tiny bathroom. Moldy around tub, shower head filled with deposits and no pressure, 13 " TV from the 80's, no a/c till May 1st, no room to sit on toilette, good breakfast, free internet worked well, staff very helpful, perfect location close to attractions. 64 bus stop right out front, easy walk to Roma Termini for connections, pleanty of restaurants close by..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BARRY MICHELE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Puts the C in central. Nice, clean and very convenient to everything. Bus stops across the street for all the major sights. Short walk to subway. Little bit longer walk to the Forum and Pantheon or Trevi Fountain. We even walked from the Vatican and Piaza Navrona. Nice restaurants closeby. Complementary breakfast is ok, but not great. Our room overlooked the street (noisy, smokers on the sidewalk), but we enjoyed the sights and sounds.

Room Tip: We liked ours in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1355vabeachtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Fenix
#386 of 1,256 in Rome
414 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#213 of 1,256 in Rome
937 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#221 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#289 of 1,256 in Rome
775 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#208 of 1,256 in Rome
326 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#169 of 1,256 in Rome
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing