We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #372 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value, convenient location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here on a recent rip to Rome for a couple of days. The rooms were sufficient in size and clean. The continental breakfast which was included in the room price was quite good. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brewster2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Brewer,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you had a pleasant stay.

We appreciate that you have noticed our care in keeping the rooms spotless, in fact that is one of our strengths. Also, thank you for giving us credit regarding the location, we are happy that this makes it easier for the clients to visit the city . We really do hope to have you as our Kind Guest once again,in the meantime I send you

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    378
    201
    60
    47
See reviews for
212
474
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Booked this hotel as a express deal in Priceline and turned out to be a very comfortable, clean, affordable place to stay given the short notice. It is very well located a few blocks (10 min walk) from Roma Termini and the Vittorio Emmanuel monument. The bathroom was renovated and it had a small refrigerator and a safe. The front desk people were very helpful and amicable. Would definitively recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArchieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ArchieNY,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy that your stay has been a pleasant one.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was very good, great location, staff was very helpful, a special thanks to CARLOS for all his assistance which helped made our stay in Rome great.. We have used this hotel twice in May 2012 & again in 2014 & highly recommend it. Francesca was very helpful with our booking....
..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5002Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear 5002Andy,

Thank you so much for your review!

It is a pleasure for us to have had you as our guests! You are the guests that every hotel would love to have !

We hope to see you for a third time in Rome, in the meantime we send you our

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first hotel in a whirlwind trip through Europe. We were expecting very little for the price we paid but were very pleasantly suprised by how relatively spacious the room was. It was clean and really comfortable.

The location was great, was a very pleasant walk to the Colloseum via the Trojan Forum.

I forgot to print a ticket for the Vatican before I left home and the man at reception was friendly enough to print it for me. The staff also gave us great advice when we arrived. Would highly recommend staying here and intend to on our next visit to Rome

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2_Schay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Schay,

Thank you so much for your positive review.

We are really happy that you were pleasantly surprised with the level of our service. We try to do our best to make our clients feel a little bit at home, that is our goal. Your review is a huge satisfaction for us! We thank you once again and we hope to welcome you sometime again soon in Rome.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here last weekend with my sister and brother in law and we all agreed that this hotel was in a very good location being within a 10 - 15 minute short walking distance for all major attractions.
Very good continental breakfast every morning to get the day started.
Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
However this is not a hotel that has any disability facilities and has a small lift to take you up to the reception which is on the first floor. This was manageable over the weekend but bathroom facilities have not been adapted.
Over all a good stay at this hotel, very basic, couldn't open the window due to scaffolding outside so the room was very hot, fortunately my room had a an air con unit fitted and I was supplied with the remote control.
One very annoying feature was the bed ... every time you move the bed squeaked very loudly!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 63Gingermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Gingerm,

Thank you for writing your review.

We are very pleased and happy to read that your stay has been a pleasant one. We are sorry about the scaffolding but we are constructing 11 new Prestige suites rooms which will be ready this winter. We are also sorry about the bed but all beds are orthopedic beds and have been recently changed.
Next time if there is something that is not okay please come and tell us and we will do our best to solve the problem, we are happy if you are happy and satisfied! We thank you again for appreciating our location and our breakfast. Hoping to see you again all staff sends you their

Kindest regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights at the Giolli. The location is excellent. Within 15-20mins you can walk to colosseum, Spanish Steps or The Termini station. Staff very helpful, we had booked a double but the room was made up as a twin. One phone call later and it was converted to a double in minutes by a member of staff.

We didn't have a view from our room, there is construction going on and all we could see was scaffolding.

Room was small and very basic. Toiletries provided in the bathroom were pitiful and there was no opportunity to make a cuppa in the room. The room was clean and comfortable, but very hot!

Shower was ok, was worried after reading the reviews but it was just fine. Hairdryer was very slow though.

Breakfast was very nice and the staff were helpful and friendly every morning, remembering our room number each day.

Carlo on front desk was very friendly and helpful.

The security worried me a little, the hotel is open to the public and there is no security to get into any of the floors but we didn't see any issues.

The lift is the smallest I have seen and if you're are confined to a wheelchair this hotel is no good for you. Luckily my husband can get out of his wheelchair and the lift could only take the chair folded and him squeezed into the end.

Can't fault the price or location though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wobblelegs2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Client 'Wobbleleg',

Thank you for your review.

We thank you for all the nice positive comments that you have made. We are sorry that you did not have a view. The rooms with view are specfically sold in our website and they have another price. The room you had reserved was a standard room. The scaffolding is due to renovation that we are doing and it has already been removed. We are building brand new Prestige suites that will be soon available!

The standard room that you have reserved is of standard size approved by the body of tourism here in Rome. Prestige rooms are certainly more spacious. In the standard room we provide shapoo, hand soap and plastic cups all made in Italy. I am sorry that you did not find the boiler but we do provide it to customers upon request: we in fact serve the boiler with a variety choice of teas.

We are happy that the breakfast staff and the breakfast itself was of your satisfaction.

Regarding the security: the reception is open all day and all night 24 hours / 24. all the hotel is provided with cameras in all corridors and monitors in reception. The main entrance closes at 11 pm and in order to get in later you have to ring outside and the concierge will let you in . That said Rome is a very safe city especially in the centre and no security issues ever occured.

Regarding the lift: our building is an 800th century building like most buildings in Rome. The majority of buildings in Rome have small lifts and very wide sairs.

We really hope to host you sometime again soon in the meantime I send you

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The standouts were Carlos, the Hotel manager whose service was excellent and his advice and assistance first rate. The location is excellent. The better standard rooms are quite large but the standard rooms are small. The Hotel is due for some maintenance in some areas but overall we were happy with our experience. Rooms 202 and 220 were used by us for 2 nights and 1 night respectively, they face the street and have some street noise but the size makes up for that. Without Carlos we would have had a less enjoyable experience, thank you Carlos (if you find my jumper let me know). Regards, Wayne and Cathy

Room Tip: See comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Wayne and Cathy,

thank you so much for your nice review!

Carlos says hi to you, he has a very pleasant memory of you.

We really hope to see you again in Rome and in our Hotel Giolli to give us a chance in making your stay even more unforgettable.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Fenix
#380 of 1,258 in Rome
420 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#287 of 1,258 in Rome
782 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#205 of 1,258 in Rome
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#228 of 1,258 in Rome
533 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#202 of 1,258 in Rome
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing