We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Ranked #372 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersSilver level
Deir el Qamar, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff, excellent location, breakfast little bit poor, i forgot the safty box open all the day and there was nothing missing :), for the location, you have everything at the via nazionale and all the minuments are close, you can walk .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank saba_said
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,

happy to hear that the staff members contributed in making your stay good!
Certainly, if you ever come back, your stay will be much better in one of our brand new rooms which will be ready soon.
Hoping to welcome you again.

Kindest regards,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    378
    201
    60
    47
See reviews for
212
474
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location, Location, Location. Walking distance to colloseum, roman forum, Trevi fountain, and other key sights. Safe area to wak, great transportation, and lots of close shopping. Hotel typical European in that all rooms are a little different, relatively small rooms, AC not very cold (but they do have them). Private baths, a plus in Europe. We had two rooms and neither TV worked. Wifi was spotty at best. Beds kind of hard, not very comfy. Rooms were fairly clean, but not perfect. Showers were small and very low water pressure. We dont speak Italian but they did have marginal English. Breakfast was nice, continental with meats and cheeses. Rooms did not have any artwork. Elevator held 1 person and 2 pieces of luggage max. Staff were nice and had terrific restaurant recommendations for us.

As we are from the US, and probably stay 75 - 90 hotel nights a year, I had to put my expectations in check. If this were a hotel in the US, it would have been way overpriced for an average room even in a great location. For eammple, I was 2 blocks from the Empire State building in NY with a much nicer room for under $200USD last month. To be fair, this is a 2 out of 5 star in the US. But given European hotels we have seen and stayed at it is probably a 3. Clean, location, safe, AC, private bath get it to a 3.

If all you are looking for is a very basic room in Rome, this is it. If it is a special occaision or you prefer more upscale, this might not be the right place.

Room Tip: All rooms are a little different. Goal is to get one where the TV, AC both work, and you are in ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is in a good location - that's it. There's one person working at reception, Carlos, who is a star and really tries to go the extra mile to make people welcome, but this doesn't disguise that this is a very average hotel with very high prices.

The room was interior, extremely small and in a pretty bad condition. Please do not try and swing a cat here, since you will be arrested for animal cruelty. To be fair, this can be said for most of the hotels in this area of Rome, but the condition of the room itself didn't do the hotel any favours and it could really do with a heavy redecoration (and maybe a new air-conditioning system without exposed wiring would be a good start). At least the air conditioning _did_ work...

The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was basically pathetic. A plate of plastic cheese, a plate of mystery meat ham, yogurt and a basket of pastries is the lot. Don't even touch the coffee in the dispenser (it's coloured water) but instead ask at the bar for a real cappucino (which is the saving grace of the breakfast service).

In summary - a good location, but that is all this hotel can offer. If it hadn't been for Carlos, the rating would have been lower, but the presence of one person really doesn't improve the poor hotel room, very bad breakfast and inflated price...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emm3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile reception at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Emmt3,

Thank you for your review.

We are very astonished by your comments and I will explain to you why step by step by the points you have made:

First of all the prices are not high for the season you have stayed in. Trust me, You have paid much less than what the room and the Hotel in general is valued for. It is very disapponiting reading ' very avrege hotel' since as a three star Hotel we are one of the best in the area considering the service, furniture of rooms and common areas, cleanliness and rooms. I assure you that our 3 star Hotel is of higher standards than the average 3 star Hotels in Rome. This is based on the experiences clients have and tell us and by knowing our competitors very well.
Your review is very denigrating: our rooms are all recently been renovated: wooden floors and marble bathrooms. The rooms are all of regular sizes imposed by the boy of tourism. The cleanliness of our rooms is recognized by all our customers: we change sheets every two days and we have each cleaner dedicated to 7 rooms only. We also have one person in charge to check that the room is tidy and clean to be assigned to the guest. Also, I personally went and check your room and there was not wiring exposing at all!
We remain quite puzzled because we do not know what your demands were at this point? We did not hear any complaint or requests from your side. If only you would have given us the opportunity to know that you were not satisfied with we could have helped you and change you the room. All we read here in your comment is , once again, very denigrating and is far far away from the truth (and I am not stating this because I am publicly writing on Tripadvisor); I will list you all the things we offer in our breakfast room: cappuccino, espresso, pineapple juice, orange juice, water, different flavours of teas, coffee caffeine free, hot chocolate, cold/ hot milk, cereal, toasted bread, bread, croissant with nutella/ custard cream/ honey/simple, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, nutella, different flavoured jams, pie/tart, fresh fuit, fruit salad,different flavoured yoghurts (also fat free) and honey . If this is not enough for a three star hotel please give us some advices and we will be happy to take them into consideration. Usually in most three star hotels they serve you just something to drink and very very little choice to eat (one or two tarts and that's it). Once again, maybe you should have chosen a 4 or 5 star Hotel that would have surely satisfied your demands.

We really hope that you will come and visit us once again in the future and we will try to understand your demands and expectations better next time as we are building 11 new brand Deluxe Suites which could hopefully match your needs. In the meantime i send you

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We finished our three week European vacation in Rome at the Hotel Giolli, which was a great way to finish. The hotel is clean, comfortable with an excellent staff.

Location is reasonably close to the train station and an 15-20 minute walk to a Coliseum and other places of interest. Easy to catch the bus too. We had two rooms for our family of five, including three teenagers. Although the rooms are small, they were clean and comfortable. Only real compliant would be a lack options at breakfast, including little fruit.

The staff was great, particularly Carlo, very friendly and happy to help with anything we asked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Within a 15 minute walk is Trevi fountain,Colosseum and a bonus bus 64 at the doorstep to the Vatican. The hotel has excellent places to eat within 3 minutes each way of the hotel.
The breakfast can fill you up for most of the day. A washing launderette is within a 5 minute walk and the hop on hop off bus drops and picks up within a 2 minute walk.
For a family to get around the city this is a great spot. We had room 236 which was spacious and clean and in the center of the hotel with no road noise.
Carlos was a delight and his helpfulness was muchly appreciated.

Room Tip: I would suggest the 2nd floor as you can easily walk up the stair as the lift is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fish_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Was probably one of my least favourite hotels over my month holiday in Europe! Hardly any room to move in rooms and breakfast had very limited choice! Carlos was very helpful and friendly with recommendation but him being the only helpful member of staff. Hotel in ok location but think you could find better for the same price closer to piazza navona!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I'll be honest this hotel really didn't cut it for me. My partner was indifferent and said it doesn't matter cause we wouldn't be spending much time in the room anyway but still.

The standard room is quite small, smallest one we have stayed in so far. Had no room to even open up the suitcases. The bed was against a wall which made it hard if you wanted to get out of in the middle of the night. The bathroom was just crap. The toilet ran for 20min after flushing and the bed was on the other side of the wall which meant it was very noisy. The shower would go hot cold hot cold the whole time and would spray all over the toilet because there was no screen.

The whole room was just cramped and not well thought out. The breakfast was ok, although was all bread pretty much.

The positives were the wifi connected automatically and was quite good and the location was decent. I wouldn't stay here again though.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiolliRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Giolli Nazionale, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Emily,

We have read your review and we are sad to tell you that we seriously doubt that you have ever been our Guest. This is a very disappointing situation since we always try to make our customers feel at home and if there is any problem we always do everything in order to solve it. First of all: If it was that terrible why didn't you came at reception to inform us? We had no complaint from any guests regarding the problems you stated. Your review is denigrating and false and I will explain why:
All our standard rooms are of a size approved by the National body of Tourism. We have no room in which 'you cannot even open your suitcase' as you state. We have no room with a double bed against a wall. I can assure you that is absoloutely not true. All bathrooms are made of marble and have shower and bath.They are all spotless (cleanliness is our number one priority) How can you state it was 'crap'? If you encountered a problem with the toilet running why wouldn't just inform us? We have a maintenance man which is present the whole day everyday for these problems that may occur.

Thirdly, the breakfast: It is, once again, absoloutely false that we almost serve 'only bread'. This is the real list of things that we serve: espresso, hot chocolate, pinapple and orange juce, hot/cold milk, american coffee, different choice of teas, bread, cake, different croissants with custard/honey/jam/choccolate or plain, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, yoghurts, different flavoured jams, honey, orange jam tart, blueberry tart, ham, fruit salad, cheese and butter.


How can you state such false things with all these products on the buffet? Although there is always space to improve and we always take criticism constructively we feel that for a Continental buffet breakfast we offer quite alot and that your comments are just free insults with no reason or proof. To conclude we are located in Via Nazionale right in the centre of Rome within a few steps to all the main points of attraction and stating taht the location is 'decent' makes us wonder if you have ever been in Rome?

We hope you will really come to our Hotel one day.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Fenix
#380 of 1,258 in Rome
420 reviews
Monti
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#287 of 1,258 in Rome
782 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#205 of 1,258 in Rome
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#228 of 1,258 in Rome
533 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#202 of 1,258 in Rome
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giolli Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giolli Nazionale

Property: Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Address: Via Nazionale 69, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Rome
#259 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#264 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giolli Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Giolli in Rome enjoys a prime and executive privileged position on the prestigious Via Nazionale, in the heart of the historical and commercial area.This late nineteenth century mansion house is situated very close to the Quirinale palace and opposite the Exhibition Hall.With the hotel Giolli in Rome as a comfortable and convenient base, you can visit all of Rome's major attractions and most recognised landmarks, allowing you to experience the city's awe-inspiring beauty, history and culture.Momuments, shops, restaurants and cafes are all within the immediate vicinity.Tastefully furnished and well equipped rooms, the Hotel Giolli in Rome offers authentic marble bathrooms, complete with hair dryer.Room amenities include, mini bar, satellite color TV, direct dial telephone, in room safe, key card access, wifi and smoke alarms.Hotel is completely air conditioned with sound proofed windows, doors and an advanced alarm system assuring total securtiy.The area has a rich selection of restaurants and shops, and is also home to several banks and ministries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giolli Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giolli Hotel Rome
Hotel Giolli Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing