We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #316 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We went from the airport to the train station in Rome. It was difficult to find a taxi for the day, we bought train tickets all five of us. The train ride was cheap and comfortable. It was very easy to find the hotel when we arrived at the station, walking about 20 m. The area around the hotel (Via Cavour) was very busy, but is central to everything. The staff was friendly and the rooms were ok. My father rented the hotel mainly because it had a roof terrace where you could see all over the city while it also was a restaurant. It was great but much smaller than in the pictures. The roof terrace had some odd hours, and two of the days it was booked privately.
This hotel is old with many coats of paint and a little crooked walls, but it was always neat and clean every day when we returned in the evening. Breakfast was ok, they actually had whole wheat bread.
This hotel is best suited for those who plan to see much of the city and not spend time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stina634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had one of the "older rooms" in the hotel, so you thought you were going back in time to the 40's. Aside from the flat screen TV, the room had a very old feel to it, but it was super clean, so we got passed the decor, and focused on the staff and location, both of which were excellent. The lobby and dining areas were much more updated, however, and we enjoyed the breakfast selection, (although eggs anywhere in Italy are not the same) The location is a block from the main train and bus station, so getting around the city is ideal from here, plus you are on one of the main avenues with many destinations within a nice walk. The metro system nearby, was fantastic, and the front desk staff mapped out the proper trains for us to take to get to all the major sights. We really enjoyed stayting here, and would come back here again.

Room Tip: Rome is a bustling city, so it's not going to be quiet. But sleeping was not an issue unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elitetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I actually stayed here twice within a week of each other. Make sure you get a refurbished room!

The first room I had was so depressing that I just wanted to leave, it was so small I could barely fit inside. I am not a large person by any means but the bed was so tiny I could hardly turn over. The only saving grace was the roof top bar where we had a fantastic lunch (though I mainly remember to champagne). I was very nervous knowing I was coming back to stay here in a couple of days time that I nearly booked another hotel.

Thankfully when I checked back in I got an upgrade! What a difference, this room was nearly 5 times the size with a large double bed. What a difference this upgrade made, well worth doing if you get the option.

Breakfast is good, however be aware that this hotel caters for a lot of tour groups so if you have an early or urgent depature you night want to get to the restaurant early.

The location is perfect for those traveling by eurorail. Within a 3 minute walk fromt the station and really centrally located - you can walk almost anywhere you wanted to sight see.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here five nights. Check-in was pleasant. Originally were offered a 6th floor room facing a small street, but after I mentioned my requests at booking time for an 8th floor room they offered me a viewing of both the 6th and 8th floor rooms. The 8th floor room had large french windows with a bit of a view of roof tops, so we took that. Room size was large with high ceilings with broad corridors and lobby on each floor for a European hotel. It got pretty warm during the daytime in the room with the sun coming in the morning thru the french windows, but we were mostly out during daytime. My wife felt this was somewhat of an issue, although by midnight it was cool enough to need sheets to cover ourselved during sleep.
The cot supplied for our 21 month old boy was a bit quaint and small with metal railings without padding, fortunately he didnt bang his head on it during the stay! He really enjoyed running in the long corridors on our floor daily, mainly people free when we had him out.
The breakfast was average with good cappucino out of a machine being the highlight. Breakfast room however was a very pleasant traditionally done up place with a lot of character, so were the lobby areas on the ground floor with a touch of grandness. I read a couple of reviews about the hotel being dated, but I think they missed the point of deliberately traditional decor - facilities were all up to date and well maintained as was the building itself, although a number of older features from the date of the original build were carefully preserved.
Staff in the breakfast room were always smiley and friendly; at reception were always polite and answered questions reasonably clearly in English although not always smiley.
Highlight was piedmont style beef stew with potatoes on the roof top restaurant with view of the city on our first night - a touch on the expensive side, but was delicious. Another highlight was the room cleaning service, which was daily and excellent. Other highlights appreciated were the bathroom facilities including bidet. Although we had a bath in ours, I felt I re-discovered the pleasures of showing with their excellent fixed shower, and had only one bath. Also the free wi-fi was appreciated, we used it on my wife's iphone, although we had to get a new password every couple of days. We ate 3 nights in 2 restaurants in a nearby street with good food in one and average to good food in the other, both at reasonable prices (€40 approx for 2 with house wine or beer included).
Main negative was the city tax at the end of the stay: €30 was charged - we were not made aware of this by the commercial hotel booking site we used which implied all charges were paid for, and the hotel itself made us aware of this at the time of check out and not before.

Worth spending for one dinner on the top floor restaurant, with night lights of Rome to look over - only dont expect to see any of the monuments lit up as too many surrounding buildings around the monuments to catch a glimpse from this area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th floor facing via cavour have large French windows and a small ledge (not really a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomsdad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We checked into this hotel having left another hotel which we had been booked into by a travel company, and spent 2 nights enjoying the comfort and spaciousness of the Mediterraneo. The bedroom was large and the bathroom, which offered bath and shower was always well cleaned. The view from the 10th floor bar and restaurant was great, with fine views of the Colosseum and Vatican.
The staff were always friendly and polite, and could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was quite a feast and set us up for the day.
The location of the hotel next to Terminii station meant that it was sometimes quite a walk to see the sights of Rome, but then it always seems better to walk in Rome anyway as the traffic can be quite hectic, or of course there is the option of the Metro.

Room Tip: Away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skier0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were in Rome last fall with our two daughters and two young grandsons ages 9 and 2. We needed 2 rooms near the train station. We usually stay in the outskirts of Rome in either one of the Hilton hotels or the Eurostar and Iin central Rome at the Boscolo, but this time we needed two rooms that were close to the train station that were reasonably priced, none of our usual hotels fit the bill.
After much research we finally choose the Betojja Mediteraneo and were very please with it. It's an old hotel located on Via Cavor across the street from the main train station Roma Termini. This made catching early trains out of Rome and returning on the last train extremely convenient.
The rooms were clean and large, specially for rooms in central Rome where hotel rooms are usually smaller than what we are accustomed to. The rooms they gave us were at the end of the hallway not too far from the elevators and stairs. It was as great location to have our grand kids because we were out of the way and their youthful exuberance did not bother other guests. It also allowed us to keep our door slightly ajar so that the kids could freely go back and forth between the two rooms. The kids' room was large enough to comfortably hold 4 beds and all my daughters' luggage. The bathrooms were clean and well stocked and large enough so that my daughters could get ready in the mornings without any fuss or complaining.
The hotel staff was very helpful and cheerful. They freely handed out the pass code for the wifi which made everyone very happy and we were able to stay in touch with our relatives in the US via our magic jack phone and computers at no cost.
The breakfast buffet was very generous and filling. It served bearkfast early enough so that we were able to eat some before we had to catch our early trains out of Rome.
The hotels central location allowed us to walk all over Rome or take the Metro across the street to all of the sights. Also taxi fares from the major sights back to the hotel was very reasonable, about 10 euro from Piazza Navona or the Pantheon.
There's also a neat little terrace bar/restaurant on the roof that has wonderful views of the city. You can see the Colesseum and the Vatican.

Over all we found it very convenient and a good value. We plan to stay there again this year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Portia123Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed in this hotel and on this occasion we were accompanied by friends. Whilst the purpose of these visits is to see the Italy v England six nations rugby match it is also a good opportunity for site seeing. The hotel is ideally located close to Termini station and within easy walking distance of most of the historical sites of Rome. The rooms are spacious and clean and tidy and the air condition works! The very varied breakfast is more than you could reasonably ask for and the bar is spacious and comfotrable. Whilst the bar prices are high the waiter service is very good and friendly. The staff in reception are more than helpful and my wife and I would happily stay in this hotel again in 2 years time if England Rugby Supporters are running a trip to this venue.

Room Tip: We are yet to have a room that is anything other than very satisfactory so I have no particular sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dajtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#481 of 1,271 in Rome
551 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#95 of 1,271 in Rome
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#228 of 1,271 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Cavour 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £94 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Mediterraneo, an outstanding example of Art Decò architecture, is located in the center of Rome on top of the Esquilino Hill, the highest of the seven hills of Rome. The elegant penthouse suites of the Mediterraneo offer a unique view of the city of Rome. The Roof Garden Bar & Restaurant "La Terrazza" offers a panoramic view of Rome from its terrace. The Mediterraneo Hotel has 245 Rooms, 5 Conference Rooms, Garage, Roof Garden Bar & Restaurant, Fitness Center, Air Conditioning, TV Satellite, Minibar, Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettoja Mediterraneo Hotel
Rome Hotel Bettoja Mediterraneo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing