We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spread your internet usage”
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Genova
Ranked #468 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Spread your internet usage”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Hotel Genova is a 2min walk from the station although a few busy roads to cross. Being close to the station, makes getting to the tour bus sites which start from Termini a great convenience. The room was a fair size for Rome, good bathroom but no kettle. The breakfast starts at 7am which is a bit late if you are leaving for a tour. There is a good breakfast with an expresso coffee machine. The front desk staff were not that friendly, some were OK but some said and did the minimum. There are english newspaper at the front so look for them and they change every day. The internet is now charged, 5E for 1hr, 10E for 3hr and 20E for 24hr. If you are there for a few days, buy the 24hr package, use the internet and then log off. You can then log on the next day and keep using up you 24hr amount. It doesnt expire after the first day

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_MumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    311
    185
    69
    39
See reviews for
194
282
48
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

As mentioned in previous reviews this place has a great location, though given the size of Rome many hotels will be able to state with confidence that they are within walking distance of one of the major attractions.

The room was clean and spacious enough for our needs, I imagine most people don't go to Rome to sit in a hotel room, but if you do intend spending a lot of time in your hotel I'd imagine this wouldn't really be suitable.

I've only scored it 3 stars as breakfast was mediocre and one morning there wasn't enough seating, the drinks are quite expensive and our personal experience of the reception staff wasn't great, they weren't rude but were quite unresponsive and not worthy of 5 stars, particularly when compared with the generally excellent level of customer service we received everywhere else.

What I would recommend though is a trip to Saxon women's clothing on Via Cavour (3 minute walk from the hotel) Eric and the girls are a blast, they'll give you advice on what to wear (whether you like it or not!) and will generally make a fuss of you. Those more synical will see this purely as sales pitch, which of course it is, however we had a scream. So if you want a good laugh and some advice Gok Wan style head to Saxon.

Plenty of great places to eat nearby, didn't have a bad meal the entire time.

Regardless of where you stay in beautiful Roma you're sure to have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment, we consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad.
Our standards are typical of any four-stars hotel, so you should not compare us with a five-stars hotel.
Your point of view, about our staff, is very different compared to all the other ones that have stayed at the Hotel Genova and found our team really helpful.
We are sorry that our Hotel was not able to meet your expectations and we are at your disposal for any further observation.

Thank you once again.

Best regards
Management


Best regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed 5 days in Rome ( from May 6th to 11th ). Hotel Genova was an excellent choice for us. Rooms were comfortable, clean and have good noise isolation. Bathroom was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly, especially Elisa and Claudio (receptionists). Hotel location is excellent, situated within walking distance of the historic part of town (Colosseum, Roman Forum, Basilica of St. Maria Maggiore, Venice Square), the main railway station is close and well connected with other parts of the city. Near the hotel are many restaurants, cafes, shops (open Sundays). We like to go to a pizzeria "Strega" where excellent pizza and cappuccino are served. Rome is a wonderful city where everyone will enjoy. We recommend the hotel Genova everyone ....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the Hotel Genova for your recent visit to Rome.

We appreciate your comments and we feel very proud that our team was able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay in Rome.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel. Thank you very much for your kind consideration and generosity by mentioning the staff.

Best regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Although our stay was short, the Hotel Genova was a great choice for our family. We were centrally located, in close walking distance to many sites and to the metro, too. The rooms were immaculately clean with crisp white linens, very nice bathrooms and since we were on the top floor, we had a spacious terrace with beautiful views of the dome of Santa Maria Maggiore. The staff, including Claudio and Marco, could not have been more helpful. They even arranged for breakfast to go since we had a very early morning flight.

Room Tip: Ask about availability of the 6th floor rooms if you would like some outdoor space; the terrace was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Mr Michael,

thank you very much for your lovely review!
We are really very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property with your family, we also thank you for your additional comments about our staff.

We are definitely looking forward to welcome you to the Hotel Genova if you are back to Rome in the future.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent 3 days of family vacation time at the Hotel Genova in Rome, from July 4th to 7th. We took 2 rooms both were clean and very nice, except for one issue: the safety box on one room was locked. We reported it to the reception but it took 2 days for them to take care of the "little problem". Because of this during our first morning, while I went down for breakfast (35-45 minutes) someone must have taken Euros 90.00 from my purse. We talked to the manager Signor Giuseppe [--], and he said they had reviewed the security camara and no one entered in our room, ignoring out complain. The door was not forced and only someone with access could have opened my handbag, then open the purse that was inside and remove Euros 90.00 I had in cash. No credit cards or US cash were taken. It was clearly very convinient for the thief that the safety lock was closed and that the reception/management where unable or unwilling to correct the issue on a timely manner.
My advise: go elsewhere or never leave valuables out of your sight. All the other good things that Trip Advisor considered in offering 4+stars to Hotel Genova, go to waste when you have dishonest people with access to your room and unresponsive management.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor reviews. It did not disappoint. We had a large room that accomdated comfortably our family of four. It was very hot in Rome and the air conditioning worked very well and kept us very comfortable. Spacious and very well appointed bathroom. Despite being on a busy street our 5th floor room was very quiet. Sevice at the reception desk was excellent. It was 2 blocks from the train station. Breakfast had lots of variety and served in a nice space but quality was average.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vac2222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review and comments.
We are very happy that you appreciated our hotel and enjoyed your stay in Rome with your family.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel was excellent location & close to the train terminal. You can walk to coliseum in 10 ~15 mins. If you follow the Via Cavour walk all the way up, you can see the fountain of trevi, Spainish Steps, pantheon, etc. The hotel is a bit noisy but I like it. It can wake you up without an alarm clock. haha :-)
Front Desk staff friendly but not all friendly. Andrea was excellent & helpful.
I will give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemonkey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Genova, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing the Hotel Genova for your recent visit to Rome.
We appreciate your comments and we feel very proud that our team was able to meet your expectations and that you loved the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Genova. Thank you very much for your kind consideration and generosity by mentioning the staff.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#515 of 1,257 in Rome
504 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
#341 of 1,257 in Rome
896 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#183 of 1,257 in Rome
1,666 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#257 of 1,257 in Rome
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Property: Hotel Genova
Address: Via Cavour 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#239 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing