We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice”
Review of Tirreno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tirreno Hotel
Ranked #380 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel In Aug. 2013. The location was perfect. Quaint little street and small but affordable and delicious restaurants near by. Room was clean and Staff was excellent. Lovely breakfast area and met a few interesting travellers while sharing breakfast with them. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Would love to go back !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gypsy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

One day and one night in Rome. We (me, my wife and our kid - 11) just needed a B & B in the centre of Rome and Tirreno was a good choice! No 'activities for kids' as far as I know - but we needed none of that. The service was excellent - very helpful staff. The breakfast was also very good. The staff got us the shuttle for the airport and we were notified beforehand when that shuttle had been booked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As a first visit in Rome, we just wanted somewhere clean, affordable and central to stay. This hotel ticked those boxes. We walked to the colosseum, Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps which were all an easy enjoyable walk. If you don't fancy walking there is a metro station 5 minutes down the road from the hotel. The rooms were very basic, but at the same time clean and comfortable. This hotel is by no means luxurious but if your anything like us then your never really at your hotel. The walls are thin, we had a lot of noise from the room next door which was exaggerated by a noisy guest. All in all was just what we were looking for and would recommend if you are looking for a basic central hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrym28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband & I recently stayed at this lovely hotel. It was close to many of the things we went to Rome to see. The room was very comfortable. The front desk staff was most helpful with directions & suggestions for dining. The breakfast was excellent, and the waitress was very attentive to our needs. Just terrific!!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The building has character and charm and was clean. My room was comfortable, although on the small side. I felt the hotel was let down by its breakfast arrangements - I was one of a group of nine and when I arrived for breakfast the first morning, 15 minutes after they opened, I then had to wait another 15 minutes for the rolls and coffee to be brought, neither of which were worth waiting for. During this time I was taken to Reception and told it would be better if the whole party came down together. That night I was asked by the Receptionist to come down at 7.30 the following morning, which I did, only to be met with some consternation and puzzlement by a different waitress, and another longish delay. I imagine there was a glitch in communication somewhere, but it was unpleasant for me.

One other problem occurred with the safes in the bedrooms - despite being advertised, at least three in our party reported that there were no locks on them. On asking at Reception we were told that we could all put our stuff together in a safe at Reception if we wanted. Not good enough - if the rooms are supposed to have safes, then they should work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnolia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend visit to Roam, as we were short of time we fixed this hotel for was approach to all locations and within budget. The hotel was worth every penny spent. The property was clearly in a good location with easy approach to most attractions and also some fine Restaurants. The rooms were spacious enough and the staff at the front desk was highly helpful.
However the bathrooms were leaky and the approach to the same was awkwardly placed.The Breakfast provided did not have much choices except for some coffee and bread. We were given a room facing the streets, which made the nights disturbing with noise from nearby apartments and light of the street lamp.The property is OK for a short visit stay in Roam.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Opposite site of the street are quieter and comfortable as per fellow travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shashaz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Tirreno Hotel in Rome. We stayed there for three nights in August 2013. We found the hotel to be clean and efficient and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was a little on the small size but clean and beautifully decorated.

A bar fridge make our stay a little more comfortable and we also had the use of a balcony which allowed us to sit outside in the evenings to enjoy a glass of wine and the cool evening breeze. We had asked the hotel for a balcony and they happily obliged.

Another important factor is the hotel's location. Halfway between Rome Termini station and the Colosseum, the location is perfect. There are ample supermarkets, souvenir shops and restaurants within a comfortable walking distance and the hotel also offers free WiFi which we found most convenient.

My only criticism of the hotel, and it's a small point really, was that the breakfasts really needs to be improved. Apart from that, I would highly recommend the Tirreno Hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Rome.

Room Tip: We requested and got a room with a balcony which allowed us to sit outside in the evening to enjoy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bohanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#337 of 1,269 in Rome
423 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,030 of 1,269 in Rome
396 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#259 of 1,269 in Rome
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#294 of 1,269 in Rome
605 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#95 of 1,269 in Rome
293 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#274 of 1,269 in Rome
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirreno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirreno Hotel

Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirreno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a free Wi-Fi zone, peaceful garden and central location in the heart of Rome, Hotel Tirreno is surrounded by great restaurants, 220 yards from Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. The Tirreno is in a historic building where used to live Il Domenichino, a famous Italian painter. Completely renovated, it offers air-conditioned rooms with a TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer.A continental breakfast is served each morning and includes pastries and Italian coffee. Drinks from the bar can be enjoyed out on the grounds.Guests at the Tirreno Hotel have a tour desk and information point at reception, as well as a free luggage storage room for departure day.The hotel has great metro services on Line A and Line B as it is between the metro stations of Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tirreno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirreno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing