We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for Family Rome City Break”
Review of Tirreno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tirreno Hotel
Ranked #367 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for Family Rome City Break”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you want a boutique style hotel with chrome, designer shower gel and fake smiles, you won't want to stay here. If you want a hotel with a friendly helpful staff and clean spacious rooms that is located close to the various must-see things that Rome has to offer, then this hotel is perfect. We have two pre-teens and usually a family room consists of a large double bed for 3 of us, and a foldaway or sofa bed. Not the Hotel Tirreno - here we had a double bed, two proper single beds, and still enough room to walk around without falling over our luggage. Breakfast is continental style - bread, croissants etc - but there is enough of it to get you started on your day of sightseeing. There are restaurants within a couple of minutes walk of the hotel, and a bar on the premises for a glass of wine/cup of coffee to finish your day. Getting around Rome is easy from the hotel with several major attractions within easy walking distance, not to mention the hop-on hop-off buses only 10 minutes walk, and two metro stations within 5 minutes of the hotel.

If you want something upmarket and classy, then perhaps you won't enjoy the charm of this hotel, but if you are taking your family to explore the Eternal City, then you should seriously consider the Tirreno Hotel as your base. Having read some reviews here at TripAdvisor, I nearly didn't book this hotel, but I'm now glad I trusted my instinct, and not only would I recommend it to anyone else, my family will also stay at this hotel again ourselves when we return to Rome in the future.

The thing about TripAdvisor rating is that they want you to rate kids activities. It's a hotel, not a theme park! I can't give it 5 stars as it didn't have kids activities, but in all good conscience, I refuse to pull down the overall rating on something I don't believe it should be graded on! Therefore I have given it an average rating for this point based on the fact that kids get their own proper beds and don't need to share with parents or sleep in a put-me-up or sofa bed! I should also say that this is Rome, and by the time our boys got back to our room after a day of exploring the city, the only activity they had any energy left for was sleep!

Katie Gustafsson

Room Tip: There is an elevator in the hotel. Rooms have Internet and we found this worked good from our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieGustafsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    258
    139
    45
    18
See reviews for
164
191
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Tirreno Hotel is perfectly located between the Termini Station and the historical center of Rome. Great value for money and a friendly staff make every stay a pleasure. 2014 was already our sixth stay.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back are quieter; the rooms towards the street have a nice view. Some rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Duchless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was unfortunately the worst luck we had with a hotel, and we're generally pretty generous with our reviews. Although the hotel is located within walking distance to transit and main attractions, the immediate area really offers nothing. The wi-fi in the hotel didn't work which was a huge let down for us. When questioning the staff, they admitted that there are often problems for people with iPhones/iPads but haven't been able to resolve it. The hotel room itself was clean, but the hallways smelled of old cigarette smoke. The breakfast was terrible as others have suggested. It was a croissant and orange juice, with packaged soup crackers. We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Seemed that rooms on the lower floors, or closer to the staircase, seemed to get better wi-fi signal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowboyjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirreno, Manager at Tirreno Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are very sorry that your staying in our Hotel was so unpleasant.
Anyway advices of any kind are greatly appreciated.
The continental breakfast includes: fresh croissants, bread, all kind of jams, nutella, biscuits, crackers, corn flakes, coffee, cappuccino, tea, hot chocolate and red orange juice, very common here.I remind you this is a 3 stars hotel.
The free wifi is a TELECOM 20 mb DSL connection which works perfectly, according to the speed test made by my Iphone and Ipad the average speed is Download 15.15mbps,Upload 0.76Mbps.,too bad I can't post a screenshot.
We apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused, we are currently monitoring all day the wifi status but when there are 50 people connected at the same time the network can get slower.
The hotel is all no smoking, unfortunately many people don't respect the rules smoking despite the smoking bans around the hotel.
I'd like to have a solution for that but there's not, people should just learn to respect the common good manners.
The hotel is safely and securely located in the heart of ancient Rome in the Rione Monti
Rione Monti won’t say anything to you but it’s the name of the neighborhood you mentioned offering nothing, try to google it and you’ll realize what I’m talking about or take a simple look at the other reviews.
We’ll keep working to improve our services.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place proved to be a good hotel to see all of Rome with easy walk to central station. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel was also quiet with friendly fron reception staff. Well suited to travellers who are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The location was excellent. Neighborhood was fine. Close to nice restaurants. A couple of blocks from the Colosseum. Walking distance to the Metro. The front desk staff was friendly helpful and nice. Breakfast staff was disgruntled. Breakfast itself was poor, dry pre-packaged cookies/cereal/bars, croissants/rolls were dry. The bedroom will definetely do with new mattresses.
Recommended if you are looking for a central friendly place to stay in. The restaurant in front of the hotel serves exceptional food

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robertodur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had an excellent time in Rome and this hotel was a big part of it. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to a lot of attractions. The Colloseum is a 15 minute walk and Roma Termini is a 10 minute walk. The staff is very friendly and make you feel at home. The quadruple room was adequate for our stay. It was small but had everything we needed. The breakfast is typical continental fare but the coffee is awesome. There is a metro station 5 minutes away that will take you to the Vatican and the Spanish steps/ Trevi fountain area. Recommended if you are looking for a central friendly place to stay in. The restaurant in front of the hotel serves exceptional food as well making dinner special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank givemebreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The location was excellent. Neighborhood was fine. Close to nice restaurants. A couple of blocks from the Colosseum. Walking distance to the Metro. The front desk staff was friendly helpful and nice. Breakfast staff was disgruntled. Breakfast itself was poor, dry pre-packaged cookies/cereal/bars, croissants/rolls were dry. Coffee was awful. The rooms had 2 twin size beds pushed together, which moved away from each other every single night. Bathroom was small, odly build, shower stall was too small and was not clean (mildew around the bottom and underneath the soap dish), no place to put toiletries, Price of the hotel was fair enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#235 of 1,258 in Rome
593 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#329 of 1,258 in Rome
411 reviews
Monti
Valle Hotel
Valle Hotel
#1,024 of 1,258 in Rome
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#258 of 1,258 in Rome
1,163 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#291 of 1,258 in Rome
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirreno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirreno Hotel

Property: Tirreno Hotel
Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirreno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a free Wi-Fi zone, peaceful garden and central location in the heart of Rome, Hotel Tirreno is surrounded by great restaurants, 220 yards from Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica. The Tirreno is in a historic building where used to live Il Domenichino, a famous Italian painter. Completely renovated, it offers air-conditioned rooms with a TV and a private bathroom with hairdryer.A continental breakfast is served each morning and includes pastries and Italian coffee. Drinks from the bar can be enjoyed out on the grounds.Guests at the Tirreno Hotel have a tour desk and information point at reception, as well as a free luggage storage room for departure day.The hotel has great metro services on Line A and Line B as it is between the metro stations of Cavour and Vittorio Emanuele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tirreno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirreno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing