We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the train and buses”
Review of Hotel Patria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patria
Ranked #536 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location especilaly if ypu want to travel to another city as it is 5 minutes away from the main trains' station.
The rooms are small and we had the impression that it was not clean enough. The rooms had old furniture.
The staff was friendly and the breakfast sufficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Sorry that was not fully satisfied.
We hope he can return soon, so that they can make you change your mind.
Thanks
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Patria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We staying at the Hotel Patria during our week in Rome. It was a great location (walking distance to the Trevi Fountain and shopping) but keep in mind the rooms are small. The elevator did not reach our floor but it was charming. The rooms are sufficient for what we wanted to do. We spent most of our time sightseeing, came back for a nap, went back out so if you don't plan on staying in your room (and why would you!) then this is a reasonably priced spot.

The breakfast room is quaint but there are plenty of cafes to enjoy a cappuccino so I recommend you skip it. It's in the basement and there is just too much to see to waste your time down there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for the review,
our rooms are "TYPICAL" of a hotel in the center of Rome, considering the short time that our customers usually spend in the room.
Our breakfast offers many alternatives to cappuccino.
Hoping he would soon greet you.
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Location wise the hotel is super close to the Termini train / bus station (10 mins stroll) and within about a 20 min walking distance to the major sights. The rooms are definitely soundproofed which is brilliant as the street outside is fairly noisy. The staff are very good - friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine! They are clean and compact, equipped with a minibar and tv with BBC World news the only English speaking channel. Breakfast consisted of cereals, crossiants, buns, toast and some sliced meats etc. For UK travellers this isnt amazing but its most likely what Italians eat for breakfast so no harm at all. Lack of tea facilities was a little disappointing but tea drinking doesnt seem to be so popular in Rome. 20hrs of Wifi available to buy for €2 and 1 weeks worth for €10. To be fair, we just used the hotel to sleep in as we were out sightseeing all day & evening so for that purpose it really is a great little hotel. Had a great stay - thanks for th3 great hospitality!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purcegdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review,
we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality.
The call ourselves "it really is a great little hotel" is the best thing you could say.
Thanks and Regards.
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel was included in our cruise package at the end of our trip. Maybe we were spoiled being on a 5 star ship for 12 nights so the 3 star Patria was a bit of a let down. It's a typical small hotel down a side street in Rome's centre. Relatively close to the attractions to make it appealing to the budget traveller. We arrived early, about 10.30am and after an innitial raised eyebrow from the chap on reception, he confirmed that our rooms were ready for us. The lift goes to the 4th floor but our rooms were on the 5th (top) floor. The porter took our larger bags up and we took our smaller ones. If you find it difficult to climb stairs make sure you're on the lower floors. The rooms were small and cramped. Not much space round the beds. Our friends had a double bed which looked very small indeed. We had singles which were about 3 feet wide. All beds were hard. Nice clean sheets & pillows. Very old fashioned bedspread and flouncy curtains. The shower room was very small. The decor throughout the building was tired and very much in need of refurbishment. The breakfast room was pleasant enough with a buffet of bread rolls, toast, pastries, cheese, ham, fruit salad (tinned?) and jams.
This wasn't the worst hotel I've stayed in by far and if price dictates it's okish. I'd rather pay the extra for a more up to date hotel.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs ask for rooms up to the 4th floor. Good restaurant a few yards down th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for the review,
probably you have been assigned rooms on the 5th floor because they were the only rooms ready at 10:30 am (check-in after 02:00 pm) so as to avoid you a long wait.
Sunday is a day that typically our guests depart later.
The standard of our rooms is a 3 star hotel, probably pay the involuntary comparison with the rooms had during the cruise.
I hope that on the whole the 'Hotel you enjoyed.
Thanks and Regards
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great Hotel, very helpful reception, very central to all the places you want to visit, breakfast could be better, but overall very good. Enjoyable stay for 10 days.
I would go back at any time in the future. As overall great stay and very clean and reasonable on price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for the review.
I hope to see you again soon.
thanks
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the three star Hotel Patria for four nights. We had a room around the back of the hotel which meant we could still have the double glazed windows open at night as the city noise was not too intrusive. The room had everything we needed (apart from a soap dish in the shower) and it was clean and well serviced. We didn't hear any noise from surrounding rooms. There was a mini bar in the room which we did not use and we would have preferred tea making facilities (being typical Brits!). The breakfast choice was very good with a range of breads, croissants etc, meats, yogurt, cereals and fruit, also toast and tea/coffee which made for a good start to the day. The hotel is ten minutes walking distance from the main Terminii Rail and Bus Station and very handy for the Colisseum (20 mins. Walk) and other city centre tourist attractions.
Staff at the hotel were welcoming and friendly and we would use the hotel again if we returned to Rome.

Room Tip: Friends had a room at the front of the hotel and had to keep their windows closed at night due to ci...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendles56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for the review.
We are very pleased that our hotel was to his liking.
We hope to have you again as our guest.
Thanks and Best Regards
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I'm bummed that I can't remember his name but the tall, thin, not too much hair, young gentleman that ran the front desk in the afternoon and evening was really awesome. He answered all of our questions and helped us navigate around the city. He always had a smile and if he didn't know the answer, he looked it up on the internet for us. He made our stay a terrific one! Other than him, our stay was very average. The room was ok, pretty worn out. The breakfast was fairly good. The coffee tasted like dirty water though! I think they were trying to save money by giving you 1/2 strength coffee. All in all, for the $ we paid, it was worth it. The location was pretty good once we found it the first time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for the review.
We're glad you liked it 's welcome, I think you're talking about the legendary Dennis.
Thanks and Best Regards
Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#575 of 1,267 in Rome
317 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Elide
Hotel Elide
#550 of 1,267 in Rome
252 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#398 of 1,267 in Rome
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#858 of 1,267 in Rome
418 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#554 of 1,267 in Rome
335 reviews
Colonna
Hotel King, Rome
Hotel King, Rome
#715 of 1,267 in Rome
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patria

Address: Via Torino 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £56 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Patria is one of the 3 star hotels much appreciated by clients for the elegance of its rooms and warm hospitality. Welcoming and furnished with taste, all the rooms of Hotel Patria 3 stars in Rome have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, plasma TV, satellite TV and phone with direct line, own bathroom with shower or tub, hairdryer and courtesy kit. At our reception, available 24 hours a day, you will receive all necessary information to make your stay in Rome as pleasant as possible and you will also have the chance of booking outings and guided tours. There is also a lounge bar open from 10am until 10pm with a fine choosing of coffee, tea, soft drinks, beers, wine, alcoholic beverages, cocktails and snacks. It is possible to order breakfast and beverages from the bar directly in the room with no extra charge. Hotel Patria has a strategic position, next to a Metro station and all the main bus stops, close to Stazione Termini, an area where you can easily reach the city's most famous fun and cultural places. From the not too distant, neo-Renaissance Teatro dell’Opera, close to Piazza della Repubblica, a short distance from the hotel, you head towards famous Piazza Barberini admiring Bernini's Fontana del Tritone and the Colle del Quirinale, home of the Republic's Presidency. At less than ten minutes away, the Fontana di Trevi. In less than 15 minutes you can easily reach Colosseum, Fori Imperiali and from there also Bocca della Verità and Circo Massimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Patria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing