We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel for the budget traveller”
Review of Hotel Patria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Patria
Ranked #571 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel for the budget traveller”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for the budget traveller. Located 10 min by foot from Rome main train station Termini (express train from Fiumincino airport) or by metro (1stop) at Republica station (500 metres from it). Small but rooms are clean and have fully working airco, shower, safe and a small tv. The only downside is the wifi that is 'not' free and that's a shame cause Rome has 2 things that are not easy to find... ATM's and free-wifi spots! The Metro system in Rome is probably the worst in Europe's most visited cities (very bad connections) so be prepare to walk quiet often. Breakfast is complimentary, basic but ok. Street is quiet although located 50 metres from a main route. Staff speaks English and are friendly. Baggages can be stored. A nice ristorante (Target - NOT the supermarket ;) is located right next door (pizza/soda/dessert for +- 25€). I paid 68 € for 1 night in a single room. Overall a good value hotel within walking distance (except the vatican) of all major sights. Ciao (be aware that Rome is refreshing all of its landmarks, ALL of it, so a picture without construction works in progress is a NO)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank usfuturec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    246
    177
    48
    41
See reviews for
134
237
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here for one week in Dec 2013. The rooms are quite small but clean, and the hotel is in a great location (within walking distance to a lot of sights, but also just around the corner from the subway and bus stations). The staff are welcoming and answer any questions with a smile. The breakfast buffet was good for italian standards and had everything you needed. I would always return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife, granddaughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in the middle of February. There are good and bad reviews but overall the good ones made me choose this over some others.
The location was very central and within easy walking distance of the majority of the tourist attractions. The Metro is nearby, as is the main Termini station.
We had a triple room. We found the male receptionists to be very helpful, polite and knowledgeable.
The room itself was dated, basic and a bit tired looking. However this did not spoil our stay. Our granddaughter is almost 15 years and the single bed she was given wasn't really fit for purpose, in that it was obviously a fold up bed, low to the ground and with an uncomfortable mattress. Additional pillow were supplied within minutes of requesting them from reception.
The lift can only accommodate 4 persons but without luggage. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, although there was a mini bar!. The breakfast was more than adequate and was replenished when needed by the very pleasant and happy staff.
We took a trip to Pompeii during our stay and rather than just directing us to the pick up point, the housekeeper took us there - very nice touch.
On our last day we were able to leave our luggage secure at the hotel whilst we went into the City (we took an evening flight so that we could lengthen our stay).
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Patria and would not hesitate to recommend it or to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The breakfast is quite poor.
Rooms are not cleaned until the last day.
The reception staff speak several languages.
The location is good, close to Repubblica metro and just to 1 minute of a main avenue (Via Nazionale).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElCiddeRetiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon and thought it was a lobely hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are kept very clean. Breakfast was typical continental and the bfast room itself quaint. The rooms are small but habe everything you need in them. If you're planning on doing plenty of sightseeing then the fact the hotel is withing walking distance of pretty much everything is amazing and a small room shouldnt be a problem if youre not spending much time in it anyway! Its right by the trainstation which was great for us as we then went on to florence after our time in rome. Would definately come back to this hotel when I next visit rome..no complaints at all. You get what you pay for.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniellemorgan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks for the nice review.
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel is in an ideal location especilaly if ypu want to travel to another city as it is 5 minutes away from the main trains' station.
The rooms are small and we had the impression that it was not clean enough. The rooms had old furniture.
The staff was friendly and the breakfast sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Patria R, Direttore at Hotel Patria, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Sorry that was not fully satisfied.
We hope he can return soon, so that they can make you change your mind.
Thanks
Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#623 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Elide
Hotel Elide
#553 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Le Petit
Hotel Le Petit
#1,008 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#426 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#729 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#393 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patria

Property: Hotel Patria
Address: Via Torino 36, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #571 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Patria 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Patria is one of the 3 star hotels much appreciated by clients for the elegance of its rooms and warm hospitality. Welcoming and furnished with taste, all the rooms of Hotel Patria 3 stars in Rome have air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, plasma TV, satellite TV and phone with direct line, own bathroom with shower or tub, hairdryer and courtesy kit. At our reception, available 24 hours a day, you will receive all necessary information to make your stay in Rome as pleasant as possible and you will also have the chance of booking outings and guided tours. There is also a lounge bar open from 10am until 10pm with a fine choosing of coffee, tea, soft drinks, beers, wine, alcoholic beverages, cocktails and snacks. It is possible to order breakfast and beverages from the bar directly in the room with no extra charge. Hotel Patria has a strategic position, next to a Metro station and all the main bus stops, close to Stazione Termini, an area where you can easily reach the city's most famous fun and cultural places. From the not too distant, neo-Renaissance Teatro dell’Opera, close to Piazza della Repubblica, a short distance from the hotel, you head towards famous Piazza Barberini admiring Bernini's Fontana del Tritone and the Colle del Quirinale, home of the Republic's Presidency. At less than ten minutes away, the Fontana di Trevi. In less than 15 minutes you can easily reach Colosseum, Fori Imperiali and from there also Bocca della Verità and Circo Massimo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing