We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, nice hotel”
Review of Lirico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lirico Hotel
Ranked #221 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Ideal location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were welcomed by Tony on reception and although we were early, that was not a problem as the room was ready. He was very helpful with suggestions and directions showing everything we wanted to know on a free tourist map. We asked for a room overlooking the Opera house when we booked and were not disappointed. Room 208, although a little on the small side, was clean and well kept. Breakfast was typical continental buffet with plenty of choice. Can get quite busy but did not have to wait long for a table at peak times.
Hotel is ideally located being 5 mins walk from the main railway station and within walking distance of all attractions.
Would we stay here again....definately would.

Room Tip: We found overlooking the opera house was ideal. Got woken on the first morning though by the bin men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-and-Andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mr. Steve,
Thank you for stay with us and thank you for your good comment about our hotel and our staff.
We try to do our best to give to our guests the sensation to feel as at home; and we give them all informations to have a nice stay in a big city as Rome.
Next time you come to Rome don't forget to ask us a superior room, that are more larger and comfortable than standard rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we take this opportunity to wish all the best for you and your family.

P/c Hotel Lirico - M. Restagno

p.s. Mr Tony wants to say thank you personally to mention him in your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    579
    162
    35
    18
See reviews for
241
565
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lirico is basic. How basic? How about pulling your own luggage up the stairs. But Rome is expensive and since I wasn't shelling out $300/night, Lirico was livable for a couple of nights while we went to see the Pope and other Rome highlights. Our room was small, and again, European basic. Not comfortable but we weren't going to live in our room while in Rome and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you for the time you used for add you comment. We just want to remind that our standard rooms have a standard size as all rooms in Rome; anyway we have many rooms larger than standard and for your next reservation we will be glad to give one of this superior room without any surcharge.

Kind regards
P/c Hotel Lirico : M. Restagno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Three couples stayed here from the 20-24th of March
We went for my wife's birthday and needed a base where we could explore from
This hotel is perfect
You can get the train from the airport to termini and the hotel is less than a five min walk
It is clean and every member of staff I came into contact with was more than helpful wether it was for directions route planning , bus numbers or restaurants
I could go on but will finish with I will point everybody in the direction of the lirico if they are looking for a base where you can get to everything from, if you are looking for a romantic hotel where you will stay in most of the time look elsewhere
Thanks to you all
If I go to Rome again I will only be staying here
Cheers

Room Tip: Any really
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leelindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Hotel Manager at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review!
We are pleased to know that stay and service provided, was satisfactory
We look forward with pleasure, to welcoming you next time -
meanwhile we express our warmest regards.

Michelangelo Restagno
Hotel Lirico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel and was very happy throughout my stay. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The location was excellent - only a few minutes walk from the Termini train station, metro and buses and also surrounded by a number of bars and restaurants as well as a Carrefour Express next door for any room snacks if needed. The hotel itself was very clean, quiet and comfortable. A good breakfast to set you up for a days sightseeing and also good wifi connection should you require it. I would definitely stay here again as I felt it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear guest
First of all we want to say thank you for choosing our hotel during your last stay in Rome. We really appreciated your good review about our staff and our services, this will help us to do better our job and give the best service to our guests.
For the next time do not forget to use our special offers dedicated to the Tripadvisor users.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in your next trip to Rome we take this opportunity to wish you all the best.

P/c Hotel Lirico - Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It is a very nice hotel with frendly stuff. In good location, about 5-10 min. walk from the central train station, but not noisy, next to the Opera of Rome. I have been there twise. The only problem is, that most of the rooms are quite small and the shower tube, in the bathhroom is narrow and a litle bit unconfortable.. They serve a nice buffet brakefast.

Room Tip: rooms no. 207, 211, 307 and 311 are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yossmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Hotel Manager at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review!
We are pleased to know that you had a good stay, with us.
About the rooms, we may agree that some are not big, but are average in hotels of the same category.
Some bathrooms have been renovated recently - we hope to see you again, and give a better accommodation to you.
Kind regards.

Michelangelo Restagno
Hotel Lirico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed 6 nights in Feb/March. All the staff very friendly and surprisingly quiet location less than 10 minutes walk from Termini for arrival, metro and buses. Easy to book online and excellent, quick email communication. Room very comfortable and clean. Need to walk up a flight of stairs to get to reception, but this wasn't an issue for us. Plenty of places to eat within 5 minutes walk. Good breakfast at bargain price. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Hotel Manager at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your kind review!
it's a pleasure to know that you had a pleasent stay, with us.
Look forward to welcoming you in the future, we express our warmest regards.
Michelangelo Restagno
Hotel Lirico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked this hotel directly, which was a first, so was somewhat nervous when we arrived. However the welcome was warm and friendly and only 5 minute walk from the Termini. I had requested a room overlooking the opera square, which we were duly allocated, and met our requirements for a short break.The room was warm and spacious, although the bathroom on the small side (which i understand is usual for Italy) and the bed was comfy. All the staff were approachable and spoke excellent English,and Tony's recommendations for dining were both really good places to eat. Never rushed, or hassled. We walked everywhere during our 3 days as the Vatican is the furthest place away at just over 3kms, with the Colosseum only 1km away. The breakfast was typically continental, but enough to start the day off. We hope to return to Rome in the future, and will definitely book here again, Grazzi Team Lirico

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are a fabulous with a lovely view, and we didn't find it too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear gest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel in your last trip to Rome. We are relly happy to read your good comment about our staff and the good service you found at Hotel Lirico. We hope to see you meet you again in your next trip and, in the meantime we wish you all the best.

P/c hotel Lirico - Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#102 of 1,257 in Rome
809 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#238 of 1,257 in Rome
1,475 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#180 of 1,257 in Rome
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,257 in Rome
1,285 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#139 of 1,257 in Rome
1,272 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lirico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lirico Hotel

Property: Lirico Hotel
Address: Via del Viminale, 31 | Next to the Opera House, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Rome
#206 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lirico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lirico is located close to Termini Railways Station, next to the Opera House - on the square overlook some our rooms. These are all air conditioned and furnished with wall fabrics, private bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV Sky, safe and free WiFi access. Reception and Bar are open 24 hours. Is possible to organize guided tours, transfers fron/to Airport or Port, museums or restaurants reservations, rent a car/scooter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lirico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lirico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing