We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons of Hotel Lyrico”
Review of Lirico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lirico Hotel
Ranked #211 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There are pros and cons for Hotel Lyrico. First the pros. You can easily reach Hotel Lyrico from Leonardo da Vinci airport in Fiumicino by taking the train to the Termini station, and then walking about 15 minutes. Check the hotel's website "location" tab and you will see how. Upon arriving at Hotel Lyrico, we groaned, because there before us was a flight of steps to the second floor where the reception desk is located. However, somehow out of nowhere, a luggage man appeared to help us up the steep steps with our bags and we were directed to an elevator to take us up to our third floor room. Rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet. Plugs for charging phones/cameras/laptops seemed to be confined to the bathrooms. The BIG plus for Hotel Lyrico is that they have a luggage room. We were able to leave a couple of suitcases in storage while we spent a few days in Pisa, Florence, Venice, and Ravenna. It is Venice where you want next to no luggage, because you will have to haul it to your hotel up and down steps on bridges. The downside of Hotel Lyrico is their recommendation of a restaurant down the street if you ask for their suggestion of where to eat. Don't be tempted by the complimentary drinks! Your evening meal will end up costing you over $100 USD for two because of hidden charges. Don't get suckered in!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaubleisBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear customer,
First of all I would like to thank you for having stayed in our hotel and, as we understand from his positive review, to have found a good service.
We are really sorry for the inconvenience you have had with the restaurant, but we want to let you know that it is no restaurant which have special relationships with, and if you signaled us the name of the restaurant we will avoid recommending it to other customers.
On this occasion I wish you all the best while waiting for her again as our welcome guest.

p/c Hotel Lirico - Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

The location was great, 5 minutes from the bus station/termini station. The street was full of lovely restaurants however there was a lot of rubbish/grafitti in the area. Tony the receptionist was brilliant! He gave out very good recommendations for places to eat/drink. The rooms were really clean and a good size, however we had room 216 and had a few issues with the lock on the door which they were quick to fix. Breakfast left a lot to be desired, the first day we had stale produce and there was a lack of range of fruit! Overall though we would go back it was good value for money, however there did not seem to be any other British people staying in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyLouise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write your positive review about our hotel. We are happy that our staff was ready to meet your needs and that the room was good. In reference to the breakfast, we believe it is of good quality since we offer daily fresh fruit, and not canned fruit, also croissants, sweet pastries, 8 types of yogurt, but also salty foods like salami, ham, cheese and eggs make our breakfast something more than the standard .... but you can always improve.

In addition, the English and Usa customers, it is perhaps our greatest number of guests .... maybe stayed with us during the week where there 'was some group of other nationalities.

Waiting to welcome our guest to have you again, we wish you all the very best to you and your family.
P/cHotel Lirico - Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a truly relaxing stay in this compact and very well appointed hotel. The warmth of the welcome was as we hoped for having read reviews. Our room 315 was shining new, comfortable but lacked a chair albeit that there were cushion seats with the dressing table, a small observation. Our host Tony and his team were first class and could not have been more helpful. We accepted the offer of a welcome drink in the nearby Stregga restaurant and had dinner on the first evening, truly good food and exquisite wines suggested by the sommelier, all up 60 Euro for two. As a 3 time visitor to Rome I was delighted with the location and we walked everywhere using the map provided by the hotel. Approaching 60 neither of us found the distances a chore rather we had ample opportunity to call in to local shops with local Romans so seeing and smelling Rome as it is and not as the guides would show you. If there was one minor aspect for improvement we would prefer freshly squeezed juices in the morning, but nothing to take the shine from a great 4 days in this wonderful city with an excellent host. Tmw

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tmw315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,
What can we say except thank you for the fine words about our hotel and our staff? it was really a pleasure to do your knowledge and have been able to accommodate you. Looking forward to meeting again take the 'opportunity to wish you all the best.
P/c Hotel Lirico - Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The best attributes of this hotel are the location and the staff on the front desk. The hotel is located one street back from Via Torino close to the Basilica of St Maria Maggiore. This makes it close to all of the attractions within the city, we were able to walk to most of the attractions. Tony on the front desk was fabulous, always professional and quick with a greeting or to offer assistance.

The rooms were tidy and well presented.

Now there are some definite things to be aware of before you book this hotel.

- The hotel is on the first floor up some stairs so if you have mobility issues, you may need to consider this. While there is a lift to the rooms on the second and third floors it is a small two person lift.

- Some of the bathrooms are very small. The shower in our room was tiny. We were on the third floor in a double room. The bathroom in our daughters room, a single room on the second floor, was a reasonable size. So it may pay to enquire about the room you are booking.

- While the staff at breakfast were quick to offer you a tea or coffee, the continental breakfast was average. The croissants were rock hard.

While this Hotel was value for money, you need to be aware of its limitations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mr Steve,

First of all thank you for stay with us and for the time spent to write your review about us and our staff.
We appreciate your satisfaction about our reception and the staff. We inform you that our superior rooms are more comfortable than standard, but also the standard rooms and their bathrooms are furnished with all comforts.... but the size is not like the superior one (next time we will be glad to offer a superior room without any surcharge). We cook the croissants every morning because we know that our guests love to eat hot croissants; maybe you found it a croissant too cooked, and we really apologize for this inconvenient.
Looking forward to see you again we wish all the best to you and your family.

P/c Hotel Lirico - Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is a romantic hotel near the Termini rail station. Room was clean and quiet.
Breakfast was simple but good. Many good restaurants not too far away.
The personnel was courteous and polite.
The stair going to the office on the first floor was steep and a little bit difficult to climb with large suitcases.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Hotel Manager at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review! We are glad to know that you had good stay, in our Hotel.
We hope to see you in next occasion. Just to inform other customers - one of us is always available to give a hand with luggages, elevator start from Reception (1st floor).

We would to remind to use our Hotel offical web-site, to always have a better rates.
Thanks again and warmest regards.

Michelangelo Restagno
Hotel Lirico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As many reviews have stated, the location is great and the staff is friendly. We stayed two nights in early May 2014 and were very happy with our choice. Thanks TripAdvisor! The breakfast choices were a bit limited for non-gluten options but we managed. Our room over looked the Opera house and was quiet and clean. They have a room safe which we used and kept our bags for us free of charge on our last day in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoJoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Hotel Manager at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Ms. Jane,
we thank you very much, for your kind review!
It's always a pleasure - to know by a guest, who had a pleasent stay with us..
We hope to see you again, in the future - in a meantime we express our warmest regards,
and we remind to contact us directly, in our hotel official web-site, to always have a better rates.
Thanks, again.

Michelangelo Restagno
Hotel Lirico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was a perfect location and very close to the train station (<5min walk)! Tony was so welcoming and accommodating that you feel comfortable immediately. He was very helpful with directions and great places to eat and ensured perfect timing for pickup to the airport. We only stayed one night but I would have stayed longer. We did have trouble getting the luggage up the stairs as there was 7 of us (3 of which packed a ton, lol), however once the bell boy knew we were there he ensured that our luggage was placed in our room. The rooms are a little small but very clean and beautifully decorated. Our room was on a pretty busy road, however when the windows were shut we didn't hear anything and the beds were comfortable and firm. The breakfast was a great layout as well which was standard for Italy but complete with boiled eggs, meat, cheeses, fruit, rolls, ext. This is a perfect location spot and within walking to train station and Colosseum, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and Pantheon. Any questions, just ask and thanks again to Tony for being so Awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Hotel Manager at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your accurate and kind review!
We are glad to know that you had a good stay with us, even only for one night..
Hope to see you in the future, in meantime we would to remind to contact us directly - to always have a better deal.
We express our warmest regards, also by Tony!

Michelangelo Restagno
Hotel Lirico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#237 of 1,272 in Rome
1,566 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#145 of 1,272 in Rome
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#369 of 1,272 in Rome
1,065 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,166 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#460 of 1,272 in Rome
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lirico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lirico Hotel

Address: Via del Viminale, 31 | Next to the Opera Theatre, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £50 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lirico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lirico is located close to Termini Railways Station, next to the Opera House - on the square overlook some our rooms. These are all air conditioned and furnished with wall fabrics, private bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV Sky, safe and free WiFi access. Reception and Bar are open 24 hours. Is possible to organize guided tours, transfers fron/to Airport or Port, museums or restaurants reservations, rent a car/scooter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lirico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lirico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing