We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a real let down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edera Hotel
Ranked #780 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a real let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

On a positive note this Hotel is in a great location. Close to The Colissuem, train station, and we found a couple of nice restaurants close by. Bathrooms are very nice, our top floor room was quiet. The entrance from the street is appealing, however once inside the doors it all goes to hell in a handbasket. Staff are indifferent, there is no bar, the area is there and very dirty but not a bar any longer. Workmanship throughout is very diy, not at all clean, anywhere. Breakfast was awful. There was a tourist book in the lobby that was so old prices were quoted in lires, and changes were made to info by crossing out the old and writing in the new info. When pointing this out to staff, the answer was "it's old" - an understatement. A big thumbs down to this hotel. I will never recommend it or stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    126
    111
    40
    48
See reviews for
59
136
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Edera for 4 nights. Our room was a normal size room for Europe, meaning adequate for two people with two twin beds pushed together, a small table and armoire with nice wallpaper. My only compliant about the room is the air conditioner after being on most of the night started to drip onto the bed. We told the staff in the morning and they asked why we ran the AC! Because the room was too warm to sleep in and leaving the window open invited mosquitos. They said they would take care of it. The next night we did leave the window open, but the third we needed the AC again. It wouldn't turn on. The night manager said they turn off all the AC this time of year and I guess that is common. They did turn it on for us and again, we had dripping from the condensation.
The bathroom was very nice with tile. There were a couple of oddities, including a plastic stool as a toilet paper holder, a really cheap looking plastic waste basket and a plastic tub insert rather than a ceramic tub. Tub faucets could use some polish and hiding the sink pipes would make the bathroom better.
Breakfast was good with cold cuts, rolls, jams, jellies, etc. It was nice to see hard boiled eggs. Although overcooked (green ring around the yolk that is easily prevented) and presented strangely. Kind of tossed on a plate with squirts of mayo across them.
The local was great. Near enough to walk to a lot of restaurants and the coliseum. Some staff members were friendlier than others.
Overall a good value and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skisrxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Edera Hotel is in a great location. It's a ten minute walk from the train station (so don't get conned by a taxi driver, like I did, who tells you it's going to cost 20 euro to get there) and a five minute walk through lovely gardens to the Coliseum. There's also metro station right across from the Coliseum which is very easy to navigate. The hotel itself is lovely and the staff are very polite. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are quite large with lovely marble vanities. The rooms have air conditioning which you will be grateful for in the middle of summer. Breakfast is included and there is a good selection of pastries, cereals, breads and meats and cakes. I have already recommended the hotel to a work colleague and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lexy66NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Good location, subway very near. Only fourty minutes from airport. Spent two days here. Room was spacious. Very nice balcon. Beautiful view of Rome Price was ok. Ok breakfast . Nice bathroom. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Edera for a bit less than a week with our school group.
The rooms were cozy, but they had only one key to each room, so splitting up is hard.
The location of the hotel is great, near to Colosseum. There is no subway station near to the hotel, the walk is something between 1.5-2 kilometers.
Breakfast is quite modest, they only have basic stuff there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKankaanpaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel was really cosy and pleasant. Its best feature is its close location to the Coloseo and the magnificent adjacent park. The Termini station is also quite close - 15 minutes walking distance and still the Edera hotel is not in the unpleasant neighbourhood surrounding the Termini station.
I really adored the breakfast - it was quite abundant. The cleaning was superb. We had our room cleaned each morning. The reception personnel was amicable overall. Our room was small and a bit dark because of the shutters but it had air-conditioning and the bathroom was quite big and recently renovated.
However, what I did not like is the fact that they lie in terms of the price as most Italians, I guess. We made an online booking for a double room for 4 nights (city tax included) for the price of 260 euros and then on departure we had to pay 276 euros because it turned out that the city tax is not included in the offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

No tea making facilities in the room which contradicts the sumptuous breakfast provided - cereals, yogurts, fruits, meats, breads, sweet cakes etc.
The room was small however adequate for our 3 night stay.
The bathroom was recently refurbished, very clean. Large white bath towels.
No air conditioning.
Service attendant when checked in very gruff, next morning attendant much nicer and helpful.
Close to all sights but do not expect views from your window.
This is basic accommodation, however quite good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warners1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#900 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Esquilino
Siviglia Hotel
Siviglia Hotel
#961 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Monti
Gallia Hotel
Gallia Hotel
#753 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Viminale
Hotel Viminale
#890 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#348 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Hotel San Giusto
#1,106 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edera Hotel

Property: Edera Hotel
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano 75, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #780 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Edera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Edera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edera Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing