We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very friendly staff”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, from the minute we entered the front door we were treated really special. When we checked in we were asked if we would like a drink(tea/coffee,wine etc) this was brought to a lounge area, while the porter took our cases to our room. Then the receptionist showed us to our room, nothing was too much bother for the staff as we were enquiring about restaurants etc, they were extremely helpfull. Breakfast was very adequate sausages/bacon/egg/ham/chesse/fruit/cereal etc, rooms were small but we have stayed in smaller in europe, could not fault this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it or staying in it again., It is very handy to Cavour station, but within walking distance from Termini

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent a long weekend in Rome at the Duca d'Alba Hotel and were positively impressed. I checked tripadvisor before booking the hotel, but the reality is even better than the reviews. The hotel is centrally located at just 5min walking distance from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Closeby there's also a subway station so we didn't have to use any taxi or car during our stay. Our room was furnished in an elegant way and all included services were absolutely brilliant. The hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful setting up a special dinner for our wedding anniversary. The price for our stay was very reasonable and included an excellent breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darioush_Afzali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Guided by the reviews on tripadvisor we booked a three night stay at Duca d'Alba. We were not disappointed. The hotel is easy to reach from Termini station, on foot or one stop by subway. It lies in a small street, just behind the busy Via Cavour, very close to mayor sites like the colosseum and the Forum. We stayed in room 107, with a window facing the street. The room is small, but everything we needed was there, and it was decorated just like in the pictures on the hotel website. The windows were perfectly sound proof, necessary because of the pub on the other side of the street. I booked the room through their website, receiving a discount when paying in cash at arrival. I payed the day after we arrived and received a proper receipt. The price was very reasonable for a hotel in Rome and included a, especially for a southern european country, excellent breakfast. I would definitly recommend this hotel, especially for a first time stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was our fourth stay at this hotel which we found by chance a few years ago and is the only place I would consider staying in Rome now. With hotels in Rome you so often do not get what you pay for and I have come away disappointed from stays in supposedly five star accommodation.

This little hotel is only a couple of hundred yards from the Cavour metro and five minutes walk to the Colliseum. It is in an area where lots of Romans live and so has very well priced, excellent bars and restaurants around it where you won't be just surrounded by tourists and rip off prices. Try Il Covo just around the corner, Wanted or Osteria al 16 for starters and you won't go far wrong.

The hotel is constantly updating the rooms and prides itself on friendly service. Our room this time was on the second floor and was somewhat larger than the room with balcony that we had on the 4th floor last visit. Bathrooms are very well done and bed linen crisp and clean. The rooms are reflected very well on the hotel website and are a true reflection of what you will get-very boutique in style. Breakfast is more than adequate and is included in the rate which is not the norm for hotels in Rome. There is no lunch or evening meals served but all the local bars and restaurants are open all hours and you can fall out the door and find somewhere to eat.

Book direct with the hotel website being carefull not to be caught out by what looks like the official website from booking companies. I was almost caught until I noticed it did not say offical hotel website. You can get good deals if you book in advance and agree to pay cash on arrival. If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back of the hotel or in the annexe next door. Annexe rooms are very much cheaper although again I do not know why-they are much bigger than the main hotel rooms and have very large bathrooms and lovely decor too. The annexe is literally two steps from the front door and the entrance stair case is lovely. This is not an area for great views as the Via Leonina is tucked away behind the Via Cavour but this hotel is great in every other way-just walk 50 yards down to the corner where one of the best piazza places in Rome 'Wanted' is and look up and you will see the Colliseum. Best of all you are away from the more polluted main roads.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one in the back or in the annexe. If you want to look out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bladesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

It's a small and charming hotel. Like the streets of Rome. The room was beautiful and confortable and the team make you feel special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. It had deteriorated. Rooms were dirty. On our second night, we discovered bedbugs in both our rooms, our adult daughters and ours. Run away from this hotel, as we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Client, I am sorry that you did not like your second stay in my hotel. Unfortunately, the inconvenience occurred was caused by the flower boxes placed under the windows of your rooms. The bugs that you found, in fact, came from the outside, just from those plants that were diseased and had been infested. We immediately cleaned the rooms, we removed the flower boxes and in any case we treated all plants of the hotel with specific products as a preventive measure. I can assure that the problem has been permanently removed, and that will never be repeated. I apologize again for the inconvenience and I hope that you will come back.
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ok well this Hotel is perfect for couples or small groups of people. At the moment they are renovating the loby/receiption but this does not take away from the excellent service provided by the staff. They are warm and very helpful....nothing too much trouble. The breakfast was great....although i did see a group of 6 try to sit together which was near impossible which is why i say that the hotel is perfect for couples or small groups. The room we were given 104 was very small no room to swing a cat) and no views at all. but again suitable for what we needed and very clean. I would stay here again - no question.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#74 of 1,271 in Rome
215 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
985 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#134 of 1,271 in Rome
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,541 reviews
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#275 of 1,271 in Rome
1,705 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing