We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #143 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from the 19th August'13 until 22nd August'13.
We had our honeymoon here and I can't fault anything. The hotel is in a very good location. It's in walking distance to lots of things. There is an underground train station actually on the same street as the hotel (60 second walk) and the colloseum is round the corner (5 min walk).
There is bars,shops,church,restaurants all within a 2min walk frawom the hotel. We jumped on the underground one day to go to the Vatican. It took only 20 min from leaving our hotel to arriving in the town of the Vatican. We regret not going to trevvi fountain,we ran out of time. Rome is quite expensive,we payed roughly £6/7 pound for a pizza but the most expensive thing was the alcohol,always ask to look at the wine/beer menu before entering a restaurant. You can pay up to £8 for a glass of wine and beer.
I'd definitely go back to this hotel,the breakfast was continental with a small option of Bacon and scrambled egg.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guests,
many thanks for the nice comments you left on this page. We are happy to know that you are keeping good reminds of your Honeymoon and we are part of this reminds!
Thanks for appreciating our exceptional location that is walking distance from the most important sites of Rome, Colosseum, Roman forums entrance as well as Trevi fountain, Venice Square, Spanish steps, Navona Square, Pantheon and others.
Our neighborhood is very nice an full of live also during the night with its, bar, pubs, restaurants and typical tabernas.
Thanks again for appreciating our service and our staff, we hope to welcome you again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next booking or you can check directly on our website the best offers available.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    439
    89
    41
    20
See reviews for
157
575
59
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was a great little hotel in a good location (5 minutes' walk from the Colosseum and Roman Forum). The neighbourhood is good, and it's close to the subway (which is easy to use).

Customer Service is great; they're aiming for 5-star service, but don't have 5-star amenities (that's not meant as a criticism, it's just a small hotel, without a gym, pool, restaurant, or proper bar, etc). Their English is great. Room was good (we had a Superior room so it wasn't too small) and kept clean. Mini-bar was reasonably priced (I usually stay away from these, but this one was okay after hours spent on our feet each day!). Wi-fi worked well for the most part (but only in your room). Breakfast was mediocre but the service was prompt and there was never any problem getting seated immediately.

As an aside, we had one of our nicest nights in Italy -- which felt like a real Italian experience -- when we bought pizza from a nearby pizzeria (Pizzeria Leonina) and sat by a fountain on Via Dei Serpenti (at the bottom of the road, to the right). We bought a bottle of wine from a shop on the piazza there, which uncorks them and provides plastic glasses if you want. There's also a gelateria there. It was a very chill night, with lots of Italians sitting around the fountain chatting. It had the added benefit of being a very cheap way to spend an evening, without the fuss of waiters, etc. (It's also ten-times better and cheaper than easting at "Wanted", which is at the bottom of the road and to the left.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here four 4 nights with my girlfriend. Customer service is exceptional. When entering the rooms It is exactly as I expected. Nice size room and clean. The cleaning service is exceptional although the towels and cloths feel like table napkins. Wifi works very well. All in all I would recommend this hotel although there are four stars right beside which provide better rooms (Palatino).

Room Tip: Second floor is a bummer with a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Great little hotel in a superb location. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a double and twin room next to each other on the 2nd floor. Twin room was slightly smaller but didn't cause a problem. Both rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided.Breakfast as described and adequate. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiemdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel was exactly what we expected. Not 5 star, but definitely adequate for our 4 days in Rome. The room was small, but had enough space in the large wardrobe for our clothes (2 people). Furnishings were adequate, just like the pictures. Staff at the front desk we found to be very friendly and helpful, unlike some other reviews. They weren't so great with restaurant recommendations, so come prepared with ideas or ask someone else. Breakfast had a decent continental selection and breakfast staff were very friendly. Wifi worked fine. We were in the regular building, not the annex. Fantastic location close to the Colesseum and Cavour subway. Although the distance to other major sights was not far, be prepared for hills. Hallway decor was a bit outdated, but we don't really care about that.

Only complaints about the hotel:
-As with most Italian hotels, you have to be in the room with your key for the electricity to work, which means that the a/c was off all day. Difficult to come home exhausted to a hot room. Room never felt cool the entire time we were there. Staff did come and adjust the temperature for us, though.
-Bathroom is extremely poorly designed. Sink is behind the door and the biday (sp.?) is in the middle of the doorway. If the sink was repositioned and the biday removed, it would be much better. Shower size was fine. Towels were great, though.
-Elevator was excrutiatingly slow (maybe it felt slower because it wasn't air conditioned).

If you can deal with that, the hotel was a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juvesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Firstly, to start with, this hotel is in the perfect location for a host of attractions. The Roman Forum and Colosseum are just, at most, a 5 min walk away. It is also so easy to get to when you first arrive.At the Metro, get on the Line B track and get off at the first stop (Cavour). Step out of the Metro and cross the road as if you are heading for the other side of the Metro and go down the stairs.The hotel is about 20 yards down to your left.( Metro is only one and a half Euros). The hotel is on a quiet side street but has plenty of Trattoria's and little shops around. There is also an Irish pub across the road from the hotel door.
The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and our room was ready before the 2 o'clock check in. We were shown to our rooms, which were in the annex, by the maid. The annex is part of the same building but you have to go out the main reception door and in another door. I have to say that the room was small but was big enough for our needs. Quite sure you will be out sightseeing all day and not sitting in your room. The bathroom was quite large and had a bath and overhead shower. The air conditioning!!!! On the first night the air conditioning worked great and i had to turn it off during the night., which is how it should work but on the second night it started to blow warm air around one in the morning. I ended up sitting out in the corridor to try to cool down and my wife went down to reception around four in the morning to complain. Reception couldn't help until the day shift arrived. We were moved room on our third day into the main hotel. Again the room was small we we haven't got a problem with that. At least we got a decent sleep that night.
All the hotel staff were friendly and very pleasant. Breakfast was good. It isn't a full English but there is bacon, scrambled egg and sausage along with a full continental breakfast which is only to be expected.
If i was coming back to Rome, which i certainly hope to do at some point, i would stay in this hotel again. If you are looking for a big fancy hotel, find somewhere else but this hotel is easy to find, in a perfect location and small but very friendly and spotlessly clean. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikseybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is in an adorable little artsy neighborhood on a quiet alley and entirely walking distance to all the famous sites. We stayed 2 nights there and had a great time. The fact that it is set back in the alley is ensures that the hotel is surprisingly quiet. My parents had a room that looked right over the alley and even on an insanely busy Saturday night, they barely heard anything! The rooms were a little small but honestly had more than enough space for 2 people to hangout and get ready comfortably. The bathrooms were newly appointed, had ample hot water, and were fairly spacious. The air conditioner worked fine, but it would only turn on if you left the key in the slot in the room, so if you leave for the day, it can be a bit hot when you get back. You can get around this by asking the front desk for an extra key and they will let you leave the extra key in the room while you are out so that the air stays on while you are gone. The best part about the whole place is that you are only about 2 blocks from the Colosseum, a 15 min walk from Piazza Navona and the sites around there, and maybe 30 min walk from the Vatican. There are a lot of great restaurants in the area too!

In summary:
Pros - great pillows, mostly friendly staff (see cons), quiet, great location, well decorated and nicely appointed fixtures and linens
Cons - there was one front desk worker who was clearly making an effort to be polite, the beds were a bit hard, they didn't clean/make-up our room while we were out the second day

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#87 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#105 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#291 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Property: Duca D'Alba Hotel
Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#83 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing