We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfortable bed, great breakfast & service”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #153 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
261 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Excellent location, comfortable bed, great breakfast & service”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our room had no view and was at the back of the hotel, but to be honest the peacefulness of this location more than made up for the lack of view.

The rooms are compact, but the bed is big and comfortable, we had a very small (tiny) inner courtyard terrace so we could open the French doors to enjoy the fresh air, and the bathroom is clean and modern with a nice walk in rainshower shower and hand held spray shower.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with a nice choice of traditional local foods, cold cuts and cheeses, hot scrambled eggs and bacon and tomatoes, fresh fruits, coffee cakes, yogurts etc if you went away hungry from this buffet you have to be extremely fussy!

From the moment we arrived, all the staff are friendly and helpful, especially as we arrived well before check-in.

On departure they will organise a transfer if requested in advance (50 Euro for a private transfer in a Mercedes to the Airport); and if you pay your room bill in cash, you get a 10% discount.

We would happily return here as it is so easy to walk everywhere, and minutes away from the hotel are bars and eateries for the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back for a good nights sleep, but no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guests,
many thanks for sharing your experience of stay at the Duca d'Alba Hotel!
As you told we have outside rooms facing the street and inside rooms on the back of the building facing an internal courtyard which are very quiet.
All our rooms in any case are comfortable and modern, have inside bathroom and shower stall and hairdryer.
We are very proud of our buffet which proposes a wide choice of food hot an cold, in order to meet the taste of travellers coming from any part of the world that have to face the visit of one fo the most famous capital city, rich in art, history and religious places of interest.
Thanks for appreciating the welcome of our staff, they do their best to help the guest to organize their stay here giving suggestions; luckily our position, as you wrote, is really excellent to visit Rome as we are few minutes away from the main well known tourist sites.
Morover in our lively neighborhood full of typical taverns, bars, pubs and restaurants is very pleasant and relaxing to walk also during the evening and night.
We hope to welcome you back again, please do not hesitate to visit our official web page for your next stay, you will find many different offers to book.
Warm regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    453
    96
    42
    20
See reviews for
165
598
61
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional and the rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The location is an easy walk to the Colosseum, the subway station and many wonderful restaurants. The breakfast brunch was delicious and a wonderful way to start the day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Ms Michelle,
many thanks for the time you spent to write some nice words regarding your stay with us. Thanks for pointing out the wonderful location where we are at walking distance from Colosseum, Roman Forums a other major and very famous places of interest.
Yes our nice and rich breakfast is thought to allow our guest to start the day in the best way as there are thousands places, museums, tourist sites etc... to see all day long!
Thanks also for appreciating our service and the cleaness of our rooms, we are proud of our staff for their experience, kindness and hospitality.
We hope you will come back again! For your next stay you can give a look to the different special offers that you will find on our Official website.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The staff were friendly and polite. The rooms were clean, well decorated.
The Hotel is located within close distance of the colosseum and most other sights.
There is a subway station 200 meters away from the hotel, making the rest Rome very easily accessible.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Leeaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest
thanks for the comment you left and for appreciating our nice and welcoming staff, our strategic location within walking distance froom the main sites and our rooms.
We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us and hope to welcome you again!
For your next stay you can give a look to our Official website where we always publish special offers and packages.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higganum, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent a wonderful fall weekend in this stylish, elegant and very comfortable hotel located in a lively neighborhood, convenient to important sites of ancient Rome (5 minute walk to the Colosseum!) as well as the Metro. The staff were professional and attentive to every need. The extensive breakfast included homemade pastries, American favorites like scrambled eggs and bacon, fresh local fruit and even some tasty surprises. The room was well-equipped with plenty of plugs, good lighting, nice big flat screen tv, very comfortable bed, AC, and a luxurious marble bathroom with the finest amenities. The free wifi worked throughout the hotel thanks to multiple routers, something we have not found anywhere else in Italy. There is an elevator to all floors including the exercise room. Could not have picked a better place to enjoy our Roman holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for the nice comment you left regarding your stay with us, we are glad to know that you have been enthusiastic about our wonderful position, either for the neighborhood so full of life and tavernas, bar and typical restaurants, then for the proximity to the Colosseum, Roman Forums ant other wellknown tourist sites.
Thanks for having appreciated our buffet breakfast, we do the best satisfy our guests and nothing is better then a good and rich breakfast to start the day walking through our wonderful City!
Thanks for appreciating our Wi-fi, we are happy because we recently enhanced and increased the access points to give a excellent service though we are in a historical area and all buildings have got thick walls. Regarding the exercise room you mentioned, we have to inform you that from now and on it will not be available as we are going to do some works.
Thanks again for choicing us for your stay in Rome and hope to welcome you again! On our Official Website you will alway find some special offers.
Warmest regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Rome! From the second we arrived, we had the most amazing experience of our entire honeymoon at Duca D'Alba. The ENTIRE staff was so welcoming, friendly, and helpful- from people at the front desk, to the staff in the breakfast room- can not say enough how great they were. We arrived in Rome from Florence quite early- around 10 am, and surprisingly, they had a room ready for us and checked us in then and there! Certainly something that can't be expected, but it was MUCH appreciated that they let us check in before the set time since a room happen to be ready for us. We stayed in the separate part of the hotel (they have rooms in the same building as the lobby, and then there are other rooms next door) which ended up being a good choice- it was unique, quiet, and had character, which I enjoy. The walls were done in a striped satin, and the ceiling was wood. The bathroom was done in stone, and there was a amoire and desk next to the very comfortable bed. They're smaller rooms for sure, but typical for Rome and they had everything we needed.
Location really can't be beat. There is lots of local food options up and down the street, which is great when it's 9pm, you're hungry and you don't want to walk anymore because you've been walking all day. The metro station is a two minute walk from the door, and the Colosseum is about a ten minute walk away.
I could write a book about the breakfast experience here at Duca D'Alba. First of all, it's complimentary, which we didn't have in any of the other 6 hotels we stayed at through Europe. Now when breakfast is free, honestly, I don't expect too much. Now, free breakfasts have a LOT to live up too!! They had eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, bruchetta, cakes, croissants, bread, mozzarella balls, yoghurt, salami, prosciutto, cheese, cereal, milk, apple juice, orange juice, tea, coffee............ We are not breakfast people, that is, we don't get up early enough for breakfast. ever. We got up and had breakfast every. single. morning. For six days straight.

We highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting Rome. For it's price point and what you get, I don't think it can be beat. To the staff at Duca D'Alba- thank you so much for a wonderful stay. It was the perfect way for us to end our honeymoon through Europe!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guests
many many thanks for the nice words that you spent to describe your stay in our hotel, we are very happy to know that in you 'Honeymoon Reminds' the is a small place for the Duca d'Alba Hotel, too!
Thanks for appreciating our welcome, our staff do the best to satisfy our guests when it's possible, our checkout time is by 12.00 that's why the checkin normally is made after 2.00 pm but in case we have an early departure and the next guest arrives in the morning, we are happy to give the room if available and ready. We are also glad to know that you appreciate the rooms that we have in the Annex building, yes they are quite and comfortable.
The Hotel location is really unique as you wrote, at walking distance of the main world wellknown places of interests.
We are very proud of our breakfast, as it proposes a wide choice between hot and cold food and fresh fruit and bread and we are glad that you also could appreciate it all days!
Thanks once again for having chosen our hotel to celebrate your Honeymoon in Rome and for your next stay we suggest you to book one our four special offers that you will find in our Official Website.
Looking forward to welcome you again!
Warm regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate my 30th birthday and the success of her tv show HIT THE FLOOR. It was the first stop on our vacay and generally our first international hotel. We absolutely loved it. Mind you it is small, but it is very clean, modern and centrally located. Right by the metro and legit 5-10 minute walk to the colosseum and trevi fountain. Stafe was nice and by far the best breakfast provided at any of our hotels. I was obnoxiously obsessed with the bruschetta they had in the morning. People made it sound like there was barely anything available for breakfast. Ummm eggs, meat, waffles, pastries, juices, water fruits….Im confused were they expecting gold laced eggs and hash browns. More than enough to get you through the day. In conclusion this was a legit highlight of the hotels that we stayed at. To be honest Im a snot and I have high expectations with hotels. I was happy here as was my wife.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guests,
many thanks for the nice comment you left on your stay in our hotel. We are happy to know that we have been a Highlight of your stay, it's very important to us that you keep good reminds about us as it means that our efforts have been appreciated.
As you told our location is superb as we are as walking distance from Colosseum, Roman Forums, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Patheon and many other sites, while the Metro stop is only 30 metres from the hotel and brings you everywhere.
Thanks for appreciating our buffet breakfast proposing hot and cold drinks as you have well described and the 'bruschetta' (toast bread with dressed fresh tomatoes) is part of the typical italian cuisine, cannot miss the fresh fruit, we are in Italy!
Our staff always assure a warm welcome as we are a family hotel and do the best to help the guests during their stay.
We would be happy to welcome you again, for your next reservation please see our best offers that you will find on our Official Website.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice hotel in a nice location. We had a room for three that was very large, clean, and well- equipped. The room (and the hotel in general) looked rather new. They also have a big apartment that is an excellent alternative for families or group of friends.
Breakfast was very good. Personnel at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. They really make a difference.
The hotel was a bit expensive, but considering this is Rome...well, it was reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italy_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for the review you have left. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Duca d'Alba Hotel, thanks for appreciating our rich buffet breakfast proposing a wide choice from hot meals (scrambled eggs with bacon and tomatoes with wurstel) and cold (ham and cheese, fresh fruit, fresh bread and toast bread, marmelade, honey, cereals, pies and croissants and other...). As you could verify our staff is very kind and helpful, their task is to make your stay as comfortable as possible, they really make the difference.
The location is our best feature, so close to theh Colosseum and Romas Forums, you are at walking distarnce from the main places of interest and the area where we are is very typical with its trattorias, bars and pubs is full of life even at night.
Regarding our rates, the months of September and October is very very high season in Rome as April, May and June, but if for your next trip to Rome you will check our website, you will find and choice among many special offers that will grant you some discount.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#99 of 1,257 in Rome
815 reviews
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#304 of 1,257 in Rome
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,257 in Rome
2,437 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,257 in Rome
2,599 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Property: Duca D'Alba Hotel
Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing