We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel offering excellent value and convenient location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #144 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming hotel offering excellent value and convenient location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in the "annex"; room C2. It felt like we had our own small apartment in the heart of Rome. Accommodations included an excellent bed and pleasant, new bath. Our room included the breakfast buffet which provided a wide selection of good quality food. Hotel is a short walk to sites of the antiquities and many great places to eat. Also very close to Metro. We would strongly recommend the Hotel Duca d'Alba.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELDorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    438
    89
    41
    20
See reviews for
157
574
59
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Pros: Location, Modernized Rooms, Staff very accommodating.
Cons: Not really a con, but make sure you don't get the older room.

As I was staying for 5 nights, I really wanted to stay in a good room; I had to switch room after the first night.

The first room that I got was rather dated. It was on the top floor with an outdoor terrace which would have been nice if it wasn't raining. The interior is old and dusty at some nooks and crannies parts of the room. The TV remote has never been cleaned, extremely sticky and dusty...

Double checked with the photos on the hotel's website and realized I needed a change. Went down the next morning. Staff was very accommodating and let me chose between 2 rooms; I picked the one which matches the photos from the website, and facing down on the street. This new room was very modern and clean just as depicted in the photo. Even though it was right on top of the street, it was still very quiet with the windows closed.

So beware, get the renovated rooms. Looking at all the other reviews, looks like everyone got to stay in the modernized room. So maybe I was really unlucky at first.

Room Tip: 201, fully modernized, sits right above the lobby and facing the streets, but still very quiet 202...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Duca D'alba is a hotel I would most DEFINITELY recommend to everyone visiting Rome. My boyfriend & I stayed here for 4 nights over Valentines. Our room was in the Annex which for us was perfect - private & very romantic. The room itself was a perfect size for a couple, beautifully decorated, clean & had everything one could possibly need.

One evening after a long walk we bought back some pizzas and forgot drinks, the fridge in our room had a wide selection of different drinks and the best thing? Super cheap too! Shop prices and not over charged like other hotels I've stayed in before!

The shower was amazing.

Don't even get me started on the location because it couldn't be more perfect. Literally 1 min walk from Cavour metro, 5 mins walk from the colosseum, 15 min walk to Trevi fountain. Basically we didn't use any public transport during our stay. The Vatican is about a 45min walk but on your way there there's beautiful coffee shops and so much to see. Termini station is in walking distance too.

The restaurants around the hotel are PERFECT. "Coscio" right behind the hotel was our favourite and not over priced.

Huge high five to the staff too who were so friendly and eternally helpful. Breakfast was the only reason why I got up before 10am too ;) .

Can't wait to stay here again in he future. Thank you so much for an unforgettable stay :)

Tess x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks so much for choosing Duca d'Alba Hotel for your romantic stay in our wonderful city and for the nice comment you left.
I have been very glad to know that you appreciated our rooms in the Annex building, all those rooms have been recently renovated with original wooden ceiling and tuscany terracotta floors. They are located just nextdoor, about 10 metres from the main entrance of the hotel, but they are really nicely decorated and warm.
Thanks for pointing out the excellent location of our hotel, just a short walk away from the Colossum, Roman Forums, Venice square, Trevi fountain, Spanish steps as well as Navona square and the Pantheon. As you could see the neighborhood is really delicious, too, so full with small bars, pubs, tabernas, cafeterias, several restaurants proposing from the local traditional cuisine to the national and international one.
We noted your kindness in appreciating our full buffet breakfast with a wide choice of hot and cold dishes and our staff all, very helpful and available to give any kind of suggestions.
Thanks really so much for your words, we hope to have you again among our best guests.
For your next stay you can choice on our official web page the best offer available,
warm regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Duca D'Alba. Having arrived on an early flight and leaving on a late flight the ability to leave luggage in secure room was a great bonus. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially when I had issues with the safe.
We had a room in the annexe which was very quiet but be aware there is stair access to these rooms. The breakfast was comprehensive with cold and warm foods, fruits, breads and as much tea and coffee as you can drink.
The location couldn't have been better as its round the corner from the Colosseum and most places within a 15 minute walk. We walked everywhere including to the Vatican which took about 30 mins.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks for leaving your nice comments on this website. We are glad to receive another good review for our rooms in the Annex building that is only 15 metres from the hotel, all rooms have been recently renovated and are very nice with all comforts of the hotel rooms. You are correct, there is one long flight of stairs to the elevator at the first floor, but we clearly wrote this on all the websites that represent us and we also put a photo of the stairs, just to be sure that everyone is aware while booking the rooms in Annex.
Thanks also for the nice words you spent for our staff all and for the rich buffet breakfast that we offer. As you could see our location is one of the best peculiarity, in the very heart of Rome just a short walk to the Colosseum, Roman Forums, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Navona square and Pantheon.
We are looking forward to welcome you again. On our official website you will find our best offers.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Duca D'Alba and had a fantastic time. What made this hotel so great for me was the helpful and friendly staff. They were all fantastic however, Elisa, at the reception desk constantly went above and beyond to help us. The hotel is in a good location, walking distance to most of the major attractions (colosseum, pantheon, roman forum, trevi fountain and Spanish steps - as well as termini train station). The rooms were an average size for Europe standards, but exceptionally clean and well presented. Breakfast was lovely. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks for sharing your experience on this website. I am happy to see your very nice comment about our staff, we are proud of them all as we work all together to assure our guests the best statisfaction and the much comfortable stay, so we reached our goal.
As you could see, our location is ideal as we are in the very heart of Rome and every tourist site is reachble at walking distance. Thanks for appreciating our buffet breakfast, the buffet is very rich within hot and cold meals in order to satisfy any taste.
We are looking forward to welcome you! On our official website you will find our best offers!
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We researched this hotel using TripAdvisor before we booked and we were not disappointed at all. We booked two rooms int he annexe which is right next to the main hotel reception and this was not inconvenient at all. We were a family of 4 with our 2 sons age 15 and 17 staying in an adjoining room which was great , the rooms were exactly as reflected in the photos on the website and were clean and comfortable. The room rate included breakfast , and we booked directly with the hotel on their website as they were offering a 12% discount if we paid in cash when we arrived which we did and this didn't present any problems.This hotel was within a few minutes walk from the Colosseum , infact if you turn right out of the hotel and then left you can see it and we walked to the trevi fountain and the other sites which are all within a couple of km. When we visited the Vatican the hotel called a taxi for us which cost 15 euros and we walked back via the Spanish steps again a couple of km . The guys on the front desk were always helpful and went out of their way to help us during our stay, we were able to leave our bags at the hotel on the day we left as our flight was not until later in the day.There are numerous bars and restaurants in the same street and we used curi curi which is right next door for coffee and snacks where espresso costs 0.80 euro and also has ice cream and fantastic Cannollo which can be filled with ricotta and dipped in chocolate chips, so good we bought some home. Would recommend this hotel and we can see why it is so highly rated, plan to stay here again .

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are quiet and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guests,
thanks very much for your nice comment, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our Rooms in Annex building nextdoor, just 15 metres away from the hotel, they are cheeper but they are completely refubished and offer all comforts of the rooms in main building.
As you could see our location in wonderful as we are at walking distance from the Colosseum, roman Forums, Venice square, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Navona square, Pantheon and other sites. In any case the Metro stop 'Cavour' is only 30 metres from the hotel entrance, so it's easy to reach quickly every part of the city.
The hotel neighborhood is really pritty and interesting, so full of entertainments, cafès, bars, tavernas, small restaurant proposing traditional roman and international cuisine.
Thanks again for appreciating our staff all and our service. Hope to meet you again for your next trip to Rome! On our official website, you will find our best offers available.
Kind regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend from the 13th February we found this hotel and all the staff to be excellent, nothing was too much trouble. We walked to all the attractions which were easy to find, and spectacular to see. This was our first trip to Rome and couldn't have wanted for a better hotel, the restaurants nearby were excellent value for money, the breakfast room was a lovely charming room with a calming atmosphere, just what you need before a busy day sightseeing. We found the wifi to be no problem at all during our stay.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Rome, the service and location were second to none.

Jackie and Richard Costin

Room Tip: We stayed in room 404, this was an excellent room with a little balcony to chill out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Sirs,
we have been very glad to read your review, thanks for sharing your nice experience and impressions with us! As you told, the area where the Duca d'Alba Hotel is located, it's full of life, entertainments and fun, old wine bars, typical tabernas and traditional restaurants proposing local and regional food.
You could enjoy our excellent location in the very heart of Rome at walking distance from the main places of interest famous all over the world, the metro station is at hand and our Staff is always available to give suggestions or to help our guests to organize tours and sightseeing.
We are proud of our rich buffet breakfast (proposing hot and cold dishes for every taste) and of our staff at breakfast, we are glad to know that you have appreciated the breakfast room and the atmosphere. Our staff at front desk does the best to help and to take care of each guest during the stay, if you felt your self fine and 'at home', we have reached our goal!
We will be glad to welcome you again! For your next trip please look at our official website, where you will find very nice and convenient offers or write us and e-mail
Kindest regards
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#106 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#290 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#88 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#66 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Property: Duca D'Alba Hotel
Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#84 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing