We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Great service! Great breakfast! Great location!”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Duca D'Alba on our recent honeymoon. It was a perfect location for us - 10 minutes walking with luggage from the train station. On a back street with activity but nice, sound-proof windows to keep out the noise at night. The service was excellent, as was the breakfast. Front desk staff was very helpful with directions and restaurant reservations. The room was - small (cozy) - but clean and just what we needed. Breakfast was delicious and included many breads, yogurt, fruit, cold cuts, scrambled and hard-boiled eggs, tomato and mozzarella, bacon, etc. Juices and hot drinks to order! It was exactly what we needed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBingBingBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Great review, TBingBingBing!
We are happy we contributed to make your Honeymoon an event just a bit more special than what it was anyway for your life. best wishes again from us all and thank you for the nice words describing what we are, where we are, what we offer.
Please come back, we will be happy to manage your direct booking to allow you the best rates available only in our official website.
Warmest Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
There are newer reviews for Duca D'Alba Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

So glad we picked this hotel, it was perfect. Monti is a great little area, very central, quirky boutiques and pleasant bars/restaurants. Hotel reception and serving staff were very helpful. Bedroom and bathroom spotlessly clean and we would not hesitate to recommend.
Tip for visitors; get the DeVinci express train from the airport, runs every 30 mins and takes about the same time to travel into Central Rome, buy your return ticket from the machine (English instructions) but get it Validated before boarding, tickets last a month so you must stamp them in the machine just before you use them. We saw lots of people being fined on the train for not having validated their tickets!
Overall a beautiful visit...wear good shoes, thank god for sketchers! X

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MichelleHKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear MichelleHKent_UK,
you hit the target when you say about the location, the attitude, the cleanliess (and comforts) of our rooms, we would be happy to welcome you back.
You also write about the Leonardo Express train connecting Fiumicino Airport to Roma Termini in approx 35 minutes every 30 minutes, thank you for helping, visitors will appreciate but please everybody be aware (we use to adivse our Guests) that you can come from Fiumicino Airport to Rome also with the FR1 (Ferrovie Regionali 1) connecting the Airport to Ostiense/Piramide Railway Station every 15 minutes for a cheaper fare and that at Ostiense you change and with one single run metro ticket (€1,50) you catch Metro B (Blue line) from stop Ostiense/Piramide to stop Cavour, that is only 80 m from Hotel Duca d'Alba.
We in the heart of Rome connected to the World ousite our door.
So, MichelleHKent_UK, please come back and give us the opportunity to help you check the best rates in our official website.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Steps from the Cavour Metro Station in the heart of Monti. Super close to the Colosseum, Roman Forum and St. Peter in Chains and REALLY easy to get to all the other sites on the Metro. The room was on the smallish side but super clean and great breakfast included every morning. Heads up - you need the room key to work the lights here (so no charging stuff when you're not in the room!) Oh, and the room had crazy double windows, so you can't hear a thing going on downstairs! While you're in Monti, be sure to eat at Urbana 47 (serves dinner after 7 but go closer to 8 to be safe) and enjoy unique and delicious gelato at Fatamorgana.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Sara V,
we love your review's headline, it recaps the feel our Guests can share spending their time at Hotel Duca d'Alba in the heart of this beautiful, historical neighborhood. Thank you for enjoying our first rate breakfast, your room and the soundproof double glass double windows (the alley below is amazingly nice and lively but if you wish to close sounds outisde, well you can).
We are proud of the cleanliness standard we offer, thanks to our diligent and nice floor Staff, they work in the shadow and we are happy to take this opportunity to say how professional they are.
Electronic room cards work both for the door and the lights, electricity flow stops when you take the key away but when our Guests need to leave their devices in charge, they can inform us that the room is free although card in and we help them re-opening the door when they come back: our 24 hours available Staff is here assist.
Please come directly to our e-mail or to our official website to book your next stay enjoying the best available rates and offers, we would be happy to see you back.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great location, near Coloseum, small but elegant, good breakfast and nice people. It was our first hotel among three chosen and it was great. We walked all around cause is a central location: Coloseum, Roman Forum, Campidoglio, Venetia Square, Via del Corso, few steps from hotel...

Room Tip: Choose if you can a room inside hotel, not near hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear unnemultimit,
you write a very good feedback in which you describe the location and the Hotel in a few exhaustive words and we thank you so much.
If you ever come back, please allow us the opportunity to help you with direct reservation to find the best rates matching your needs.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a small but perfectly formed hotel. It was ideal for our stay in Rome. 5minutes walk from the colosseum and no more than 30minutes walk from anything else you might wish to see. It's also surrounded by great restaurants (I'd recommend La Tavernelle) and the room was beautiful. The staff were wonderfully helpful too. The only reason this is a 4 star review and not 5 was due to a few small imperfections (the breakfast selection wasn't great and there were building works going on inside the adjoining building) but I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If staying over the weekend ask for a room that doesn't face the street. It was rather noisy on...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Sara O,
We thank you for your review and for the high score you give us, we regret we missed the highest score because of the inconvenience with works and the breakfast. When works go on we do our best not to reduce our Guests' comfort and, for certain, no works go during the resting and relaxing hours.
Breakfast selection is wide and uses to satisfy any taste, and -although this could be subjective and we cannot discuss- we offer plenty of fresh and seasonal food, sweet and salty but we would be happy to evaluate any suggestions to add.
We thank you for rewarding our location, our rooms, our Staff, we all would be ready to welcome you back and to help you with direct booking to browse the best rates available only from our official website.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We walked from Termini to the hotel, no problem. The hotel is beautiful. We read about the rooms being tiny on TA. Really? Our room was great! Two luggage racks, a big closet with shelves, a desk and a chair. There were robes and slippers. All of the staff we encountered and I think we encountered them all after being there 5 nights, were super.

Breakfast was plentiful. You needed to get there when there was not a rush. Coffee was make to order and I had cappucino every am along with cornetto and fresh strawberries. My husband had ham, cheeses, melon, breads, bacon. What more could you ask for.

The location is perfect. Cavour metro station is a 2 minute walk away. The coliseum is 10 minutes as is the forum. Ok so the Vatican is 2.5 miles away, we walked it on 3 occasions (one way and metro'd it the other). If you metro it everywhere you will miss the city. There are restaurants nearby and Chuiri Churi (sp) right next door where we enjoyed gelato (pistachio ricotta and orange chocolate) and choc dipped butter cookies just to name a few of the desserts every night. This area is full of activity in the evenings where other parts of Rome is not. The clothing stores are fun and cool.

The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that I could feel the springs in the bed. Once I put my knee down first and jumped back. I am not heavy at all. My hips hurt a little but it could also be a combo of walking 7+ miles a day and my bed at home is awesome!

I would definitely stay here again. I am a Concierge in a 450+ room luxury hotel and wanted a boutique place for vacation and Hotel Duca d'Alba was perfect. I wish I was there now.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear toniamonkey,
thank you for your very good feedback and for writing about comfortable rooms (if also some of them are not so big, they all are very comfortable, elegant, fully equipped and very very clean), our professional and nice Staff, our very good breakfast offering any taste you could wish.
Hotel Duca d'Dalba is located in the core of the amazing Rione Monti, in the part of the district (extending up to 2 miles far from here: it is a big district and not all the accomodations related to Rione Monti are exactly in the area you would expect) that better represents the character of this historical, popular, lively neighborhood where you can get lost in shopping and food, only 800m from Colosseum and from Piazza Venezia and dicrectly connected to Termini (you walked from there but Metro B takes you from there to Cavour stop in 5 minutes) and plenty of buses take you everywhere.
We are sorry for the problem you had with your bed, we would be happy to be soon alerted by our Guests about any inconveniencee to allow us check and help: our mattresses are new and adapting to standards, soon replaced when needed. Of course a hotel bed is not our private bed and it may happen you do not feel you perfectly match with it but we are ready to help with any issues and we thank you for choosing Hotel Duca d'Alba in Rome, a colleague could be a hard reviewer.. We would be happy to welcome you back and we invite you to choose the best rate in our official website or e-mail us directly.
Warm Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who had lived in Rome. It was in great location - within walking distance to Coliseum and Forum. There two sections to the hotel and I stayed in the main building, and my friends stayed in the older section. Both sections were wonderful! The room was small with 2 twin beds, but very typical in Europe, plus we had a great balcony overlooking Via Leonina. The room was well furnished and very clean! The staff was fantastic -- especially Christian! He helped us with dinner reservations, taxis, and printing boarding passes! Also, breakfast is included in the cost and it was awesome -- plenty of choices. The price of the hotel was very good for this location. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to my friends! Melinda T

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Melinda T,
nothing rewards more that being recommended: advertising and promotional actions are not so true as word of mouth, so thanks to your Friends for suggesting, thanks to you for trusting and for sharing your experience here.
Rome is a unique, characteristic city, nothing compares to Rome in our beautiful - all to be travelled - world and the idea of "space" is different in the Eternal City, above all in the Heart of the town, where the roman "feel" pulses in the alleys, in the small squares, out of the windows facing the small courts,,, Duca d'Alba hotel is right there, in the core, a few steps from the Coliseum, even fewer from the Roman Forum, located in an old noble building in a small lively alley with plenty of clubs, restaurants, small shops and artisan labs. Would you need more?
To house our Guests the best, we welcome them both in the main building and in dislocated private apartments next to the Hotel, where they can share the "roman" daily life enjoying the services and comforts of the Hotel.
As a frane to the situation, Christian, Angelo, Tatiana, Elisa, Romeo, the whole Staff are eager to be warm reference and proud to read feedback like yours.
Thanl you very much, Melinda T.. should you recommend Duca d'Alba to your friends and relatives or ever choose to come back, please contact us directly and go to our official website, you will find the best rates - and we'll help you to find .
Warm Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#294 of 1,267 in Rome
1,657 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#93 of 1,267 in Rome
894 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#87 of 1,267 in Rome
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,267 in Rome
2,488 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#146 of 1,267 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £85 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing