We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Nice Location - Stay here!”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in June 14 and were impressed overall with the hotel. The staff on the desk were extremely friendly and gave us lots of information and tips about Rome. It is within walking distance of the Colloseum and a few moments walk from the Metro station.

The room itself was eloquantly decorated and included a TV & Fridge. It was very comfortable with enough space for both our clothes, cases and bits & bobs.

We stayed in one of the Annex rooms which the enterance is set away from the main enterance. It was nice & quiet although the road outside was busy. I would suggest that anyone who has difficulties with stairs should request a room in the main builiding as there are a few flights of stairs before you can reach the lift.

Overall a positive experience in a lively area. Would stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Andy N,
thank you for the positive feedback and for the very high score, you reconfirm the very good features about location, staff, comfortable rooms at Duca d'Alba Hotel in Rome..
You enjoyed a room in one of the Annexes: we have more rooms in two adjacent private buldings, one is next to the main entrance in the same cozy square where the Hotel door opens. The other building is a few steps back, the entrance is on the main alley. The three options (Hotel and Annexes) in a range of about 60 m.
One of the Annexes has a service lift very useful both for people and for luggage, it is small but do not forget that we are in a very old area and modern items have been added later, so a lack in size perhaps but not in efficiency. The other Annex has a couple of flights of stairs to the first level and from there a lift takes to higher floors.
We are conscious about that and of course we do not allocate in that annex any Guests who might have problems: we thank you for your elucidation because you give us the opportunity to explain some points about the nice Annexes.
We do hope to welcome you back and invite you and anybody else to book in our official website to search the best available rates and to get to direct contact.
Warm Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Again we chose this hotel based on other TA reviews, and again we were happy with our decision. As others have said, this hotel is in an ideal location, a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum, 5 minutes to the closest metro station and surrounded by a good choice of bars and restaurants. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and the breakfast quite good. Our room although functional was a lot smaller than other hotels we had stayed in in Italy, and the French door opened out onto a rather unattractive little area covered with fake grass. Still at least we had some outdoor space. The wifi was very reliable. All in all great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieRayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear DebbieRayner,
Thank you for saying very good things about a Family Hotel in an amazing location, history and life in the most ancient "rione" (Rome splits into ancient districts called "Rioni", each of them having bein numbered I, II, III and so on..) in Rome, Monti: that part of the huge Monti that is the most authentic, where the ancient stones of the Suburra wedge in the later buildings.
Thank you for trusting Tripadvisor, so thanks to every single Guest who ever reviewed Duca d'Alba Hotel on Tripadvisor. The Staff, so praised, thanks evrey single Tripadvisor user writing good feedbacks or trusting feedbacks.
A few words about the fake grass: the small old palace where Duca d'Alba Hotel welcomes Guests from all over the world is a typical old building turned into Hotel and displays many bizarre hallways and small inside and outside courts connecting the blocks with a charming effect: some rooms face the inside courts and the small condominium citizenry have opted for some grass carpets (not so bad) to cover the flooring of (some) of those courts: you must enter the "feel" to enjoy an architectural game like that and we are happy you enjoyed at the end.
Please come back and choose your best offer in our website directly or contact us by e-mail.
Thank you.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We looked for a hotel with optimal location near metro and sites. This met the bill and was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Recommend double room or larger as a single room is closet sized. Very modern rooms. Halls can be loud in the morning. Breakfast included. Easy walk to the train and Colosseum. Close to good night scene.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mrcleanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear mrcleanjr,
Thank you for your positive feedback, you pick the essence of our offer: strategically placed a few steps away metro stop Cavour (connection to anywhere in Rome and to Airports), ideal starting point to explore the Ancient Rome (Colosseum is approx 700 m far), surrounded by plenty of nice small restaurants, cafés, corner shops. The Hotel welcomes Guests in a quiet, elegant house (and some beautiful annexes in next palaces) in a lively, historical neighborhood, the authentic part of the very huge Rione Monti. In such a peculiar situation, we offer top service in very individual rooms (the Hotel sorts out of an old palace designed for different use and this explains the architecture of our rooms, ranging from small double to large double and Suites), conceived to boost comfort and innovation, cleanliness no less.
We take this opportunity to point out that we do not welcome groups to protect quietness and privacy, it may happen that more people come to the lobby to check-in or check-out the same moment but we work very fast and our Guests are free very soon.
We would be happy to welcome you back, please book directly to our official website to choose the best rates available only there and do not hesitate to contact us to get help if needed.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have recently returned from a short break in Rome. This hotel was recommended to us by rail bookers.
It really was in a great position, breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
When we checked in we had been upgraded to a room with a balcony - it was perfect for a quiet drink after dinner.
The staff were all very friendly and helped with any query we had.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you so much, Brian M.
You say we are in a great location: we are in the very essence of Rione Monti, in the shadow of the Colosseum and in one of the alleys designing the heart of the ancient and medieval Rome; breakfast is generous and fresh, for any taste, it is a rich meal helping our Guests in their long days in Rome. We thank you for appreciating the room you had, it happens we have the possibility to benefit arriving Guests with higher category rooms and thank you for rewarding Duca d'Alba Staff, we are home for any Friends staying with us and happy to work to make their stay the most comfortable we can.
You recommend our Hotel and we invite you and any travellers choosing Duca d'Alba to book directly through our official website to browse the best offers available only there or to contact us direcltly to our e-mail.
Thank you again and Best Regards.
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice hotel but in a dangerous location on Saturday's with the street crowded with con artists and the like it is very near th forum and the colosseum and is very central. Near a great take away pizza place but the food is expensive near the colosseum so be careful. Great staff.

Room Tip: Get room in hotel as it is quieter than the rooms in the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Niall M,
We thank you for the high score you give us and would like to explain that Duca d'Alba is located in a very central area, crowded because very near to Colosseum and Forum and more beautiful sites and because offering plenty of small restaurants, locals, pubs, cafés, cosy shops and so on.. it is not a dangerous area, it is a very ancient and today very lively and charming neighborhood. This is the key characteristic of Duca d'Alba, as well as being an old elegant small palace, nice ambiance, and quality service hotel. Of course, and unfortunately, nobody would expect that in a big city on top of the travel destinations in the world he would never meet less honest people ready to spoil the dark side of the tourism business: cheating people not only near the the hotels but on the metro, buses, in the lines to access the monuments.. Our Staff is very concerned about that and use to advice Guests. Rome is a rather safe city, in centre above all: it is enough you take care of yourselves and we love to help being conscious and also love to suggest, if requested, nice and "authentic" places where to enjoy good food, fair price.. the way roman residents use to eat.
We would be happy to welcome you back and please book directly through our official website to find the best rates or let us help you do that and contact us by e-mail.
Best regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Duca D'Alba hotel for 3 nights in May 2014. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to so many great historical sites.

The room we had was very small, but functional and really all we needed. The staff was helpful for the most part.

The best part of this hotel was the great breakfast! Of our entire trip through Italy, this hotel had the best breakfast.

When we checked out, we were given a card offering us a discount if we stayed with them in the future and booked directly with them. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear MyraVergani,
We wish to thank you for your very good review and for listing all the positive features you enjoyed: the strategical location in the core of the ancient Rome, our breakfast, the modern and elegant outfit of our rooms (both in the main building and in the "annex"), some of them are not very big but we wish to say that, lke any cozy Family Hotel, we offer a range of rooms from small single to large and comfortable Suites, we use to read many reviews tell about the disappointing size, we never read reviews rewarding the breadth of our larger rooms but we thank you very much for saying that you had anyhting you needed: we offer top service.
We would be happy to welcome you back, we use to invite new Guests as well as returning Guests to search the best rates and offers in our official website or to contact directly. We do not offer a fidelity card, we guess you refer to our suggestion, with business card, to proceed with direct contact to receive the best advantage. We do hope you will.
Thanks again, MyraVergani.
Regards,
R. Giorgi
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel took excellent care of us - from our rooms, to helping to make dinner reservations as well as shuttle reservations to the airport.

We were a party of 4. We were put in rooms 304/305. 4 has the bigger room, 5 the bigger bathroom. Excellently appointed, two twins in each room that can be moved together or apart.
The rooms open to an interior courtyard but given the constant activity on the streets I found this a blessing. However, your room comes with a/c so closing the window at night is an option. I don't need a view from every hotel room, for some of you this may matter, because this is a small hotel and I don't think there is much of a view as it sits on a narrow street and is only 4 or 5 stores. These two rooms are also at the end of a corridor, across from one another, so the foot traffic is non existent. Oh, and they also have an elevator!

We were met with a small bottle of wine upon our arrival, a nice touch! One of our rooms had just a shower, the other a tub. Other than one small annoyance in each room (one, the hairdryer was not working, the other, the plug for the sink wouldn't stay up) they were absolutely great rooms. Yes, they were small, but how much time do you spend in a room in Rome? We were 5 minutes from the forum and 7 minutes from the Colosseum. You are right in the thick of things here.

The neighborhood is a bustling area, equidistant from all the important/'big' Ruins and attractions. Easy walks, all of them (bring excellent shoes with good support and no heels!). Very close to a METRO (you will want to take to Vatican City - it is a 2.5 mile walk from here). Metro is only 1.50e. Every restaurant we ate in was just fine. Shopping is here and there and some very cute little boutique places. I suspect we were close to a university due to the surrounding inexpensive stores and what seemed to be student housing in the area. It made the area more vibrant, I think.

Breakfast was included and was MORE than adequate. Unlike a past review that stated that bacon and eggs (for American's that don't want to try something new 'while in Rome.....' was an extra charge, it was there in abundance. There is no way that you could leave hungry. There was muchhhhhhhh to chose from!

It was by far the most expensive place we stayed at but it was a worthy splurge. I would stay here again in an instant. The staff was excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter. There are rooms at the end of a small cooridor that will minimize foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Karen D,
We wish to thank you for the full score you give us and very good review you write, we are happy you enjoyed the way we use to be our Guests' reference point.
Our welcoming offer is rather diverfied since we have not only the rooms in our main building but more rooms and small apartments in connected buildings within a few meters from the main one and all the small palaces in this old part of Rome have grown on the ancient structure of Rome, the result is a peculiar distribution of the space and each room is different from the others, each bathroom has been designed for the place where it is. No compromises in quality, comforts, outfit (we are sorry about the hair-dryer and the plug, it happens of course and we promptly change or fix when alerted, our Staff is at work 24 hours per day)
We are in the core of the most ancient district in Rome; today Monti is a popular although rather eminent area where heterogeneous people live (of course it is very attractive to young people and lively). The very first "Suburra" (you can read everything on the web) lies under our feet and it is not unusual to see sections of the ancient walls and floors among the later buildings or in the courts. This is Rome. Duca d'Alba Hotel is located in the essence of this idea and the voices, the sounds, the colours, the tastes are in the small alleys where you can get lost to join the feel and melt with the people whilst after a few steps finding yourself facing the awesome mass of the Colosseum.
Duca d'Alba is a shelter for our Guests, first of all, so we grant their comfort and rest with double glass double windows and efficient air conditioning system, to close to the life outside in summer. Our Staff is a Family and helping our Friends have the best from the time they spend with us is our pleasure: suggestions, transfers, reservations, their breakfast: we know how important it is to go for a long day in Rome: breakfast at Duca d'Alba
is a generous and fresh offer to satisfy any taste and of course bacon and eggs, like everything you see, are not an extra charge option.
We are a 4 stars hotel right in the center of one of the most visited cities in the world, we offer elegant setting and higher services, our rates are in proportion in high season. We are very happy you would come back so please do not forget to browse the best available rates in our official website or to contact us to help you. We invite any travellers to do the same.
Thank you very much again, Karen D.
Warm Regards,
R. Giorgi
The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#74 of 1,271 in Rome
215 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
985 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#134 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,541 reviews
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#275 of 1,271 in Rome
1,705 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing