We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the heart of Rome”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #153 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the heart of Rome”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a small, cute hotel. Rooms are small but comfortable enough. Beds and pillows are very comfortable. Location is near Termini station, restaurants, pubs, metro station and the Colosseum. We found breakfast time always crowded therefore uncomfortable. One day they had to re-arrange the living room area so that guests could sit down for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxinBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    451
    95
    42
    20
See reviews for
165
595
61
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better stay, staff super helpful - great place. Right near the colosseum and several cute shops, pubs and pizza places just downstairs. Off the main road too so it was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlsieLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having done my research well and read the numerous excellent reviews on TA, I would dearly love to leave a glowing account of our stay here,,,,however having booked two double rooms (myself and my wife & my son and his girlfriend) for two nights were told on our arrival that there was a problem with the water supply and we would be accommodated in the Palatino hotel around the corner for our 1st night (Clean place but utterly characterless). We understand these things happen and we're assured on our return the next day our rooms would be available..... Not so!! Having left our luggage with the reception, gone out for the day returning about 6pm were told we had one double and TWO SINGLES!!!
Pointing out that's not what we'd book didn't seem to matter..."I'm sorry but that's all we have" isn't really good enough. In fact the receptionist's attitude was that they were doing us a favour by giving us 3 rooms for the price of two. We were told that as we were the last to arrive that day the other double rooms were already allocated, utterly unacceptable when both morning and afternoon reception staff knew and, considering the inconvenience we had been put through the previous day. So BACK to the Palatino again. I'm a really laid back sort of person and quite accommodating in most cases but (without mentioning names) the receptionist who dealt with us lacked even the very basic people skills.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zuccy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great hotel with fantastic service, delicious breakfast, outstanding, outstanding location, and extremely clean rooms with a very spacious and hip feel. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone without a doubt. We stayed in the adjacent building directly next door and commented upon how every time we came in and out it was like we were going into our own little private flat from street side. Outstanding hotel in a city with a million options, and the neighborhood was perfect... Surrounded by great restaurants, a cool hipster feel, not too loud, not too quiet, and super central to everywhere you want to be going while in the city.

Room Tip: The adjacent building is awesome. Don't be put off if you find yourself in the building "n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaiPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel exceeds all expectations. It is not just brilliantly located but has fabulous service to match. I exchanged a few emails prior to my arrival requesting a good room as it was for a special event, and I was not disappointed. I was allocated the annex rooms, A2 and A3' which were located adjacent to the main hotel. The rooms were of good size and very comfortable. The room contained a good size flat screen TV, minibar, safe, and a much needed air conditioning, which could be controlled with a remote. The bathroom was also of good size, it had the essential toiletries, hair dryer, and the shower was by far the best I have ever experienced! The rooms were cleaned daily and towels were also replaced daily.
The hotel is so perfectly located as it has the metro (Cavour station) is just yards away and one stop gets you to the Termini station, so most places are very easily reachable. I was very worried about walking, due to mobility issues, but I have to say I had no major problems, as the station was so close to hotel but so were bars, restaurants, shops, places to relax, so I had lots of opportunity to rest. The staff were very accommodating, especially Angelo, Elisa and Christian, who were really pleasant and helpful. The staff responsible for breakfast were also helpful, and we're keen to offer their services with a smile.
I really can't recommend this hotel enough, it is just brilliant. I can't comment on the size of the rooms within main hotel but the annex rooms were good. Though isolated, I always felt safe in the annex. I would really suggest booking this hotel, I will definitely return to this place and only this place in Rome, in fact have recommended it all family n friends. There is just so many positives and all the positive reviews earlier than thus post are accurate. Don't let the negative reviews worry you as you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Definitely the annex room is one to choose, this is because it is much more quieter and larger. It d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rubz211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If you want a taste of neighborhood living in Rome, stay in Monti, where old-timers, hipsters, and artists mingle in the tiny piazza and the winding streets deliver new charms with each wander. Duca d'Alba is a gem, modest but impeccably maintained, with personal service by Angelo and his delightful team.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heymarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved the neighborhood this hotel was in. The room itself (102) was a miracle of modern engineering. Very small, as others have mentioned, but containing virtually every amenity: flat-screen tv, excellent air-conditioning, toiletries, mini-bar, hair-dryer, etc. Our only concession to the small room-size was that we couldn't keep our luggage out, so every morning we took our luggage out of the closet, picked our outfits, and then stowed the luggage upright in the (well-sized) wardrobe. The breakfast was lovely, including fresh-made cappuccinos and local pastries. Also appreciated the daily newspapers in the lobby and the helpful staff.

Room Tip: The double-paned glass makes the rooms silent at night, even in a lively neighborhood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itslaverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear itslavern,
As for many past reviews, in our replies we pointed out - and you also do - that our rooms are very comfortable, supplied with any items needed to take care of oneself. The small Palace where we are was not conceived as an Hotel and what you write is true, each single room has been indivually projected and realized, the result is that some are larger than others but each of them comes with its own style, with elegant furniture and comfortable bathrooms; all rooms are nice and very clean, they all offer modern outfitting. Tha same as for rooms in the very next Annexes a few meters far from the main entrance of Duca d'Alba: you can rest and relax inside, enjoy Rome and have fun outisde getting lost in the pulsing alleys of the neighborhood.
Our breakfast, our Staff, our care is what a Family would do for friends.
We would like to welcome you back and would like you and every new traveller choosing Duca d'Alba Hotel to book a room directly to our website, to enjoy the best available rates.
Thank you very much.
R. Giorgi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#96 of 1,256 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#100 of 1,256 in Rome
808 reviews
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#308 of 1,256 in Rome
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#72 of 1,256 in Rome
2,597 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,256 in Rome
2,436 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Property: Duca D'Alba Hotel
Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#93 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing