We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location some deficiencies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Piccadilly
Ranked #199 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is located at Bus 87 stop. Across the street it goes to the Colosseum and other sights. It is in a very convenient area of the city. Can also walk to the Metro (but not that close to the Termini) We stayed there a total of 7 nights - the first in a double, then 5 nights in a triple and the last night in a single. Ivan was at the front desk most of those days. He is excellent: speaks and understands many languages and tries to be quite helpful. Some of the other people on the front desk had a harder time in English and were not as friendly or helpful.
The hotel looks like it was remodeled fairly recently and was clean, except for the next to the last day when they didn't clean the room. The double room had a full bath and shower. The triple room only had a shower, but it was of adequate size. The street noise on the front is a problem and we had requested a non smoking room on the back on a high floor. Instead we were placed on the 3rd floor on the front. I asked about a room on the back and was told there are no triple rooms on the back, only the front. I didn't notice any smoke until the next to the last day when later in the afternoon the room became very smoky from the person in the room next door smoking on the balcony. Since the room seemed pretty tight and there are no vents in the bathroom I don't know why there was so much smoke in the room which persisted until the next day when we checked out. On check-out I found out they had placed me on a smoking floor! (There was nothing to indicate that there are non-smoking and smoking floors, and we had requested a non smoking room). The beds and pillows were comfortable and AC was good. They advertise "Spacious safebox that can hold a laptop" It will not even hold a 10" netbook. Probably would hold a smaller tablet. There are several steps from the entrance to the small 4 person elevator to the lobby - then a different 4 person elevator to the floors. The breakfast has mainly pastries, cereal, yoghurt and some fruit. Only hot food is scrambled eggs and undercooked bacon. But plenty to eat. There are also free light snacks in the evening (pay for beverages) Free Wireless on each floor but would only connect less than 50% of the time and when connected was slow. TV only had CNN in English + other non English channels. Free Coffee / tea/chocolate machine in lobby which worked most of the time. My rating would probably be 3.5, not 4. I would stay here again because of location, but would insist on high, non-smoking room on back if possible. Hotel said they would try to honor that but hotel was probably full the entire time we were there. Someone who stayed in 802 on same floor as breakfast said it was a great room with a view- evidently a double.

Room Tip: If NON-SMOKING is important, insist on NON-SMOKING floor, which they do have. Try to get high room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasonedtraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I stated here one night on the 10th May 2014. The room was small but clean and the location was very convenient to walk out and restaurants and other stores are there. Our tour included breakfast and we happy with what was there. Bread, coffee, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon and fruits. Had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

A good, clean, friendly basic hotel. Our room (802) was located on the 8th floor right next to the breakfast area. We were sceptical but not once were we disturbed by any noise and the view from our room over the city was marvellous. Staff in the hotel were really nice and very helpful. Breakfast was great as well. Good choice of fruit, muesli, scramblies, cold meats and cakes and a great dopio espresso macchiato to wake you up in the morning. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Rome!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Renate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We had been looking forward to this visit for about ten months. And right from the moment that we checked in we knew that we had made the right choice.
The charming Ivan knew our names even before we had told him and after brief formalities he gave us a map and pointed out all of the major attractions and told us how we could get to them, mostly via the 87 bus that stops directly opposite the hotel or by the metro whose station is a short walk away. Breakfast is served in the eighth floor restaurant with fantastic views over the city, with the dome of st. Peters basilica easily visible in the distance and san giovanni in laterano just to the right. Our breakfast waiter, gianfranco, is an absolute star, with his ready smile and dry wit, along with his willingness to help you with anything.
On the third day of our visit Ivan and the charming monika found out that it was my wife's 50th birthday. They sent out for a beautiful cake and presented it along with a lovely bottle of prosecco. Such a kind gesture.
The hotel is located a little way out of the city, but with such good transport links it is not a problem. We didn't eat locally but there are a couple of nice cafes in the area for drinks and Valentino's across the road has a happy hour when if you buy drinks they come accompanied by a table full of snacks, a nice way to people watch.
All on all a wonderful break in a lovely hotel in an inspiring city. Thank you Ivan, Monica and Gianfranco.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kevnmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel is clean, pleasant and modern. The lobby has a coffee/tea machine, which is free. One day it was not working properly, needed refilling and the reception staff ordered coffee from the dining room instead, free of charge. Toiletries were provided and replenished daily. There is also a hair dryer in the bathroom. No bath but a very good shower. There is a mini fridge with beverages and these are very reasonably priced. We requested tea/coffee making facilities in our room and these were provided. Again replenished when ever requested , still no charges for this service. There is a safe in each room. The linen was very clean and replaced as/when required. TV had some English channels. This hotel is not particularly noisy and our rooms were at the back. However I would not say the area was very noisy. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. In the early evening the dining room provides an array of nibbles, again free of charge and you can purchase beverages, water, tea, coffee and some alcohol, reasonably priced, 3 euros for a glass of wine and charged to your room. A good way to start the evening and meet other guests if you wish. All the hotel staff were very nice, professional and helpful. The waiter in the dining room ensured a cappuccino was on our table waiting when he discovered this was what I wanted. Our friends wanted hot water for tea and this was provided each morning without any prompting. Excellent service and delightful waiting staff. There is a bus stop at either side of the road and the underground is only a short walk away. The only negative is the area does have a lot of graffiti but Rome seems to have a lot of graffiti generally - what a shame. It does give the wrong image.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No suggestions but we did stay at the rear of the hotel - no issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireBeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hotel in a good position ideal to explore, bars & restaurants near by really reasonable in price
hotel clean & tidy nice room & bathroom , room on front of hotel a little noisey at night
breakfast room nice brilliant views of roof top rome coffee cold but if you ask for it warmed up they do , nice selection of pastries etc lift really small and very busy at breakfast time take the stairs much quicker taxi rank just opposit the hotel near under ground station
can walk to hotel from train termini

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back of the hotel much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a_carmignani, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Elaine,

thank you for your survay on Tripadvisor.
Read that your experience in our Hotel was nice is for us the best news.
We work every day for give to our clients all our best service and your comment is our best inspiraction. Thank you from me and all the staff.
Hope to see you soon here in Rome at Best Western Hotel Piccadilly.
Kind Regards.


Amedeo Carmignani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our first visit to Rome and we stayed here for 3 nights.The hotel is well located and very convenient for getting into and out of the city centre. The room was comfortable, and the bathroom and shower were particularly impressive. We did have some difficulty in using the aircon controller, but settled for sleeping with the window slightly open. This might be more of an issue in the warmer months. The staff both on reception and at breakfast were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfasts - there was fresh fruit and a cooked option, and great views from the breakfast room. All in all we very much enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Turtle021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#196 of 1,271 in Rome
735 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#160 of 1,271 in Rome
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Piccadilly

Address: Via Magna Grecia 122, 00183 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Piccadilly Roma)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#112 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#273 Family Hotel in Rome
#280 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £58 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Piccadilly 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Piccadilly is located in the busting via Magna Grecia, just in the heart of Rome's business area. On a corner with Tusculum Square, in the neighborhood of the famous St. John's Lateran Basilica, the hotel is located in a main position into the Capital, not far from the Coliseum and reachable in only three metro stops from Termini railway station, which provides connections to the airport and to all the other points of interest. Hotel Piccadilly offers to its guests many services as well as rooms with high quality comforts. In every area of the hotel there is free Wi Fi access. At the BEST WESTERN Hotel Piccadilly the hospitality is just like being at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Hotel Rome
Best Western Rome
Hotel Piccadilly Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing