We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papaya Female Hostel
Ranked #202 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I've stayed at one other hostel in Rome (which was very nice as well), but I have heard some true horror stories. Do not worry about that at Papaya! I stayed there for four days on my first ever international trip-alone. The rooms were clean. It wasn't hot outside so I can't account for air conditioning, but the place was super comfortable. The bathrooms and hostel were well kept. If I remember correctly, internet was free! Also they gave out little "coupons" for breakfast at a place on the corner-it was a small breakfast consisting of orange juice/coffee and a pastry, but it was enough to start the day. Nice quiet street with easy access to the tourist sights.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy2211_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Place was clean, 2 sets of bunkbeds and nice locker in room to keep your belongings safe. 3 bathrooms with showers for the whole place, kitchen area, free wi-fi and had 2 desktop comps for use. Only downside no staff at site and you check in at the hotel accross the street. Only 10-15min walk from main train station. Safe at night I did a lot of walking around at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Good wi-fi, clean bus basic rooms with big lockers. In a safe area close to Termini and a Conad City supermarket. There is no air-conditioning and you have to make do with one fan per room. The room was noisy when the windows were open making it hard to sleep. The kitchen was good but could have been cleaner and have bigger fridges, more room, more cutlery etc. Having the two computers was excellent as some things are easier done by computer than phone. The bathrooms would have been nicer if the shower drained properly and people removed their hair. You have to go across the road to check-in after a certain time but the staff were so lovely and helpful that it wasn't a problem. There are many good things about the hostel and most of the problems were nitpicky things like the aforementioned hair in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as they only look over a courtyard and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genevrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a decent hostel in a really good location. Walking distance from the city center! Really safe at night and 10 minute walk from the termini! The hostel itself was really really clean. Pretty basic, but you get what you're paying for! Nice bathrooms and big lockers! The wifi works perfectly and there is two computers! If you're traveling on a budget - this hostel has a kitchen! So you can go to the supermarket down the street and cook your own meal! The staff is okay, they do what's expected of them and not anything more! The atmosphere is a bit boring if you're young and looking to have a good time! But if you just want a good place to come back to after a long day of sight seeing this will be perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hostel is a short walk from Termini station (about 15 minutes) and although the area looks a bit sketchy, the hostel itself was clean, neat and bright. We had to check in at the hotel across the street where the staff gave us a map as well as gave us some helpful advice on what to see and do (it was our first time in Rome) and also gave us advice on navigating the transit system and how to get to where we wanted to go. It was a bit of a walk to get anywhere in Rome from the hostel, but it was such a great price that we didn't mind, and there were plenty of metro and bus stops nearby (unfortunately we had to walk since there was a transit strike).

The rooms were very clean and nice, as was the rest of the hostel. I read some other reviews mentioning issues like bedbugs and cracked, moldy showers, but they seem to have renovated or something since then as all of the bathrooms were in great condition and there were no issues with the bedding.

The kitchen/common area was nice with a toaster and microwave to use, as well as a couple of computers with internet access if you don't have your own.

Altogether I had no complaints about my stay at Papaya hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

i got bitten by bed bugs on my first night. thought things would get better but just went downhill quickly. as of now i have at least 15 bites just on my shoulders, i have 5 on my buttocks, the list goes on. do not stay here if you can avoid it. i was there aug 2012 and am not requesting credit for my full stay. we'll see if they give me a refund. i paid for a few nights and checked out a day early because i could not bear it anymore. they did not want to give me the money for the unused night but eventually did. they said they had this problem before and had to close the place for a month. i guess they will need to close it again and disinfect if they are to stay in business. lesson learned: at the first sign of bed bugs, get out of there fast.

Room Tip: at the first sign of bed bugs, get out of there fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vviirrggiinniiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I've stayed here a few times before. There is a kitchen with a microwave and a toaster, two computers you can use if you didn't bring your own, and free wifi. The location isn't the best but it's good for Rome. The area is a bit dodgy looking since it's so close to the station but I've never had a problem there and you can easily get to the Metro, buses, or taxis. I've stayed there a few times before and it was so much better before, the last time the showers were cracked and a bit moldy and I didn't get a breakfast ticket. The girl who works there is really nice and helpful, but if you check in after 3 PM you need to go to the hotel across the street and the staff there is downright rude and unprofessional. All in all, it's going a bit downhill, but it's a great place to stay in Rome without paying too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCraneWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Coconuts Female Hostel
Coconuts Female Hostel
#516 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,088 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Roman Holidays Hostel
Roman Holidays Hostel
#87 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#156 of 1,088 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papaya Female Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaya Female Hostel

Property: Papaya Female Hostel
Address: Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing