We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TOP Hotel American Palace EUR
Ranked #886 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good service”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed one night when returning from a veeeeery long trip, the concierge gave us a suite instead of a normal room after he saw our tired faces...thanks!
I believe this is a very good service.
The room was spacious and perfectly clean.
The breakfast was rich and tasty. Definitely a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudeBaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    301
    406
    235
    184
See reviews for
169
365
94
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Ok so it definitely isn't the 4* hotel it claims to be but if you go there expecting it to be more like a basic 3* you'll have a great time and won't be disappointed.

We stayed for 3 nights in early September 2013.

We booked very last minute and could only get a twin room. Our room was tiny, an 'L' shape and the beds were in an 'L' shape as well. We'd expected the twin beds to be pushed together and laughed when we saw it. The hotel was fully booked on the Friday night but we were told that if we asked to change rooms on the Saturday morning when we went for breakfast that the would look in to it. We spent the 2nd and 3rd nights in a room than had a normal size double bed. The room was still pretty small but nothing to complain about.

Breakfast runs from 7-10am and there is plenty of choice. Everything from rice, scrambled eggs, donuts, ham, croissant, fruit salad, yoghurts and pizza! Something for everyone! Again, we couldn't complain!

The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the Laurentina metro stop. You can short cut across bus station. Once on the metro it takes 15 minutes to get to the Colosseum stop which is where we got off each morning and then spent the whole day walking to the various sites from there.
NB. the metro ticket machines don't seem to accept card payment and won't give you more than 6Euros change so if you're buying 2 single tickets for E1.50 each, you can't use a E10 note because you'd be owed E7 change! Very frustrating so make sure you always have a couple of euros for your tickets.

We used Airport Shuttle Express to get to and from Fiumcino airport. It cost 15 euros per person and took half an hour to get to the hotel and back. This would have been the same price as getting on the Leonardo Express train to the central terminal, and then we would have had to have got the metro on from there so it seemed like a good option - cheaper, quicker and easier. Would definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAwesomeLawsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice hotel, but small rooms. Free breakfast, fairly nice, A little far away from city center,but close to metro station Lorentina. Staff has limited English, seems to speak Italia a lot. Rooms are a little noisy, you can hear people next door , staff is friendly. Hotel is in a remote suburb with very little to do. All the entertainment is downtown in Rome city which you have to take a train to go.

Room Tip: there is no pool and no kids activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylizzy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked into this hotel for a lst minute trip because my usual Rome hotel in Eur was full. The room was cleanish, although the wood full had a number of patches that felt very cold and damp to the touch - something to do with the air conditioning I believe. The shower was over the bath and pretty difficult to use as the shower head would not stay up. I aked for a quiet room away from boisy street / lifts etc, and was given a roomright next to the lift! When I went to enquire at the desk, there was no customer service - staff were dismissive and unhelpful. The restaurant food was unpleasant and the service, again, non-existent. It took 40 minutes to get a starter, and then it was luke warm. The pasta was clealry heatedup by microwave, and was bland and unappealing.
I wouldn't recommend this place unless you really couldn't afford anything better.

Room Tip: Get a room high up (6th floor) and at the back of the hotel - the front is over the Via Laurentina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayvee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Davis, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The room was clean and we were ready to relax after a busy day traveling. I was lo looking forward to enjoying a cool shower after having stayed at several supposedly lower rated hotels where there poor water pressure and often no curtain. However, the adjustable shower head would not stay anywhere except at the bottom, so I went back down to the front desk. They sent someone up right away, but all he could tell me was that it was stripped and he could make it stay at the top if I didn't touch it - if you have ever used one of these before you know that it is impossible to take a shower without bumping into the tubing attached to the hand piece and if it is loose it will fall down, hitting you in the head or shoulders. When I told him that this would not be acceptable he called the front desk. They told me that there were no other rooms available in the hotel. Since it was already after 8pm we did not have another choice but to stay. If it was earlier or we weren't already exhausted I would have left. I'm hoping nothing else will go wrong.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KCRD35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I always like to be positive where possible, but this Hotel came as a great disappointment. It is right on a major road and there is traffic day and night. The room we were allocated (332) was so small that we literally had to turn our feet sideways to get around the bed, and had to lean forward as we did so to avoid banging our head on the TV set bolted to the wall. The wardrobe was less than two feet wide and had only 3 hangers. After the first night we complained and were moved to room 433 which was better but still small. We had to put the chair out on the balcony to move around the room. Breakfast was fair with extensive cold buffet. We would score it 4 out of 10.
The nearest Metro was Laurentina which was the last stop on the line, and we were shocked how dirty the station was and all the trains were covered in graffiti. This station was about 10 minutes walk from the Hotel across a busy main road.
The final shock as we checked out was that we had to pay 3 euros per person per night as a compulsory City Tax. We knew nothing about this and felt it was very unfair.

Room Tip: Higher floor have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krsko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is across the street from the metro station so we could get to the city center in just half an hour, the food and drinks were good (even cappuccino from the machine was great), however none of the staff spoke English. We could hardly get the check-in done.
Also, the only place to park your car was by the road, which is a great place to get a few scratches on your car in matter of minutes. There are several banks and ATMs next to the hotel, even a post office. I recommend the hotel to business travellers, but not families because you need to cross a road with very heavy traffic and people in Rome seem to be unaware of the purpose of red traffic light.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urska C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#506 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Hotel Santa Costanza
#502 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#424 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#620 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#365 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Premier Hotel Royal Santina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel American Palace EUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel American Palace EUR

Property: TOP Hotel American Palace EUR
Address: Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#330 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP Hotel American Palace EUR 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace", a 4 stars hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your TOP Hotel American Palace EUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rome
Rome Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing