We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TOP Hotel American Palace EUR
Ranked #953 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Don’t go”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Uninviting. Room problems,Wasted time waiting to change rooms. 20 min to centre of Rome.Breakfast hit and miss and not great quality. First day table covers then they only appeared once more in 6 days?Works in room opposite.Dirty net curtains. Better room last two days. No desk light.DON’T accept what they try to offer you. Make sure you are happy before you move in! Manager offered me a total refund at start. HOW WOULD YOU THEN FIND A REPLACEMENT> My room smelt bad!!

Room Tip: Just make sure you get the size of room you book as they will say they are full and try to get you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggtimer186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    306
    410
    239
    192
See reviews for
173
373
95
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for five nights and I loved this hotel. It is clean and comfortable and convenient to the Laurentina subway station and several bus lines. The staff were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was included and there was a good variety of items in the breakfast buffet which is served from 7-10. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is quiet and safe. There is a Carrefour supermarket, a bank, and some small restaurants and shops within walking distance and it was about 15-20 minutes to the city center by subway. The rooms may seem small to American travelers, but it was comfortable and sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank givanna06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is large, functional and entirely without character, but it is situated very close to the Metro station at Laurentina. From there you can be at the Colosseum in under 15 minutes. There was free wi-fi, but breakfast was a desultory affair. A buffet is bad enough, but automatic coffee-making machines really ought to be banned from all hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walks-in-Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

very nice staff , clean but small rooms, closed to carrefour supermarket and trains not so far from city, only 6 stops of 7 stops for the termine
rome is beautiful people everywhere tyring trip as i found it very expencive country..also people at the puplic areas for buying ticket entrance for the buses are very route....
they are thinking only how to get your money...never again to rome but a BIG YES FOR THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed one night when returning from a veeeeery long trip, the concierge gave us a suite instead of a normal room after he saw our tired faces...thanks!
I believe this is a very good service.
The room was spacious and perfectly clean.
The breakfast was rich and tasty. Definitely a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudeBaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Ok so it definitely isn't the 4* hotel it claims to be but if you go there expecting it to be more like a basic 3* you'll have a great time and won't be disappointed.

We stayed for 3 nights in early September 2013.

We booked very last minute and could only get a twin room. Our room was tiny, an 'L' shape and the beds were in an 'L' shape as well. We'd expected the twin beds to be pushed together and laughed when we saw it. The hotel was fully booked on the Friday night but we were told that if we asked to change rooms on the Saturday morning when we went for breakfast that the would look in to it. We spent the 2nd and 3rd nights in a room than had a normal size double bed. The room was still pretty small but nothing to complain about.

Breakfast runs from 7-10am and there is plenty of choice. Everything from rice, scrambled eggs, donuts, ham, croissant, fruit salad, yoghurts and pizza! Something for everyone! Again, we couldn't complain!

The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the Laurentina metro stop. You can short cut across bus station. Once on the metro it takes 15 minutes to get to the Colosseum stop which is where we got off each morning and then spent the whole day walking to the various sites from there.
NB. the metro ticket machines don't seem to accept card payment and won't give you more than 6Euros change so if you're buying 2 single tickets for E1.50 each, you can't use a E10 note because you'd be owed E7 change! Very frustrating so make sure you always have a couple of euros for your tickets.

We used Airport Shuttle Express to get to and from Fiumcino airport. It cost 15 euros per person and took half an hour to get to the hotel and back. This would have been the same price as getting on the Leonardo Express train to the central terminal, and then we would have had to have got the metro on from there so it seemed like a good option - cheaper, quicker and easier. Would definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAwesomeLawsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice hotel, but small rooms. Free breakfast, fairly nice, A little far away from city center,but close to metro station Lorentina. Staff has limited English, seems to speak Italia a lot. Rooms are a little noisy, you can hear people next door , staff is friendly. Hotel is in a remote suburb with very little to do. All the entertainment is downtown in Rome city which you have to take a train to go.

Room Tip: there is no pool and no kids activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylizzy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.1 mi away
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#508 of 1,257 in Rome
1,500 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Fleming
Grand Hotel Fleming
#433 of 1,257 in Rome
1,220 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Costanza
Hotel Santa Costanza
#535 of 1,257 in Rome
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dei Congressi
Hotel Dei Congressi
#303 of 1,257 in Rome
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Eur Parco dei Pini
Villa Eur Parco dei Pini
#258 of 1,257 in Rome
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Fontane
Hotel Tre Fontane
#613 of 1,257 in Rome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel American Palace EUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel American Palace EUR

Property: TOP Hotel American Palace EUR
Address: Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP Hotel American Palace EUR 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace", a 4 stars hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TOP Hotel American Palace EUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rome
Rome Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing