We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2* at best, more like 1*. Definitely not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel American Palace EUR
Ranked #1,051 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The American Palace is very old and tired. The rooms are minuscule - I could barely walk around my bed without having to duck to avoid hitting the wall-mounted TV. Outside the hotel there are boards with 4 stars on, which might lull you into thinking this is a 4* hotel. It is not, by any stretch of the imagination. The rooms are small, yes, but that's not it. In my tiny room, the flooring was linoleum rather than carpet, the walls were chipped and battered, there were no coat hangers in my wardrobe and no tea or coffee making facilities. The bathroom was tiny and the shower cubicle (no bath) had chipped and broken tiles, and a leaking pipe dribbled water over the floor. Frankly, none of these things would have bothered me too much if I had managed to get some sleep, but this proved impossible with the dual carriageway outside the inadequately glazed window, and the constant clanking of the flagpoles that were attached to my balcony. Any sound from the corridor was amplified a thousand fold and the staff on night duty to whom I complained at 0230 were unhelpful in the extreme when I asked if I could change rooms. They said they were fully booked and that I therefore couldn't change, but I could see a number of keys hanging on the board. The bed was hard and the linen consisted of a sheet and a synthetic bedspread. The food in the restaurant was passable, but the menu was very limited with just three set options from which you could not mix and match, and the wine was definitely from the vinegar end of the spectrum. Breakfast was marginally better, although the fruit juice was the wateriest I have ever had (think Tesco Value considerably diluted). My recommendation would be to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pyralisrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

First-price: bearing in mind its Rome-like other EU capitals, the price is very reasonable.
Breakfast- no complaints except the coffee-absolute rubbish from a machine! Choice of food for breakfast is good.
Restaurant- I would recommend not to bother using it in the evening. ordering & delivery is a test of patience shall we say.
Room- for the price OK, beds are extremely cheap & narrow & I found it difficult not to continue to fall out. Annoying factor is the splash curtain over the bath. If you take a shower-it constantly sticks to you.
Location- 5 minute walk to Laurentina Metro, a 6 Euro 24hr ticket & 20 minutes later you are in central Rome. Finding a place to eat is not difficult & all tastes are catered for- I even saw some Curry places.
I was with a colleague for business meetings very close to the hotel- so it was a practical choice.
Would I go there again- yes.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms seem to be more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akersolinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It's the most awful Hotel that I have ever been.
1. The rooms are very small and it was always noise, you can hear your neighbors and what is in hallway.
2. In the winter is cold, even if room has air-condition.
3. Before you arrive- hotel blocked full price for accomodation, and only after 15 days they are should unlock amount from the card.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valeri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A simply good hotel. Nothing more. Large and very old. Small rooms and very closely. The food was good. In position outside Rome, but close to the metro and buses. UNACCEPTABLE staff. They were talking from obligation. Afraid to ask for something. Look at your face. Only these restaurants were good and polite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Γιώργος Ε
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Uninviting. Room problems,Wasted time waiting to change rooms. 20 min to centre of Rome.Breakfast hit and miss and not great quality. First day table covers then they only appeared once more in 6 days?Works in room opposite.Dirty net curtains. Better room last two days. No desk light.DON’T accept what they try to offer you. Make sure you are happy before you move in! Manager offered me a total refund at start. HOW WOULD YOU THEN FIND A REPLACEMENT> My room smelt bad!!

Room Tip: Just make sure you get the size of room you book as they will say they are full and try to get you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eggtimer186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for five nights and I loved this hotel. It is clean and comfortable and convenient to the Laurentina subway station and several bus lines. The staff were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was included and there was a good variety of items in the breakfast buffet which is served from 7-10. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is quiet and safe. There is a Carrefour supermarket, a bank, and some small restaurants and shops within walking distance and it was about 15-20 minutes to the city center by subway. The rooms may seem small to American travelers, but it was comfortable and sufficient.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank givanna06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is large, functional and entirely without character, but it is situated very close to the Metro station at Laurentina. From there you can be at the Colosseum in under 15 minutes. There was free wi-fi, but breakfast was a desultory affair. A buffet is bad enough, but automatic coffee-making machines really ought to be banned from all hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walks-in-Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.1 mi away
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#487 of 1,271 in Rome
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Eur Parco dei Pini
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Roma Eur
Ibis Styles Roma Eur
#284 of 1,271 in Rome
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Roma Eur
Novotel Roma Eur
#249 of 1,271 in Rome
884 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Fleming
Grand Hotel Fleming
#464 of 1,271 in Rome
1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dei Congressi
Hotel Dei Congressi
#327 of 1,271 in Rome
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Palace EUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Palace EUR

Address: Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#357 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Palace EUR 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace", a 4 stars hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel American Palace EUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rome
Rome Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing