We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely small room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TOP Hotel American Palace EUR

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TOP Hotel American Palace EUR
Ranked #787 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely small room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Hmm well a list of pro's and cons here with our stay !
Well situated across road from laurentina subway and bus station. We used the subway and some journeys we had to change lines but others we just stayed on our line. Brilliant for getting to all the main sites - but at times the carriages are crowded and peoples faces are practically squashed to the doors ! However the train back home to laurentina comes along about every 2 mins so we just waited for an emptier train ! Not much round the hotel though -there is a Carrefour supermarket along the road and a few shops round the corner but other than hotel restaurant/bar we only found a pizzeria - not to say they weren't there if you looked though !
We were booked in quickly and handed our key - yes key - none if this card business ! There are 4 very small lifts - we were on the 5th floor ! Neither my daughter or myself are keen in lifts and they looked very old -so we walked up the stairs -with our suitcase !! However I didn't ask for low floor so that was my error !! Hallway was stylish - room was well, small ! I have stayed in city hotels in London Paris and Hong Kong but this one was super small - 1 twin beds but at right angles with one going into an alcove - peeking at other rooms when doors were open I think we were dumped in this room which I think was prob a single and another bed put in it ! But we had a balcony ! No table and chairs but a good sized balcony none the less. Unfortunately it overlooked a main road but being city dwellers who live on a main road anyway this didn't cause us any concern and as it was warm we had our balcony door open every night while we slept ! We had a tv but only cnn and bbc world news in English. There was a mini bar fridge and a safety deposit box in the wardrobe and a chair and desk plus hair dryer in bathroom. Shower was a bit if a problem - size if a telephone box and a fitted shower head that only moved directionally not up and down !. Being only 5 foot 3 that shower head rained directly into my head and face and then ran down my body so it was more like a daily drowning ! It also didn't drain properly and I was stood in water up to my ankles - well until it flowed out and all over the floor ! Clean white fluffy towels though so that helped soak it up !
Cleaned well daily and to a high standard.
Breakfast was ok - nothing special but a nice continental style selection and was all self service with juice and got drink machines. Trying to get a clean table was a problem though -watched tables sit with dirty plates etc on for a good 15 mins before being cleaned. Our flight home was 7am so we were collected from hotel at 4am. The hotel had made us all a picnic breakfast - what a lovely touch !! We sat out in the courtyard one evening with a bottle of wine which was lovely and were brought little snacks free of charge - cake prunes and peanuts ! !!
All in all a fair hotel at a fair price which was well situated and clean. If you want a base where you only really want to sleep then it's fine - otherwise pay a bit more and get a bit of luxury and more bars etc in the vicinity. To be fair though, we were up and out by 9am and back by 8pm. And we were ready to lay on our beds and read by then ! Especially after a carafe of wine !!!
Tip : if you are doing Vatican, coliseum etc it is well worth paying the additional cost of a tour guide - money well paid ! We bought tickets at home because we were advised of the queues so we just paid further your guide on top - but a tour guide will also get your tickets and you pay all inclusive cost ! The tour guide was 13 euros for coliseum and palatino and 21 for Vatican City. They should all be licensed and charge the same and offer tours in a few languages. In the coliseum our tour guide was randomly chosen to have her license checked so it is a matter taken seriously !

If you are near the coliseum there is a tourist information centre set in a courtyard - it has tables and chairs and benches with toilet facilities and a kiosk for drinks and snacks. The Asian man working there speaks 3 or 4 languages and is great ! We also had the biggest cornettos I have even seen !!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank budgielover01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    297
    395
    229
    176
See reviews for
166
358
93
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The American Palace is very old and tired. The rooms are minuscule - I could barely walk around my bed without having to duck to avoid hitting the wall-mounted TV. Outside the hotel there are boards with 4 stars on, which might lull you into thinking this is a 4* hotel. It is not, by any stretch of the imagination. The rooms are small, yes, but that's not it. In my tiny room, the flooring was linoleum rather than carpet, the walls were chipped and battered, there were no coat hangers in my wardrobe and no tea or coffee making facilities. The bathroom was tiny and the shower cubicle (no bath) had chipped and broken tiles, and a leaking pipe dribbled water over the floor. Frankly, none of these things would have bothered me too much if I had managed to get some sleep, but this proved impossible with the dual carriageway outside the inadequately glazed window, and the constant clanking of the flagpoles that were attached to my balcony. Any sound from the corridor was amplified a thousand fold and the staff on night duty to whom I complained at 0230 were unhelpful in the extreme when I asked if I could change rooms. They said they were fully booked and that I therefore couldn't change, but I could see a number of keys hanging on the board. The bed was hard and the linen consisted of a sheet and a synthetic bedspread. The food in the restaurant was passable, but the menu was very limited with just three set options from which you could not mix and match, and the wine was definitely from the vinegar end of the spectrum. Breakfast was marginally better, although the fruit juice was the wateriest I have ever had (think Tesco Value considerably diluted). My recommendation would be to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pyralisrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Warsaw
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

First-price: bearing in mind its Rome-like other EU capitals, the price is very reasonable.
Breakfast- no complaints except the coffee-absolute rubbish from a machine! Choice of food for breakfast is good.
Restaurant- I would recommend not to bother using it in the evening. ordering & delivery is a test of patience shall we say.
Room- for the price OK, beds are extremely cheap & narrow & I found it difficult not to continue to fall out. Annoying factor is the splash curtain over the bath. If you take a shower-it constantly sticks to you.
Location- 5 minute walk to Laurentina Metro, a 6 Euro 24hr ticket & 20 minutes later you are in central Rome. Finding a place to eat is not difficult & all tastes are catered for- I even saw some Curry places.
I was with a colleague for business meetings very close to the hotel- so it was a practical choice.
Would I go there again- yes.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms seem to be more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akersolinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

It's the most awful Hotel that I have ever been.
1. The rooms are very small and it was always noise, you can hear your neighbors and what is in hallway.
2. In the winter is cold, even if room has air-condition.
3. Before you arrive- hotel blocked full price for accomodation, and only after 15 days they are should unlock amount from the card.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Αριδαία, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

A simply good hotel. Nothing more. Large and very old. Small rooms and very closely. The food was good. In position outside Rome, but close to the metro and buses. UNACCEPTABLE staff. They were talking from obligation. Afraid to ask for something. Look at your face. Only these restaurants were good and polite.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Γιώργος Ε
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Uninviting. Room problems,Wasted time waiting to change rooms. 20 min to centre of Rome.Breakfast hit and miss and not great quality. First day table covers then they only appeared once more in 6 days?Works in room opposite.Dirty net curtains. Better room last two days. No desk light.DON’T accept what they try to offer you. Make sure you are happy before you move in! Manager offered me a total refund at start. HOW WOULD YOU THEN FIND A REPLACEMENT> My room smelt bad!!

Room Tip: Just make sure you get the size of room you book as they will say they are full and try to get you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggtimer186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for five nights and I loved this hotel. It is clean and comfortable and convenient to the Laurentina subway station and several bus lines. The staff were friendly and courteous. Breakfast was included and there was a good variety of items in the breakfast buffet which is served from 7-10. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is quiet and safe. There is a Carrefour supermarket, a bank, and some small restaurants and shops within walking distance and it was about 15-20 minutes to the city center by subway. The rooms may seem small to American travelers, but it was comfortable and sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank givanna06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#524 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Hotel Santa Costanza
#421 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#419 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#625 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Villa Eur Parco dei Pini
#366 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#334 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel American Palace EUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel American Palace EUR

Property: TOP Hotel American Palace EUR
Address: Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#318 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TOP Hotel American Palace EUR 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace", a 4 stars hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your TOP Hotel American Palace EUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rome
Rome Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing