We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel American Palace EUR
Ranked #1,047 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Easy to arrive with the metro, as it is on the last stop of Laurentina line. From there only a few meters to walk. Booking over booking.com we really got a good price. Breakfast was satisfactory to us. There was in enough choice. It's not very cosy as many groups are lodged in the hotel there is a lot of traffic in the restaurant. Unfortunately our bathroom in the 6th floor smelled very much of mold. This was a bit disturbing to us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calendulaofficinalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We got into this hotel at around six o'clock on a hot day. Got into our room - so small we almost had to plan who goes where. Air conditiong was not on and the room was hot and stuffy, so turned it on. The air from the machine was not cold, it was moderately cool. By around midnight it has just started to be somewhat pleasant so I thought I could sleep - and the hotel turned the air conditioning off! So I took a cool shower to cool off in the hot room and tried to sleep - the cars passing the hotel made the windows rattle, and the noise kept me from sleeping. Got about 3 hours of sleep that night!

The good points: the breakfast was rather good, there was quite a lot of choice. And the free wifi worked well.

I might consider this hotel again if the weather was cool and I had no other options. But otherwise, no.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Suomimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Well, i visited this hotel year ago and the location was not the best. As well as everything else, but it was a deal to stay in my budget for a trip and i never felt like looking for something more suitable for me. But my stay was over and i left with about neutral emotions. For my second stay it was obvious that hotel delivers nearly best prices and i booked it prior 3 weeks before checkin. And the same day hotel authorised the whole value of my stay. Ok i thought. But the next day i recieve a message from my bank that hotel authorised another whole value of a booking (for 5 nights!). I was surprised. I contacted hotel (but the speed of replies was so poor i thought they never got to write me one) and it said they authorised just once (lie). On my claim to refund me my money no response. So i cancelled my booking. Such a poor client sercice and some kind of fraudulent activity changed my mind to deal with it ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackaman3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

-good entrance hall and coffee shop area
- plain breakfast, do not expect skimmed milk, whole brain, etc
-close to the metro station and a supermarket
-there is a fruit seller in front of the hotel on the other side of the street what really helps when you have a crave for some fresh fruit
-be aware that the rooms (or the room I stayed in # 106) is small it would fit for only one person and the bathroom is also really small.
-avenue is also really noisy during the night
-staff is good

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I don't know if this is Italian's standard, but this hotel is Not even close to a 2 star hotel let alone claiming to be a four. Terrible beds, terrible, dirty and tiny bath tub. Don't let your kids walk on the carpet, it was so dirty. Room smelled, decor is so dark and old. We were there for 1 night in March. We asked to park inside on the hotel parking lot, at first they told us it was full. Then, we asked again, they told us our van was too big, so we offered to pay for 2 spaces, but they said no. We saw same vacant spaces but again they told us our van is the problem. They told us to park outside, it's safe..its next to the police station....NO It was not safe. Our car got broken in. It cost us 250 ueros to get it fix and lost half of our vacation day in Rome. It ruined our holiday not to mention, we've lost a few things from the car. They did help us to find a place to repair our window....not sure if they are related or not...but it seemed to me the hotel staff and the repair shop have been business of referrals before. It got me wondered.....it we were set up to park outside of the hotel.......

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel very noisy, walls are made out of paper, doors slamming for most of the nights I stayed, breakfast although plenty of it was was mainly cousants, coffee was awful, I took my own stuff to make coffee in room ! But there's no kettle ! Asked at the restaurant they gave me a jug. If you get an early flight be warned that the taxi will charge you 45 euros, there is no transport early in the morning. Probably the worst place I have stayed, top it all they gave me a doggy bag for breakfast as I was leaving early to catch my flight home.

Room Tip: Take a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Good: clean, nice restaurant
Average: the breakfast has more things than most of the Italian hotels, but nothing spectacular
Bad: hotel staff not very friendly, gives very brief information and speak little English; the hotel is far away from the centre, 5 minutes to the metro station and then 20 minutes to Colosseum or 40 minutes to Vatican City by metro. Don't even think about taking a bus, it will take double.
If you have a room that has window to the Laurentina street, it will be very noisy even at night.
They don't have quilts, just blankets so if you go in the cold season you have to cover yourself with more blankets. Or you can turn on the air conditioning but is very noisy.
The room that we got was very small, about 70cm around the bed until the wall.

Room Tip: rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.1 mi away
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
Cristoforo Colombo Hotel
#487 of 1,271 in Rome
1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Eur Parco dei Pini
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Roma Eur
Ibis Styles Roma Eur
#280 of 1,271 in Rome
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Roma Eur
Novotel Roma Eur
#250 of 1,271 in Rome
882 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Fleming
Grand Hotel Fleming
#465 of 1,271 in Rome
1,321 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Costanza
Hotel Santa Costanza
#574 of 1,271 in Rome
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Palace EUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Palace EUR

Address: Via Laurentina 554, 00143 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Palace EUR 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover "American Palace", a 4 stars hotel, located in the heart of the business district in Rome: EUR. An historic 7 floors building which has been completely renovated, during 2010, in all the bathrooms of its double rooms. Well connected to the main centre of Rome, the Hotel is well located close to public transports and just 50 m away from the subway, B.(LAURENTINA). The right place to stay and find all the comforts, a warm atmosphere granted by an high quality and variety of services, and a professional and friendly staff. During winter its wide common spaces are the ideal place to spend your spare time and in summer time our elegant inner garden offers rest at our open bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel American Palace EUR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rome
Rome Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing