We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #9 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel...”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

It's difficult to find anything to complain about after staying at the Hotel Artemide. However, it's equally difficult to find anything to justify a 2nd visit. To summarize, this is the essence of our stay:

The good:
- Waiting in our room upon arrival was a complimentary bottle of Italian red wine with compliments from the hotel manager as we had informed the hotel that this was our anniversary (nice touch, appreciated).
- Free WiFi and minibar are also appreciated, beats some other European hotels (I've been charged up to £15/day for internet access).
- Upon arrival we discovered that the drain in the bathroom sink appeared to be clogged. We informed the receptionist before going out for a walk, and came back to find everything in order.
- The bathroom was very nice - spacious and with the combined shower/bathtub you're hoping for when you see the pictures on their website.

The ok
- Service was good, can't complain, can't say we were amazed either. One of the bell boys and one of the receptionists (young guy who tipped us on local markets) stood out a bit from the rest.
- Beds were ok, from reviews of other hotels they seem to have been the usual Italian kind.
- Breakfast, which has been raved about in other reviews, was unfortunately also just ok. The selection was adequate, the quality was ok, but it didn't live up to our expectations as it seemed to be a high point of this hotel judging from other reviews.
- The location isn't bad, but not ideal if you wish to mainly be walking between the different sights. About 10 minutes from Termini, 10-15 minutes from the Fontana di Trevi, 15-20 minutes from most other sights like Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna etc.

The not so good
- The TV in the room (yes, it's a minor detail) suffered from an incredibly long latency.

All in all we had a pleasant stay, but for the price (approximately €250/night for a double room) there was the expectation of something to make it stand out a bit from the rest, unfortunately we didn't find that at Hotel Artemide.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,301
    1,081
    141
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,534
3,779
139
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,035)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Agree with all good things already said re this hotel, if returning would definitely stay again. Not a 'luxury' hotel as such but for the price they were very nice rooms (we had superior which was very spacious, clean and comfortable with all the nice touches as referred to in other reviews). Rome is expensive so our room at an average of €248 per night B&B I feel was reasonable.

If there was one area for improvement all I could think of would be the slow service on the roof terrace when it didn't look actually very busy, but not a real issue unless you are in a rush, which we weren't!

Maybe take some earplugs if you're light sleepers in a front facing room, did the trick for us!

These are small details only though... really liked the hotel and the staff went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. In fact I'd go as far as to say it was one of the best service experiences we've received in any European hotel, and we've stayed in many. Special thanks to Alessandro.

Room Tip: Traffic noise in front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue&Kev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel was in a great location, had friendly and helpful staff, a lovely breakfast and well equipped (if a little small) rooms. The bed was surely the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!
The roof-top terrace was a lovely place to enjoy a glass or two of Prosecco in the evening, and the prices were reasonable considering the location. The breakfast was good, with a large selection of breakfasts to suit every mood - and the hot chocolate was delicious.
I would stay here again without any hesitation and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great hotel in a fab location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Service was excellent here! Arrived early and were given free drinks on the rooftop terrace to begin our stay. We arrived in the room earlier than check in to find it very clean, beautifully decorated with a well stocked bathroom and mini bar. The breakfast food is very fresh serving everything from fruit to bacon and eggs and the staff were really helpful and efficient. The location of this hotel is ideal...this is my second visit to Rome and this hotel would be the one I would choose again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Wonderful staff.... Perfect central location near many sites! Free minibar is a real perk! Highly recommended to all potential travelers.........

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just arrived back from The Artemide due to TripAdvisors recommendation, so glad I changed my hotel to this one it really is the most perfect hotel,staff wonderful especially Matteo who arranged a birthday cake and champagne for my friends birthday for free!! breakfast was in another league for the choice, rooms lovely and big, bed soo comfortable couldn't fault anything with this hotel just wish I was back living there permanently!! will always stay here no hesitation for future Rome trips without doubt brilliant memories

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarcelonamadLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

As everyone has said this is a great hotel with great service. Friendly, helpful and fun. Our room smelled like smoke and I have allergies so Mateo moved us to a suite at the front of the hotel. Gorgeous room with a balcony. Comfortable bed and great bath and shower. Great location. Very quiet even though on a busy street. Definitely would stay here again! Thank you for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraAnneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,047 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing