We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Treatment & Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #9 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Five Star Treatment & Perfect Location”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This hotel is perfectly located in the middle of Central Rome, we walked everywhere. Our room was larger than most hotels in the area & the front desk staff went out of their way to help with directions and restaurant recommendations. Our room had a welcome letter addressed to us with a complementary bottle of wine, the mini-fridge is also stocked daily with complementary beer, water, juice and soda pop. The daily buffet breakfast was delicious and filling. It was offered to us at no additional charge, even though we didn't sign up for it on their website. The outdoor rooftop restaurant/lounge was a great spot to unwind at the end of the day. It was well worth the money to have a clean, comfortable room, & wonderful queen size bed to come back to after an exhausting day on the streets of Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Island04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,286
    1,075
    141
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,531
3,765
139
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed at the Artemide from 3rd-7th June, in a double room on the 4th floor. The hotel is located in the Quirinale district and within 10-25 minutes walk of all the tourist sights. Just walking down the Via Nazionale, turn left after the museum and at the end of the road....there's the Colleseum! Turn right through the tunnel and you're heading towards the Trevi Fountain and most of the other sights which are close together.We even managed to negotiate our way on foot through the back streets from the hotel to the Vatican and back, which is closer than you think if you read the map properly (head for the Castle then turn left!). We also used the 110 open tourist bus, which is a great idea for a tour to get your bearings around the city before you set out on foot. You can also decide from this what you want to go back and take a closer look at. It's €20 per person, and lasts 48hours for repeated hop on/off use.
The staff at the hotel are lovely, very friendly and happy to help you make the most of your stay in Rome, especially reception who helped book a tour for us and reconfirm our shuttle transfer back to the airport. The room was a reasonable size, if a little dark, no noise from the street that we experienced. If you are British, beware there are only news channels in English. The pay per view movies are pretty recent, €5 a go.
Feel free to send me a message if you have any specific questions.

Room Tip: Ask! Reception will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband & I stayed at the Artimede Roma for eigth nights in May. We picked this hotel because of the great reviews from other travelers, and and our raves to the list. The hotel was centrally located-an easy walk to buses, train and walkable to many sights for most people. (I have a pain condition, so for the most part we took the buses with no problems). Our room was spacious and very clean. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel -or anywheare for that matter! The breakfast buffet was very bountiful and delicious each day. The complimentary items in the room bar were a huge help each day -a very nice touch that really helped to make our stay more pleasant and memorable. Our every need and wish was met beyond our expectations. The entire staff from the front desk, bellhop, breakfast staff and host, cleaning staff were very kind, professional and helpful. We had dinner at their rooftop restaurant after a particularly long day of sightseeing, and it was very enjoyable and relaxing.

To sum up, I was very impressed with this hotel-it was all that I hoped for and our home away from home in Rome.

P.S. Rome was amazing! A must see.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvldrms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Vacationing in Europe as Americans these days is challenging due to costs and time to get there, etc. Spending time and funds wisely is imperative and we could not be more thrilled with our "investment" to stay at the Artemide in Rome. The staff, food, room, breakfast and little extras that the hotel graciously extends to guests is a refreshing departure from over-priced and under-valued hotels who have forgotten that the customer is who keeps them in business and should be first. This hotel understands that philosophy and is outstanding in every way making it not only a comfortable place to relax after touring and taking in the hectic pace of Rome, but also one of the best values I have seen in a long time. We don't mind spending money if the value is returned and the value in this case is returned ten-fold. I would go back and stay at this hotel again and again. The free refreshments re-stocked each day in your clean, comfortable room in this gorgeous location is one of the extras that sets this hotel apart from many others. The roof-top terrace provides a lovely view of the surrounding area with the Vatican in the distance. At night having a refreshing drink or meal after a long day and taking in the view is the finishing top that puts the icing on the cake!

Thank you Artemide staff for being kind, patient, fun and professional all the way. You made our celebration of our 60th and 55th birthdays a memory we will have forever! I recommend this hotel for a stay that you won't be disappointed in! Bravo for leading the way on quality and putting your customers first! That is what a vacation should be all about and you delivered on all of it! Sincere thanks!

Room Tip: Website helps and call them to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great base for touring Rome. We stayed there twice (either side of a tour of the south of Italy) and both rooms were small but comfortable. The first time we were at the back of the hotel and it was surprisingly quiet. For the second stay we were at the front of the hotel and there was a gentle hum of passing traffic. Didn't affect our sleep, but those that need perfect quiet may prefer a room at the back.
Staff were always friendly - and free access to the daily-stocked beer, water, soft drink, nuts and biscuits in the minibar was appreciated. Free wireless internet and daily newspaper were also bonuses.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

It's difficult to find anything to complain about after staying at the Hotel Artemide. However, it's equally difficult to find anything to justify a 2nd visit. To summarize, this is the essence of our stay:

The good:
- Waiting in our room upon arrival was a complimentary bottle of Italian red wine with compliments from the hotel manager as we had informed the hotel that this was our anniversary (nice touch, appreciated).
- Free WiFi and minibar are also appreciated, beats some other European hotels (I've been charged up to £15/day for internet access).
- Upon arrival we discovered that the drain in the bathroom sink appeared to be clogged. We informed the receptionist before going out for a walk, and came back to find everything in order.
- The bathroom was very nice - spacious and with the combined shower/bathtub you're hoping for when you see the pictures on their website.

The ok
- Service was good, can't complain, can't say we were amazed either. One of the bell boys and one of the receptionists (young guy who tipped us on local markets) stood out a bit from the rest.
- Beds were ok, from reviews of other hotels they seem to have been the usual Italian kind.
- Breakfast, which has been raved about in other reviews, was unfortunately also just ok. The selection was adequate, the quality was ok, but it didn't live up to our expectations as it seemed to be a high point of this hotel judging from other reviews.
- The location isn't bad, but not ideal if you wish to mainly be walking between the different sights. About 10 minutes from Termini, 10-15 minutes from the Fontana di Trevi, 15-20 minutes from most other sights like Piazza Navona, Piazza di Spagna etc.

The not so good
- The TV in the room (yes, it's a minor detail) suffered from an incredibly long latency.

All in all we had a pleasant stay, but for the price (approximately €250/night for a double room) there was the expectation of something to make it stand out a bit from the rest, unfortunately we didn't find that at Hotel Artemide.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Agree with all good things already said re this hotel, if returning would definitely stay again. Not a 'luxury' hotel as such but for the price they were very nice rooms (we had superior which was very spacious, clean and comfortable with all the nice touches as referred to in other reviews). Rome is expensive so our room at an average of €248 per night B&B I feel was reasonable.

If there was one area for improvement all I could think of would be the slow service on the roof terrace when it didn't look actually very busy, but not a real issue unless you are in a rush, which we weren't!

Maybe take some earplugs if you're light sleepers in a front facing room, did the trick for us!

These are small details only though... really liked the hotel and the staff went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. In fact I'd go as far as to say it was one of the best service experiences we've received in any European hotel, and we've stayed in many. Special thanks to Alessandro.

Room Tip: Traffic noise in front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue&Kev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing