We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but a little overrated”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but a little overrated”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in late Dec. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but didn't think it lived up to the 5 star reviews and some of the more glowing ratings and a #4 overall for Rome (unless Hotels in Rome are significantly lower than other major European cities).

Don't get me wrong, it was a good hotel, I would likely stay again but it isn't a "no questions asked" stay again, I would some time looking around, and then evaluate. Details are below.

--Location: It was a good location, grocery nearby, good food nearby, it didn't seem to be particularly close to any large sites but not far either. It is on a very busy street but I was away from it and didn't notice

--Room/hotel. Our room was large and up to date. It came with free soda/water which was convienent. The one issue (I thinkk this was the issue) is I think they used too much bleach in the towels/sheets because my wife had some skin irriation. It was either that our the soap, this didn't happen anywhere else on our long Europe trip

--Breakfast. They had a large well stocked buffett with coffee pots on the table (very cool), that said, this was the weakest part for us (my wife and I love breakfast). The food quality was not high. I don't know how to describe but relative to other 4 star hotels on our trip, the quality of the meat, baked goods, fruits was not as good. It was a decent buffett and maybe we were spoiled but this was a disapointment

--Service. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous. No complaints at all here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbmateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,467
    1,095
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,586
3,867
145
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We loved our stay at the Artemide Hotel. It is such a change to find a hotel that tries to exceed expectations. As a family, the room was big enough and the free minibar was so handy. The kids loved the free wi-fi as well. They spoilt us with chocolates everyday and it is great to get salad items in the breakfast buffet. Close to Termini and metro. Will recommend them to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The room, staff and hotel were terrific. Breakfast included was standard European buffet with a very good wait staff. They actually served coffee by the pot! Downside was the location. Everything was a 15 euro cab ride. About a five block walk to the Termini rail station, but take a cab as the sidewalks are crowded. The staff recommended a great little trattoria two blocks away. Buy the internet by the day if you need it.

Try the rooftop lounge at night. A nice view of St. Peter's

Room Tip: Street noise continues into the night. If you are a light sleeper DO NOT take a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

What an awesome experience! Everyone is helpful and the hotel is lovely. My only complaint is that they upgraded our room and the only way to access it was up a winding staircase.

Breakfast was okay, the juice variety and the fruit were delicious. Complimentary mini-bar!!!

The hotel is located on a wonderful street that allows you to utilize public transportation, which is wonderful here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Clean but very underwhelming rooms. Too expensive and location for us was way too touristy ( that's just a personal preference )

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkitheFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
First of all we would like to thank the Guest for sharing her experience with us.
We always value all comments received because it gives us the opportunity to improve ourselves. However we would like to underline the fact that both location and rooms are well described on our website so to give each Guest a clearer insight on what they are buying based on their preferences. Furthermore, being in the heart of Rome, close to all major sights and being a holiday season, the area tends to be very touristy as for all cities and of course more expensive than in other locations.
We always remain at the Guests complete disposal for any assistance they might require in order to make an informed choice for their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel after reading the reviews in tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Although it was on a major road our bedroom was situated over an inner courtyard and we were not disturbed by the traffic at all. Our bedroom was lovely with excellent amenities such as a free minibar (replenished every day) and tea/coffee making facilities - something that you do not always get in Italy. As also mentioned there were lots of toiletries in the bathroom. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and I was very impressed by the standard of housekeeping.

We had booked the bed and breakfast package and the breakfast was very good. We ate in the rooftop restaurant one evening and it was perfectly adequate. There was also a rooftop bar and it was nice to have a relaxing drink there every evening after a day's sightseeing.

The hotel is very conveniently located for many of the major attractions and we could in fact walk to everywhere we wanted to visit. It is also very convenient to the Termini and we could easily walk to it when we arrived by train from Florence.

The staff are excellent and were always extremely obliging. We left our luggage on the last day as our flight home was not until the evening and the staff could not have been more helpful. They recommended that a taxi would be our best alternative to go to the airport and organised that for us. They also told us it was a set charge to the airport and informed the taxi driver that we knew this. He then switched off his meter when we got in his car! They really were so helpful and gave us advice in the evenings for places to go for our evening meals.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are considering a trip to Rome. I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miss_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The good: The hotel is in the middle of Rome, making it an ideal jumping-off point. The room was excellent (two bedroom suite) and the American flag outside our room was a very nice touch. The free mini bar was always stocked (water, snacks, etc) and the staff was exceptional. We did have a problem with the guests in the room above ours (their children were being rude by jumping on the floor). The Artimede staff dealt with this immediately and effectively. The food was great and the breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day. The Maid staff did a great job, too.

The bad: the hotel is on busy Via Nationale. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked this busy and noisy road. There were ambulances and car horns honking all night. If you're a light sleeper, I suggest you request a room that doesn't overlook this road.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request an interior room that doesn't overlook noisy Via National...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JE and JA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,183 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,924 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,325 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing