We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for Visiting Rome; delivers on all essential criteria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for Visiting Rome; delivers on all essential criteria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed in many top-end / good hotels in Rome and were very impressed with Hotel Artemide - it certainly exceeded our expectations for a hotel in its class. Even though it is located on the busy Via Nationale, we had an incredibly quiet room and slept soundly in very comfortable beds. The room was spotless, very well appointed, plenty of storage space, warm but not hot and stuffy, everything worked and the standard of housekeeping was top class. Our deal included a free minibar and coffee/tea making facilities which were very well stocked and fully replenished daily. Our bed linen was also changed daily and toiletries fully restocked. We slept so well (never interruped by housekeeping) that we never made it down breakfast but I would assume it matched the rest of the hotel’s high standards. All the staff we met, housekeeping and front desk were most helpful and accommodating. Wifi is free is and we were not changed for using the business centre for our on-line check-in and printing of boarding passes. Front desk arranged for flat fee of €45 to FCO airport in very nice Mercedes. We would highly recommend this hotel as a base for visiting Rome.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and got one so not sure if some rooms are quieter than others. Our room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandAOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,118
    1,061
    137
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,492
3,647
135
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Artemide was the last hotel of our honeymoon. The service is the highlight. We had an upgrade and stayed at the best room of the hotel and they let us a botlle of wine as welcome. We will definitely stay there again. Good location, walking distance to the main points.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia180811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We read lots of reviews of hotels in Rome and chose this one because of the great reviews. We were not disappointed. Clean room of reasonable size. Lots of pleasant extras - stocked mini bar, chocolates, lots of bathroom items. Pleasant breakfast room with great service from staff. Lots of choices on the buffet. On a very busy street, but didn't near noise at night. 3 short blocks to the metro station. Grocery across the street and down a short block. Had no trouble with elevator during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJMN828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at the Artemide for 5 nights. Its a good hotel. I agree with some reviews its a bit overrated. The Service i found was quite good but apart from that the rooms and the hotel facilities itself are quite ok. Please dont mistake this as rooms are not good, they are quite clean and decent its just that they arent 5 star as some of the reviews might suggest. The key for me was the location. We could walk to most places in Rome for sightseeing.
There are 2 train stations which can be used and are 5mins walk from the Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ani_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Fooled by the excellent reviews and the high ranking of the hotel, I booked for a “long weekend” (Friday to Monday) stay during October 2011.
Having previously very nice experiences in Rome, with hotels ranked below hotel Artemide in your ranking, I created high expectations for my stay there!
It was a real disappointment! I wonder if all these people who wrote these reviews and selected this hotel as the “2011 traveler’s choice” have been before to any “good” hotel in Rome. If the reason of the high rate is the free mini bar or the free internet, I believe that anyhow these expenses are already included in the room price which is overpriced for the services and the condition of the hotel.
More specifically,
the reception is very small and usually overcrowded.
The lift is small that means that you have to in the queue and sometimes is not working (it happened twice during my stay, not very nice to take the stairs for the 4th floor).
The room is generally ok (I had only to comment that I paid for a “superior” double room and I received a room with view to some internal metallic stairs )
The breakfast is ok but with limited selection. Every day during my stay was offered exactly the same things. I guess if you have a longer stay this can be boring.
The location is good, anyhow you have to walk 5-10 to any attraction point or to metro.
To my opinion this is a nice 3-4 stars hotel. Definitely not one of the top 3-4 hotels in Rome as it is ranked. If it was with at least 30% lower price definitely could be a good alternative for a “budget” stay in Rome. With the room rates that they have better try some other hotels (eg in Via Veneto or nearby)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BagSlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment in your stay and that we were not up to your expectations.
However please note that our website has clear images and information regarding our hotel and facilities which have helped many other Guests choose us among other 4 star hotels in Rome.
As for the TripAdvisor reviews, which are more than 1500+, most are very positive regarding our staff, facilities and hotel in general and we continue receiving many thank you emails by our Guests to compliment us. We of course cannot know where our other Guests have been in other Hotels in Rome, but we have always underlined the fact that who comes and stays with us comes not only for the free minibar or internet, but especially for our services and staff which is always regarded as one of the best of Rome for a 4 star Hotel. Of course 5 stars hotels in Via Veneto will be different from us and definitely far more expensive as well.

As for the other points, please let us try and explain them.
Regarding the reception, this is a normal size reception desk which, depending on the time, may be very busy with check in and check outs as all hotels are during these service hours.
As for the lifts, we have 4 which take the Guests to the various floors of the Hotel. These can carry up to 4 people at a time. It is true that this is less than the normal 6 people, however, our building is an historical one and many facilities, including the lifts, had to be adapted to modern usage and could not be completely replaced due to strict architectonic preservation laws.
Furthermore, as many city hotels the view of the rooms may vary. We understand that there was a concern about the view of this particular room, however, our staff is always ready to help our Guests in case they would prefer a different room type and we are sorry to hear only now this matter which could have been solved during the stay.
The breakfast was another issue covered. We always try to offer as many different products as possible for breakfast, however being a buffet there is not much possibility to vary daily an already diverse offer of items. However, even in this case, our staff is always at the Guests disposal for any particular request.
As a last point, the location of the Hotel is well described on the websites where we sell and it is considered a very central one for all main attractions. Of course we are not in front of the Colloseum, however, we are only 5 minutes walking from the main train station which not only has both the underground line stops, but also all the main bus stops just in front of it. Furthermore, most of the tourist areas are a max of 15 minutes walking distance or, as the Vatican City, are reachable with the nearby underground station, therefore there is really no need of taxis when staying here.

As always we are at the Guests complete disposal to make an informed choice before their stay with us especially because we do understand that each person’s taste differs and we always want to make all our Guests happy of their choice for their holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in late Dec. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but didn't think it lived up to the 5 star reviews and some of the more glowing ratings and a #4 overall for Rome (unless Hotels in Rome are significantly lower than other major European cities).

Don't get me wrong, it was a good hotel, I would likely stay again but it isn't a "no questions asked" stay again, I would some time looking around, and then evaluate. Details are below.

--Location: It was a good location, grocery nearby, good food nearby, it didn't seem to be particularly close to any large sites but not far either. It is on a very busy street but I was away from it and didn't notice

--Room/hotel. Our room was large and up to date. It came with free soda/water which was convienent. The one issue (I thinkk this was the issue) is I think they used too much bleach in the towels/sheets because my wife had some skin irriation. It was either that our the soap, this didn't happen anywhere else on our long Europe trip

--Breakfast. They had a large well stocked buffett with coffee pots on the table (very cool), that said, this was the weakest part for us (my wife and I love breakfast). The food quality was not high. I don't know how to describe but relative to other 4 star hotels on our trip, the quality of the meat, baked goods, fruits was not as good. It was a decent buffett and maybe we were spoiled but this was a disapointment

--Service. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous. No complaints at all here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbmateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We loved our stay at the Artemide Hotel. It is such a change to find a hotel that tries to exceed expectations. As a family, the room was big enough and the free minibar was so handy. The kids loved the free wi-fi as well. They spoilt us with chocolates everyday and it is great to get salad items in the breakfast buffet. Close to Termini and metro. Will recommend them to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing