We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong at the Artemide”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had a great stay at the Artemide. We are very particular about hotels, especially cleanliness - the Artemide ticked all our boxes. The hotel was in a good location, the rooms were very nice and exceptionally clean. The weather during our trip to Rome was around 32 C so it was always nice to get back to the hotel and it's air conditioning. The hotel also provided us with a coupon for a 'welcome drink', a 20% off coupon for dinner at their roof top terrace, and a coupon for a free breakfast there - all of that was very nice. Hotel also provides free wi-fi in the rooms. Also because on our last day we had to leave at 3 am to catch our flight they also provided us with a breakfast to take along with us - how nice is that. The staff was very nice - great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,161 - 4,167 of 6,866 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

When we travel, we try to find a centrally located hotel. This hotel seemed to fit that criteria. In the end it did not. First, it is a fine hotel, the staff is great, the rooms are clean and well stocked. We received a personalized note and bottle of wine upon checking in. We received other offers and discounts, too. The roof top restaurant is beautiful, the best part of the hotel. We had dessert and drinks there most nights, though we never dined there. The hotel is near the train station but that's about it. Nothing else is within walking distance. We always use the public transportation, and that helped us avoid taxi costs. During an afternoon walk to explore the neighborhood, and just three blocks away, I was greeted by a couple "working ladies." This caused us to be concerned about the safety of the area in the evenings. At night, we took taxis and did not venture off Via Nazionale, the main street. Again, very nice hotel, great staff, clean and everything else you expect from a fine hotel, but rethink the area.

Room Tip: I booking our room through Expedia, we neglected to upgrade from the small room which we usually do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review of our Hotel. We are glad to learn that you have found our Staff and Service to be to your liking and that you have also enjoyed our newly refurbished Rooftop Restaurant&Bar.

We also have understood that your main concerns are in regards to our distance to main attractions and to safety in the area.

As many Guests have already said in their review, our Hotel is located on Via Nazionale, one of the main shopping streets in Rome. The area is well connected via buses and the underground to all major sites in Rome. However, most of the sites, except the Vatican that is a 30/40 minute walk away, are also reachable on foot. The Trevi fountain and Spanish steps are only 10 minutes away, while the Colloseum and Forum are around 20 minutes downhill. We are sorry to hear that you have found our location not very comfortable to explore Rome. However, this is well depicted on our website and also may be found easily on the internet so that our Guests may check where the Hotel is and see the distance to other main site before choosing to book us. Furthermore, many of our Guests seemed to be happy to be able to reach most of the attractions on foot from our Hotel and have reported so on the reviews they have left. Also, our Front Desk is always available to depict on a map the quickest way to reach the main attractions.

Regarding the safety of the area, we are sorry to hear that you have not felt secure enough to walk around at night. Although close by the main train station, which is only 10 minutes on foot, the main street where the Hotel is located is always busy with people, furthermore many restaurants and bars in the area are open until late. Unfortunately from your review we could not figure out exactly in which area you where walking at night time and would not be able to say if you where nearer to the train station or somewhere else.
Furthermore, it is common sense and knowledge that in main cities train station may not be safe at night and it goes without saying that if possible it would be better to walk in a well lit area. We would also like to underline the fact that Via Nazionale where the Hotel is located is a safe street and area. Rome is a big city and as many others, there are some areas to avoid, in this case it would be more appropriate to contact Rome’s city council than complain about it with the Hotel.

Nevertheless we are sorry to hear that this has ruined your trip and has not given you the possibility to relax and enjoy Rome by night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Went in late June and weather in Rome was consistently around 35 degrees celsius. The hotel had great air conditioning and was very comfortable. Travelled as 2 adults with 2 teenage kids. Overall a great experience and all the sights were, as stated, around 15 minutes walk from the hotel. In the heat however, this walk could be tiring and we usually just took taxis to the centre of Rome. If not in summer, this location would be fine and we had a very pleasant stay at the Artemide Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

While disappointed with the size of the room (but on par with others in Europe for the price), the overall experience was wonderful. The staff were extremely helpful and the hotel was very clean and well kept. We used the rooftop terrace, business center and front desk staff frequently. My son mentioned that several machines in the workout room were broken when he went to use them. Great location for getting just about anywhere.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Threekittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our staff and facilities to be of your liking.

However, we are sorry to hear that your son has encountered some problems with our Gym equipment. After reading your review we have checked the equipment and it seems that all are working well. The only thing we may think happened is that our machines are kinetic therefore not clearly switched on at first sight. This kind of machines will activate only with motion, therefore if they have not been used in a while they might seem broken, although they are in fact only on standby. In order to avoid electricity waste, we have decided to equip the gym with machines which have an internal dynamo, except for the treadmill which requires more energy to work. In order to work and switch on, the machines will only require to be used. For example, as soon as someone starts pedaling the spinning bike, this will switch on automatically. Explained this, we are sorry to hear only now about the problem your son has encountered, having known about it during your stay someone from our Staff would have been glad to show him how the machines worked. Furthermore, and in order to not confuse our Guests, it will be our care to place in the gym an explanation of the machines.

We do hope to have you and your family will be back soon, so to enjoy all our facilities in the best possible way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We made our reservation 4 months ahead of our expected arrival and arrived on the date booked. The type of room we had booked was not available and so we had to accept a smaller - very cramped - room instead. A move was offered but not convenient. Otherwise the hotel was fine - nothing exceptional and the concierge's recommendations were probably influenced by some form of kickback (nothing surprising about that!). The restaurant was, however, exceptional. The rooftop location was quiet and the views nice if not spectacular. The food was much better than in other "upscale" restaurants we visited in Rome and elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel.
Regarding your room experience, we would like to clarify a couple of points so that other Guests may understand the reason why the room assigned was different from the one you had booked.

As our receptionist had explained to you on the day of your arrival, unfortunately a guest had been ill during the night, therefore could not leave his room and had to stay a night more. Being our Hotel fully committed every day throughout the year, it is very difficult for us, in case an issue as the above might occur, to give the exact room booked to the arriving Guests.
This, of course, is an unpredictable circumstance, therefore we always try to give an alternative solution. One of these is to offer a lower room category, in your case a Double room, for the first night, and the second to be move to the room booked, a Double Superior.
We do understand that this might be a slightly uncomfortable solution for our Guests, however it would give the Guests the possibility to stay in the room booked as per their request.
In this occasion you had decided to stay in the Double room assigned for all your stay, instead of moving, and you where granted a discount for all the nights of your stay, which covered the difference between the room booked and the room occupied.

We would also like to underline the fact that this occurrence is a rare and unforeseeable circumstance. As a matter of fact, our assignment policy is to always give our Guests the room category booked and, when possible, even to upgrade them to a higher category.

Coming to the restaurant issue, we are sorry to hear that you felt that our receptionists had an interest in suggesting that particular restaurant. One of our strong points is our Service, because we take great care in selecting the restaurants, tours, or transfers which we offer to our Guests so to give them the best quality and value.

Our main concern is to satisfy our Guests and to help them choose a restaurant they will like based on their tastes and preferences. We of course understand that not all Guests appreciate the same type of cooking or atmosphere, therefore we have a wide range of dinging options to cater for different requests. We are sorry to realize that in this case the restaurant chosen was not of your liking.

Said this, we are glad that you have enjoyed much more our own Rooftop restaurant, and that the atmosphere and food where exactly what you were looking for. We do hope that you will be visiting us again so that we may extend our best service to you and make up for your dissatisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

great position- walked to most sights. Public transport on doorstep. Superior Room: very comfortable; slept very well. Great sized bathroom with good shower and jacuzzi bath. Mini bar was the best idea. Breakfast was enormous and really good. Staff were all smiley, polite and helpful. big stylish rooftop bar with view of St Peters dome. We just had a drink there. Used the hotel taxi pick up service to/from airport which took stress out of finding hotel as it was our 1st time in Rome. Very good local restaurants near hotel. would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: we faced the busy road and we could hear a little traffic but quite liked feeling part of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandiepie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I booked a recent stay at the Artemide based on a recommendation from the wedding planner of a friend's wedding that I was attending. I am happy I took her recommendation as they really helped make our stay in Rome a special one. The room was very spacious (especially when compared to other European rooms) and clean, the bathroom was large and had outstanding water pressure, the free minibar in the room was a welcome treat, and the breakfasts each morning were exquisite.

But the real highlight of Artemide was it's incredible staff. They really went above and beyond to make our stay great and memorable. The epitome of this was web our luggage arrived late from the airport (a day and a half after we had got there) and had gotten soaking wet somehow during the trip, the housekeeper stayed late (on a Sunday!) and quickly laundered our clothes so we would have something to wear. Even if this hadn't happened, I was still quite taken by the friendliness and professionalism exhibited by the staff, but this was really special and saved our vacation. Thank you to the wonderful and incredible staff of Hotel Artemide, I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,281 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,628 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
747 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £135 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing