We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good introduction to Rome”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #7 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed at the Artemide in Rome for 3 nights. Can recommend this hotel as a good place to stay if you want something central. All the staff were pleasant and our room, whilst not huge, was comfortable with a good sized bathroom. As we had gotten our room on a deal on the net we were not expecting anything more.The bed was big and very comfortable,there was no noise from the street and,like all the other reviewers,we thought the complementary mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities a plus. We ate in the roof top restaurant a couple of nights. Unfortunately it was raining while we were there so we didn’t get to sit outside but we enjoyed our meals and our young waiter was both friendly and attentive. The breakfasts were plentiful and the food lovely. I enjoyed the cereals and fruit and the fresh pastries were wicked. It was served in a beautiful room and was a great start to a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,213 - 4,219 of 7,115 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our 5 days in Rome started with our bags being lost by BA.The hotel were very welcoming and offered any help but we had to wait to go shopping next day. The experience of loosing bags at Fiumicino was dreadful. We had to fight to get in the help desk queue and stay there as the local practice seems to be to push in and ignore everyone else!

The room was rather small but very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was fine and again spotlessly clean. It remained that way for the 5 days. It was dark on arrival so waking the following morning to find we had no view other than the back of a rather grotty building and this was blocked with a pair of fixed wood shutters! It was very disappointing, the blame more with British Airways who we had booked with. However if you book direct ask what room you are getting! It was not cheap!

The breakfast is great with lovely staff and a wide choice of fresh food. We had been expecting a continental breakfast but this is much much more. Delightful. The top floor restaurant was wonderful. Food great , staff superb, quick service. We had dinner here three nights. We found the local restaurants left a lot to be desired and expensive.

Overall hotel was great apart from the room having no proper windows. Would we stay again? Yes if we had a view, even if its only a street!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timothyroberttozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Artemide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, we are really sorry to hear that your holiday was off to a bumpy start, with your luggage being lost by your airline. However, we are happy to know that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating.
Allow us to address some of the issues you mention on your review.
Regarding your room size, please bear in mind that we offer our guests different room types, with different sizes, that go from 10sq/m (Small Double Room) to 23sq/m (Junior Suite), so that they can choose the room that is more suitable for their needs. We are glad that you appreciated the room cleanliness and organisation, as well as the efforts our housekeeping staff makes in keeping it that way.
Some of these rooms are front-facing (on Via Nazionale) and some are rear-facing. Guests who want to enjoy the views of a lively busy street would prefer the rooms overlooking Via Nazionale, but those who value the quietness would maybe opt for a room facing the internal courtyard. We understand that the views are not as nice as on Via Nazionale, and although some of our guests prefer and specifically ask for the internal rooms, we would have offered you a room swap (availability permitting) if you had expressed your feelings to our front-office staff. Naturally, the internal courtyard is surrounded by the typical buildings you will find everywhere in downtown Rome; these are late 18th century buildings, some of them have been reconverted into office buildings others are still used as apartments. We understand they may not appeal to every taste, but they are part of the landscape in an ancient city like Rome.
You also mention that the shutters in your room didn’t open or were somehow blocked. Unfortunately, we cannot understand if you spoke to any of our colleagues about this, but we can assure you that all the shutters and windows in our hotel can be opened. There was probably just a misunderstanding as to how they work, that could have been easily resolved by our maintenance team, had they been informed.
Finally, we would like to assure you that room assignment does not depend on the fact that you booked the room with us directly or using a third party, and as we said before we are always happy to accommodate our guests need, even if that means changing rooms, as long as we are not fully committed.
Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel and, if you let us know you prefer a room overlooking Via Nazionale, we will surely do our best to assign you one next time you come to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I booked this hotel after looking through the reviews from Tripadvisor. All the positive comments are true. The service rendered by the staff is truly impressive for everyone, from the receptionist, chamber maid to waiters, put service to the customers as top priority. The service is even better than another hotel I recently stayed in which charges more than double the room rates.

Room Tip: I requested for a quiet room. The room facing the courtyard does not have a good view but I apprecia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contact12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

stayed end august for our golden wedding anniversery. staff here make you feel special very helpful and freindly. lovly rooftop restaurant excellent food especially the breakfast . we had a complimentory bottle wine in our room on arrival plus vouchers for 2 glasses prosceco.we used the open top bus whlle we were there for sightseeing which is an excellent way of getting round. would reccomend the shuttle bus from the airport and back.8euros per person each way was very easy. couldnt fault hotel we had a memorable stay .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This was our first vacation to Europe. We'd heard numerous hotel horror stories from other friends who travelled abroad and were expecting little more than a closet. Instead, we lovely rooms with sumptuous baths and great amenities like a free mini bar and room safe. The hotel breakfast selection included cereal, toast, fresh fruit, real scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cheeses, a variety of pastries, juices and coffee drinks (including the fabled cappuccinos with cream tops so thick they float a spoon)! There was also a nice rooftop restaurant & bar-be sure to enjoy one of Emilio's hand-crafted cocktails!r Add to this a gracious staff who accommodated all of our requests-and our limited Italian!-with ease, and you get the Hotel Artemide: THE place to stay in Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I have just come back from an amazing stay at Rome and the hotel was superb.
I chose this hotel because of all the great reviews on Tripadvisor and wasn't disappointed -
I loved the decoration and atmosphere of the hotel and the room was quiet, beautiful in a good size and very comfortable bed. The staff was so nice and helpful and the breakfast was delicious.The free mini bar is a very nice bonus too.
Location is great, close to all attractions (although it was really hard getting to the sites with all these cute shops on the Nazionale street - warning for husbands hahah :))
They also mentioned my husband's birthday and surprised us with a champagne to the room.
This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, especially for this price. I hope they keep these standarts, becase I will deffinately come back if I ever go back to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iritush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The staff makes the difference! Very helpful, very Friendly and very courteous. Breakfast was elevated to a fine dining experience because of the service. Short walk to hop on/hop off tour buses and we had not expected to find many sites nearby. The extreme heat made the tour buses a better option though. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,271 in Rome
3,730 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,271 in Rome
771 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,395 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,271 in Rome
767 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,271 in Rome
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £152 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing