We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooftop bar and restaurant.”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooftop bar and restaurant.”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed four nights here after a Mediterranean cruise. The room was pleasant as were the personnel especially those at the Reception Desk. We walked to many of the attractions in Rome including the Colosseum, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain as well as the National Museum. The free breakfast was nicely done and well presented.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,463
    1,095
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,583
3,866
145
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in October 2013. The hotel has a very pleasant entrance, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel seemed very clean and well-maintained. Our room was on the smaller side, not unlike boutique hotels I've stayed at in NYC, but you don't go to Rome to sit in your hotel room. I wanted a hotel that was in a good location but had a nice bed so I could get a good rest at night. The bed was comfortable enough to sleep, and our room was very quiet. I think we got a king deluxe room. The baths are small, but so is everything in Italy, especially Rome, so I don't think this is atypical. We LOVED the breakfast - looked forward to loading up on a delicious breakfast to fuel our long days and nights out on the town. Fresh squeezed orange juice, hot buffet, cold cuts, salad, fruit, pastries, and immediately upon arriving, we were offered cappuccinos. During our breakfast, a waiter came by every morning and asked if we would like some fresh ricotta (which is excellent on toasted bread and nutella) or some other fresh-out-of the oven pastry. One morning it was phyllo dough layered with strawberries and mascarpone. The free mini-bar of drinks and free snacks in the room were a nice touch. The price of the hotel is not exactly cheap, but completely reasonable if you want to ensure you are getting a solid hotel where you can get a good night of sleep. Our room was situated over an inner courtyard, so very quiet. I love how in Europe you can open the windows (on the 5th floor) and get a nice cross-breeze. Overall a 4 star, not 5, because of the relatively small rooms, slightly dated décor, and the fact that a king bed was just two twins connected together. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed four nights in a superior room and were overall satisfied with our stay. The location of the Hotel is very good and it is walking distance to most tourist attractions with the Colosseum/Forum only a 15 min walk. The hotel is in reasonable condition and the free of charge drinks are a nice touch. The breakfast was good with friendly service. The gym is very small and definetely needs improving but if you're a runner it is great to have an early morning run around sites such as the Colosseum before the traffic gets heavy.
There may be better value out there but I'd stay here again for location and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel. It's a great location from which we could walk to many sights. We had a big room and plenty of space. We were at the front of the building which was noisy but it even the noise was very Italian!! Breakfast was ok, dinner on the rooftop restaurant was good. Wifi signal was consistent and the staff all very pleasant.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhyoung007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel was very nice and the breakfast was great - the location was good for getting around Rome if you are just there for a few days. The bed was very comfortable and just what we needed after a long trip. Overall Rome and this hotel were very expensive.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alanamcelroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had high expectations fo this hotel given the reviews. Unfortunately we were dissappointed. Yes it is close to the station and yes it does have a minibar that stocks water and coke etc for free. It is also on a nice street with some good shopping feels safe etc. However, the rooms are dated, the lift breaks down, the rooms are dark and the breakfast was not enjoyable. They clearly have a lot of guests, so the food stations are untidy, the food looks overcooked and clearly just to cater for the masses. They served quickly, unattentatively and did not provide a professional service.

Would i stay again- no, i'd rather go for a cheaper hotel, even closer and pay for what service i recieve.

Tip- There is a great gelato shop next door. It is the best i have ever eaten....it even sells fruits at the back and i ate my breakfast there most mornings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sirs,

It is with great concern that we read your opinion on our Hotel. In fact, it seems that you have found all the aspects that are normally highly regarded by most of our Guests, to be extremely negative.

We understand that all people have different tastes when it comes to decoration and food, however especially for the decoration of the rooms, we are very clear to what type of style and furniture can be found throughout our Property. Our Service is one of our strongest points, and this includes selling our Guests exactly what we are showing on our website and nothing different. All the published pictures are truthful and show all room types clearly with correlated description.

As a matter of fact we have been able to locate your reservation. You had booked a Double Classic room specifying that it was your Honeymoon. In order to make you have even a more memorable stay, we have upgraded you to a Double Superior Room free of charge; furthermore, we left a nice platter of fresh fruit as a welcome gift for you to enjoy. As for the rate, please note that this was absolutely in line with those of our competitors and was also due to the high flow of people which visit Rome in October.

As for the lift, it is true that there has been a short interruption of service; however, this did not last more than 30 minutes. In case longer maintenance works take place, we always leave the Staff lift available to our Guests to use.

What surprises us the most is your complete dislike of our buffet breakfast. We not only offer Continental and American food options, but also very typical Italian dishes – our ricotta cheese is very much appreciated by our Guests! All the food prepared is freshly made and replenished continuously by our staff. Furthermore, all hot beverages and orange juices are made only on request and topped up if needed.

We are sorry that you had the impression that our staff was not very attentive to your needs, it does come with a real surprise to read you words, however we think that there might have been some incomprehension or some cultural clash which have given you this impression since all our Guests cannot but praise our breakfast room staff and especially their manager.
Conclusively, we would only like to stress the fact that we are a 4 star hotel by Italian law in all aspects. Not only we offer a restaurant, a gym and a 24h front office service, but we also add some small touches which are absolutely not required by our category but only in 5 star hotels - like the turndown service, the coffee corner always available in the lounge and the room service.

We are really sorry that you have found us to be so poor in our Service and Quality in so many aspects of our business which are normally highly valued by other Guests. We sincerely wish you to find an accommodation that better suits your needs next time in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have recently returned from a trip to Rome where I spent 4 nights at the Artemide.

We had a standard room which was small but spotlessly clean and well appointed. I know it's been mentioned before but yes, they do provide a free mini-bar (containing soft drinks and a couple of cans of beer) and it is restocked daily. We were also provided with a free bottle of red wine in the room and vouchers for a glass of Prosecco each in their roof top bar/restaurant. Our room was right by the lift on the first floor so I was concerned about noise during the night but there were no issues at all.

There was a good range of breakfast foods available (scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, cold meats, fruit, pancakes etc. as well as a large lump of cheese and on one occasion a large chocolate cake!) The staff were all friendly and helpful, providing information on local restaurants, helping out with arranging transfers to the airport and giving advice on visiting Rome's attractions.

Location is ideal really, it's a short walk to Republica metro station and it's only a little bit further to the central Termini (crossing the roads to get there is fun though!). You can walk to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and the Forum/Colosseum if you choose, alternatively you could take advantage of the public transport links.

In short an excellent location for a trip to Rome and when I return I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,181 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,923 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing