We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly place to stay”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Essex Fells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is an unassuming hotel in the middle of the action on the Via Nazionale. The rooms were immaculate and lovely. All amenities were provided including a free mini bar and wifi. What sets this hotel apart is the friendlieness and helpfulness of the staff. In addition, the breakfast selection was wide and contained a variety of delicious choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,463
    1,095
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,583
3,866
145
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Rooms are very large. Location is great and next to metro. Staff are wonderful and helpful with recommendation of local restaurants. Breakfast is first rate. Fitness center is well equiped. Pleasure to stay at this hotel and highly recommend it. I forgot, they even provide free water in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmontic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,535 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor and when we arrived we were so disappointed. Many of the photos provided are of nearby landmarks and appear to represent the hotel itself or the view from the hotel when they are not, they are simply nearby landmarks.

The hotel is located on a very busy several lane traffic street, with absolutely zero charm.

I think the great reviews may be coming from people that have little to compare to. We left this hotel after only one night and found an amazing gem in old town Rome that was less expensive and oozed with charm and location. The hotel we found was called Albergo De Sol De Pantheon, or something like that. I will review that when I have more time.

Anyway, the staff at this hotel wasn't that welcoming, the hotel was boring, and the location in my opinion was horrible, although it was nearby some tourist attractions it was not in a good walkable location at all. It was near a very busy street, and offered no charm. I know I said it had no charm, but really it had none.

If you thought this review was helpful, please check that little box that said so, also, please check my profile for many other European reviews, as well as a few hotels in Rome.

Grazie!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MelissaBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Madam,

We are sorry to understand that you had a disappointing stay while with us.
However we need to clarify a couple of points which will allow our Guests to make their own mind up on the information you are conveying.

Photos: From the description you give it seems that you have not viewed our Hotel on any of our selling websites. As a matter of fact the only photo present in our image gallery, which is not directly part of the Hotel itself, is that of the square with the fountain. This is in fact the fountain which can be found at the beginning of Via Nazionale, on Piazza della Repubblica, where the underground station is located. All the other photos present are either of the hall, the restaurant, the bar or the interior of the rooms. As such, we have to admit that we do not know about the other “nearby landmarks” of which you are referring to.

Street and location: Via Nazionale is one of the main arteries in Rome, renowned for its shopping, restaurants and to take you from the train station down to the Piazza Venezia area. All our selling websites are provided with a map which clearly shows our location, most attractions are reachable on foot within 15 minutes, alternatively an underground stop is just 300m away and will allow you to travel across Rome. Furthermore, our website gives you a full description of the road even with a small part of its construction history. As for the charm, what we gather from your continuous underlining about this fact, is that you would have preferred to stay in a more “typical” part of Rome as the Ghetto or Trastevere might be, with their winding and narrow streets. We can only say that nowhere on our website we confirm to be in these areas. Furthermore, even if via Nazionale might not be as “charming” as you would like, but it also offers many interesting and historical points. Firstly it dates back to the end of the 19th century when Rome became capital of Italy, however the area already existed during the Roman times – the Church of Santa Maria degli Angeli just at the top of the hill used to be the Diocletian Baths, furthermore the small church of San Vitale (just next the Palazzo delle Esposizioni Museum) dates back to the 4th century A.D.- Also, all the little roads that stretch out from here, offer views of Rome; you will be able to see Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica, and not only from these, via Nazionale itself has a stunning view over the Monumento to Vittorio Emanuele II located in Piazza Venezia.

Night stay: From your words it seems that it was your choice to leave the hotel at head of time, however we would only like to stress the fact that you had booked only for one night stay. As a matter of fact, you had booked only a couple of days in advance before arriving for 1 night only. You had booked a Double Room and a Double Room for Single use (stating on the reservation that you where 3 adults and a child travelling together); when you checked-in you there were 6 adults (in total the rooms which you had booked con only accommodate 3/4); therefore in order to make your only 1 night stay more comfortable our Front Office manager upgraded your rooms to a Double Room ( instead of the single use) and to a Superior Room (for the double), all free of charge. Also, your check-in has been at 3 PM and the checkout at 11 AM the next day, therefore it seems that you barely had the chance to check the area out, or try and have a look at our bar and restaurant; you barely had the time to have breakfast
Staff: we have to admit our surprise to your comment regarding our staff. Having been for such a short stay we can imagine that you where expressing you opinion on our receptionists. Most Guests seem to have appreciated very much their service and that of our staff in general; however not having had any particular feedback or example from your side we will consider your note only a personal impression.

Reviews: regarding your mention that the positive reviews coming from other Guests might be due because they have “little to compare to”, we think that this judgment not only is unfair towards our establishment but especially towards our Guests and TripAdvisor users. We have more the 3000 reviews, and although some Guests might be first time travelers and reviewers, many other have a extensive knowledge of hotels and travelling in general. All their opinions are valuable both to us and TripAdvisor’s community. Each person is entitle to their opinion and generalizing by saying that your knowledge of travelling is far more extend than theirs and that only your reviews are correct seems to us to be completely unfair towards all the review writers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Artemide has it all. It's a great hotel, great location, great staff and fabulous breakfast. The free water, soda and snacks from the mini-bar were another indication of their wonderful service. The room was small, but the bathroom was well equipped and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwmv65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic and fabulous stay at your hotel. On our first night, we had a wonderful dinner on your rooftop restaurant and an ambient view of Rome. We both celebrated our birthdays in Rome 11/12 and 11/14, both days we got a complimentary bottle of Prosecco delivered to our room...a nice touch and added to our delight. We sandwiched both days with a glimpse of Pope Francis' warm smile. The reception staff were very friendly and upgraded our room. Breakfast was sumptuous. Room was clean and bathroom was spacious. Walking distance to the Termini, subway, Piazza Republica and other great sights and shops. Overall we had a magical and spiritual experience on thy ancient yet hallowed grounds. Grazie!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDuncan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left, this hotel didn't disappoint. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful at all times. The hotel is centrally located and not far from the metro and the train station. If you are not fond of walking, the staff at the hotel will call you a cab and they are there in just a few minutes. The hotel has a very nice restaurant on the roof where we went for drinks on two of the evenings. We could see the Vatican from there and it's beautiful. The hotel itself is very clean and it was just right for our stay. I certainly would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Thank you SO much for making our three night stay at your hotel so enjoyable. My husband and I arrived and were immediately given an upgrade to a junior suite which was a really nice touch. The chilled bottle of Prosecco in our room, free drinks and nuts from the mini-bar, free drinks in the bar and chocolates were very welcome. The staff at Reception could not do enough and the Porters were very attentive. Overall, a wonderful experience - threw coins in the Trevi so hopefully will come back again one day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,181 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,923 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing